1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root New Optimus V, trouble rooting

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Scrambles, Dec 15, 2011.

  1. Scrambles

    Scrambles Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    54
    2
    36
    Hello all,

    I just got a 2nd Optimus V for the wife a week ago and I can't seem to root it. (I had no issues with my phone, it's currently running Backside ROM) I've run gingerbreak on the new phone a few times (always reboots after only a minute or so), but whenever I run Romtools I get the "$" telling me that the phone is not rooted. Also, I run the "flash Clockworkmod recovery" from RomManager and it does not update recovery - it's still the stock recovery screen. I musta missed something....any ideas?

    :thinking: :thinking:
     

    Advertisement

  2. brotherswing

    brotherswing Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    3,054
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    3,054
    1,282
    323
    Male
    Full time Dad, cook
    In my living room.
    Stop. Go no further until you have read this. In fact, it's parent thread should really be your first stop.
     
    Scrambles likes this.
  3. AndyOpie150

    AndyOpie150 <strong> <a href="http://androidforums.com/optimus
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    5,625
    Joined:
    May 13, 2011

    May 13, 2011
    5,625
    1,532
    343
    Laborer (all the dirty nasty work nobody else want
    Florida
    I noticed you didn't mention anything about updating superuser or installing Busybox on your wife's phone. The recovery in ROM Manager will mess up phones with OS version 2.2.2, read this http://androidforums.com/optimus-v-all-things-root/419080-truth-about-rom-manager.html
    The easiest way to tell if your rooted is to download a terminal emulator and type in: su.
    If you get a # your rooted.
    ROMTools typically will fool most people.
     
    Scrambles likes this.
  4. Scrambles

    Scrambles Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    54
    2
    36
    Superuser is installed (not sure what you mean by "updated"), but I could not get Busybox to install - I keep getting an error, something like "environment error", or some such thing.

    So I take it that it's not a change to the phone or the software on it - I just messed up somewhere....I'll start over! Looks like the main problem might be relying on RomManager....I'll let you know how it turns out.
     
  5. Scrambles

    Scrambles Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    54
    2
    36
    Any issues I should be aware of with Clockworkmod Recovery?
     
  6. AndyOpie150

    AndyOpie150 <strong> <a href="http://androidforums.com/optimus
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    5,625
    Joined:
    May 13, 2011

    May 13, 2011
    5,625
    1,532
    343
    Laborer (all the dirty nasty work nobody else want
    Florida
    Yes. There's only one thats supported for use on your wife's phone. VM670NH_recovery.img
     
  7. brotherswing

    brotherswing Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    3,054
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    3,054
    1,282
    323
    Male
    Full time Dad, cook
    In my living room.
    Andy's right, that's why I had posted those links. It's WAY too easy to brick a newer Optimus with RomManager.
     
  8. AndyOpie150

    AndyOpie150 <strong> <a href="http://androidforums.com/optimus
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    5,625
    Joined:
    May 13, 2011

    May 13, 2011
    5,625
    1,532
    343
    Laborer (all the dirty nasty work nobody else want
    Florida
    You did read the provided links in my post, right? The first thing you need to do is update superuser and the su binary (the newest version of Busybox was designed for su binary v3.0, this is why you can't seem to install Busybox). Then install Busybox. Without these two, trying to install the proper flash_image, which is required to install the proper recovery, will be neigh on impossible.
    Go to market and search superuser. Select update.
    The su binary will take a while to update(it does this on it's own). Make sure you have auto update box checked on the superuser app. This can be done by going to "my apps" section in market and selecting the app.
    When that's done let us known and we'll move to the recovery and backup portion.
     
  9. Scrambles

    Scrambles Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    54
    2
    36
    OK, I finally got home to look at this issue. I updated Superuser and SU Binary. I re-ran Gingerbreak, and checked the root with terminal emulator and got a "#".

    Then I tried to install Busybox 1.19.3, and I'm still getting the "Problem with Core Utilities" error.

    :thinking:
     
  10. brotherswing

    brotherswing Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    3,054
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    3,054
    1,282
    323
    Male
    Full time Dad, cook
    In my living room.
    Can you re-create the error and post exactly what the error message says?
     
  11. AndyOpie150

    AndyOpie150 <strong> <a href="http://androidforums.com/optimus
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    5,625
    Joined:
    May 13, 2011

    May 13, 2011
    5,625
    1,532
    343
    Laborer (all the dirty nasty work nobody else want
    Florida
    You might try downloading the JRummy16 version of Busybox installer. Select the version that just below the 1.19.3 version. Until you find one that will install. Don't go below 1.18.2
     
  12. Scrambles

    Scrambles Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    54
    2
    36
    Android system error box says "Problem with core utilities" (I tried 3 versions, down to 1.18.4)

    Busybox error dialog box says:
    Busybox Installer
    There seems to be a problem with some of the utilities needed to install Busybox.

    Sadly, I cannot fix this problem and this installer probably will not work.

    You can try to install Busybox regardless, but it will probably fail. In order to fix this problem you will probably need to reflash your ROM.

    I mighta done a boo boo now I think of it - yesterday I was a bit too eager and I did a factory reset from within in the stock recovery screen. I didn't think anything of it because it went right back to where it was - stock. Phone is working normally, I just cant get Busybox to install.
     
  13. AndyOpie150

    AndyOpie150 <strong> <a href="http://androidforums.com/optimus
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    5,625
    Joined:
    May 13, 2011

    May 13, 2011
    5,625
    1,532
    343
    Laborer (all the dirty nasty work nobody else want
    Florida
    oops! Ok I'll need to research this one. I'll get back to you tomorrow if someone doesn't figure it out first.
     
