1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

New permissions for Facebook?

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by Adar, Dec 21, 2013.

  1. Adar

    Adar Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    207
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011

    Jul 19, 2011
    207
    93
    53
    I just got an update for Facebook and it requires new permissions. One of the others especially it wants is the ability to turn my wifi on or off. Why would I want to let an app do that? Has anyone updated it, and is there an option in the new app to turn that functionality off? I don't want apps turning stuff like that on whenever it feels like it.

    For that matter, why DOES it need that permission? What possible use could it have?
     

    Advertisement

  2. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,248
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Idk but maybe it wants to warn you and offer the chance to use wifi when you try to upload or download a large file to it to save data charges.
    Im not saying its innocent or that i trust facebook one inch but usually permissions have a logical use :thumbup:
     
  3. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin'
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,333
    Posts:
    10,628
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    10,628
    7,392
    1,333
    Washington, DC
    It also wants permission to access your text messages. :banghead:
     
  4. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,248
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    I wouldnt get all fired up about it until we find out the reasons for these permissions lol.
    I think fb are making plenty money without taking the risk of doing something shady :D
     
  5. Adar

    Adar Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    207
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011

    Jul 19, 2011
    207
    93
    53

    I don't get quite as worried when it is such a highly visible company, I just don't like granting excess permissions without knowing what it is for. Nothing in the release info gives any indication of why they want that permission. Consequently, I'm not updating until I know what it is for. Wouldn't be the first time an app asked for a permission it didn't need, just by mistake. Unfortunately Facebook also has a history of defaulting to turning something and forcing you to opt out. In this case, it is quite possible the saying "never attribute to malice what could be incompetence" is applicable.
     
    funkylogik likes this.
  6. gtbarry

    gtbarry Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    1,889
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2012

    Jul 15, 2012
    1,889
    733
    223
    Male
    California
    There is a great discussion about facebook app permissions over on XDA
    Latest Facebook app permissions!!? - xda-developers

    Highlights of facebook app permissions:
    Your accounts
    find accounts on the device
    create accounts and set passwords
    add or remove accounts

    Network communication
    change network connectivity
    download files without notification
    view Wi-Fi connections
    connect and disconnect from Wi-Fi

    Your personal information
    read calendar events plus confidential information
    add or modify calendar events and send email to guests without owners' knowledge

    Phone calls
    directly call phone numbers

    Sync Settings
    toggle sync on and off
    read sync settings
     

    Attached Files:

    • 1.jpg
      1.jpg
      File size:
      41.1 KB
      Views:
      10
    • 2.jpg
      2.jpg
      File size:
      40.5 KB
      Views:
      22
    • 3.jpg
      3.jpg
      File size:
      40.3 KB
      Views:
      10
    • 4.jpg
      4.jpg
      File size:
      40.3 KB
      Views:
      11
    LizMac and funkylogik like this.
  7. Adar

    Adar Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    207
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2011

    Jul 19, 2011
    207
    93
    53
    I don't know that I would call the xda discussion great. Not much info is given for most of the permissions, though the explanation of the email permission is helpful. They don't really explain the need to turn my wifi on or off at will, which is really the only permission I still don't understand.

    I'll keep an eye on that thread. I tend to stay away from xda other than finding specific info. A large number of their users come across as elitist, and sometimes downright rude. It is the main reason I spend most of my Android forum reading here. Phandroid is the friendliest Android forum around, and I almost always get good answers without being made to feel like an idiot.
     
    funkylogik likes this.
  8. chanchan05

    chanchan05 The Doctor
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,108
    Posts:
    15,208
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011

    The ability to toggle WiFi on or off is that so when you turn it on, it will try to connect to any known WiFi in the vicinity instead of using mobile data even if you have WiFi turned off. Before, it will use mobile data immediately if you forgot to turn on WiFi and connect before firing up the app.
     
    funkylogik likes this.
  9. zuben el genub

    zuben el genub Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    443
    Posts:
    7,412
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011

    Jan 24, 2011
    7,412
    2,660
    443
    Sky Safari, Mobile Observatory, and Ibird Pro warn you to use wifi as they have large files on updates. No permissions, just a warning as soon as you hit update.

    About FB, I don't know whether it affects mobile or not, but they want to run video ads. Pretty soon it's going to be all ads from they way FB is trying to monetize.
     
  10. Clementine_3

    Clementine_3 Extreme Android User
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #23
    Points:
    1,043
    Posts:
    5,928
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    It will affect mobile, I believe they will be in your feed but won't auto-run (I read that but don't recall where). If they do auto-run I swear that will be the last straw for me! I'm so close to my last straw with it anyway it's not going to take much to push me over. Just need the kid to make sure to send me the pics he puts on there, honestly, that's all I use it for.
     
  11. Digital Controller

    Digital Controller The Real Bass Creator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    953
    Posts:
    12,644
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012

    Sep 5, 2012
    12,644
    3,556
    953
    Male
    Civil Engineer
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Facebook has actually always struggled with ways to make money, the owner Zuckerberg, however, is in fact rich.

    Just recently though, as in like Q3/Q4 of this year facebook has been making a turn around, it's stocks are going up and it's starting to make a lot of cash so we will see what happens.

    However, some of the things it wants access to are starting to get absurd.
     
  12. LizMac

    LizMac Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    340
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2013

    Nov 14, 2013
    340
    203
    88
    Female
    Ah yes, I'd forgotten about those video ads that they intend to start soon. Gee, I hope my ad blocker works on those. Happy to pony up some $ to stop that from happening. IIRC it was that kind of BS that turned me away from Myspace (remember them?) and onto FB. I'm guessing that's why they might want the wi-fi permission. Just as Zuben pointed out above.
     
  13. zuben el genub

    zuben el genub Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    443
    Posts:
    7,412
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011

    Jan 24, 2011
    7,412
    2,660
    443
    Won't use FB on mobile. Pale Moon uses FX extensions, and one will turn off the <img> and Iframe tag. Flashblock will turn flash ads off. Both work on site by site permissions. I have icons on the bottom toolbar. Opera also does this, site by site.
    Unlike JS, no one can tell if <img> is blocked while you will get a message about JS. I won't use Yahoo without them.

    Your mobile version might not. Use the browser and change it to desktop. Adblocker should work there.
     

Share This Page

Loading...