  14. brotherswing

    brotherswing Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    3,054
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    3,054
    1,282
    323
    Male
    Full time Dad, cook
    In my living room.
    Can you verify you have root access still? I've seen root mysteriously "go away " before. Do you have Terminal Emulator?
     
    Scrambles likes this.
  15. AndyOpie150

    AndyOpie150 <strong> <a href="http://androidforums.com/optimus
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    5,625
    Joined:
    May 13, 2011

    May 13, 2011
    5,625
    1,532
    343
    Laborer (all the dirty nasty work nobody else want
    Florida
    I think checking the permission of su is in order as well.
     
    Scrambles likes this.
  16. Scrambles

    Scrambles Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    54
    2
    36
    Just checked it, it's still showing "#"

    As best as I can tell, Superuser and Busybox both have superuser access. Superuser log shows that Busybox is being granted permission. Is this what you mean?

    BTW, Busybox installer was updated last night to ver. 6.7. It now has Ver. 1.19.3 of Busybox on it. I tried installing it, and it was still not successful. BUT, there are more instructions on what the requirements are, quote:
    1) A fully rooted device (important)
    2) A fully nand unlocked device (important)
    3) A ROM that supports upgrading Busybox (important)
    4) At least 1600kb free in your chosen installation path (important)

    The only 2 things that I'm not sure about are #'s 2&3. What is "nand unlocked"? Is it possible that the stock ROM I'm using is interfering somehow? Remember it was restored at one point, after I did a wipe data/factory reset....
     
  17. brotherswing

    brotherswing Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    3,054
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    3,054
    1,282
    323
    Male
    Full time Dad, cook
    In my living room.
    That might be it. Sounds like my wife's Intercept. I've never really tried getting past that, she's happy with it as is. It's stock, rooted.
     
  18. AndyOpie150

    AndyOpie150 <strong> <a href="http://androidforums.com/optimus
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    5,625
    Joined:
    May 13, 2011

    May 13, 2011
    5,625
    1,532
    343
    Laborer (all the dirty nasty work nobody else want
    Florida
    With ES file explorer go to the /system/bin folder. Scroll down to su and make sure it's permissions are set to rwsr-sr-x
    If you need help setting up ES just let me know.
     
    Scrambles likes this.
  19. kunawai

    kunawai Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011

    Dec 17, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    Okay, I'm having the same problem as this OP with a new Optimus V revision (2.2.2) this morning. I can't install BusyBox through BusyBox 6.7 nor Busybox Installer 2.0. I've used Gingerbreak 1.2, which reported a successful root. I do receive # after typing su into Terminal Emulator. I have not installed ROM Manager. After reading this thread, I made sure that I updated Superuser (3.0.7) and su (3.0.3). I used ASTRO File Manager (3.0.247.std) and found that the permissions for su (press and hold su, then select Details) within /system/bin report as -r- .

    If someone could provide instructions on how to change su's permissions to rwsr-sr-x, it would be appreciated.
     
  20. brotherswing

    brotherswing Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    3,054
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    3,054
    1,282
    323
    Male
    Full time Dad, cook
    In my living room.
    Very good advice, but I'd like to add something. When you open ES the first time, go into it's settings, down to root settings then check both boxes.
     
    Scrambles likes this.
  21. AndyOpie150

    AndyOpie150 <strong> <a href="http://androidforums.com/optimus
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    5,625
    Joined:
    May 13, 2011

    May 13, 2011
    5,625
    1,532
    343
    Laborer (all the dirty nasty work nobody else want
    Florida
    Hey brotherswing. Now that I'm thinking about it I think I'm guilty of walking over the top of you here. Sorry. I'll just try to add any missing links or info when needed.
    I don't use ES, but I know that you can set it up in the settings menu to allow the OP and kunawai(if he downloads ES) to change the permissions once a file is longpressed.
     
  22. kunawai

    kunawai Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011

    Dec 17, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    Okay, I've somewhat figured out how to set permissions with ES, but nothing I toggle gives me the s switch (set user or group ID on execution). Is there any means through Terminal to set the permissions of su?

    Now that I've messed with the permissions, BusyBox 6.7 gives an error of, "BusyBox Installer was not allowed root access!" I also can't get the # in Terminal, "Permission denied."

    Should I resort to restoring the phone or will what I've been messing with in system still be floating around, even after a restore?
     
  23. brotherswing

    brotherswing Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    3,054
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    3,054
    1,282
    323
    Male
    Full time Dad, cook
    In my living room.
    No problem, Andy. I like ES because it let's me browse network shares, so I have a tendency to favor it.

    Kunawai, you can fix your nerfed permissions from the terminal. Here is a guide on the command you'll need. Restoring ought to fix it, but might be a heavy handed approach to the problem.
     
    Scrambles likes this.
  24. AndyOpie150

    AndyOpie150 <strong> <a href="http://androidforums.com/optimus
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    5,625
    Joined:
    May 13, 2011

    May 13, 2011
    5,625
    1,532
    343
    Laborer (all the dirty nasty work nobody else want
    Florida
    Sorry! I forgot the file explorer's can only change permissions to r,w,x and -
     
  25. brotherswing

    brotherswing Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    3,054
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    3,054
    1,282
    323
    Male
    Full time Dad, cook
    In my living room.
    I never knew that was a limitation. I know more about Linux than Android, though, so it isn't surprising.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...