1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

New pixel 2 and android convert!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by JRock1203, Jun 19, 2018.

  1. JRock1203

    JRock1203 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2018

    Jan 9, 2018
    4
    4
    16
    Male
    My wife and I just got the Pixel 2 a few months ago after finally converting away from Apple's nonsense.

    Love this thing.

    However, a few questions.

    We're on ATT.

    1. Is Wifi calling actually blocked?
    2. Why can't I enable the new Messages for Web?
    3. I'm on wifi 99% of my day, literally my commute is the only time on data only, and I don't use GPS or other apps while driving - yet my data usage continues to go over 2gb each month. How do I prevent mobile data usage while on wifi? I turned off data and I can't get MMS messages, for example.

    Thoughts?

    Thanks!

    Jeremy
     

    Advertisement

    codesplice likes this.
  2. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    39,223
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    39,223
    39,928
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Hi Jeremy, welcome to Android Forums.

    Glad you like your Pixel 2. Let's see if I can answer some of your questions for you. I'm using AT&T too. (Don't know if that's a :) or a :( ... ;) )

    1. No, WiFi calling is supported by AT&T but you have to opt-in, it's not on by default because you have to include 911 emergency contact information before you can enable it. Go to settings>networks and you should see WiFi calling there. If it's on, but doesn't seem to be working, then tap the three dots next to the 'switch' and update your emergency contact information.

    2. I'm not really familiar with the service but I would guess you have to make sure Messages is your default SMS app. Did you follow these instructions? https://messages.android.com/ You probably have to make sure you have updated to the most recent version of Messages.

    3. A couple of things to look at here. Turn on your mobile data. Then go to settings>networks>WiFi and click on the three dots (menu) in the upper right abd select advanced WiFi. Make sure keep wifi on when screen is off is enabled. Then open your play store app and click on the hamburger menu (three lines in upper left -- this is not the time for a tirade on Google UI inconsistency ;) ) and scroll down to settings. There make sure Auto-update over wifi only is enabled.

    What I think is happening is that apps only auto update when your phone is idle, and when your phone is idle, wifi will go to sleep, as it were forcing updates to use mobile data. At least it's worth a shot. :D
     
    codesplice likes this.
  3. JRock1203

    JRock1203 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2018

    Jan 9, 2018
    4
    4
    16
    Male
    Hey thanks!

    1. Wifi calling is grayed out and ATT claims they don't support it on non ATT devices.

    2. Google says its carrier related, they remote viewed my phone and walked me through making sure it was updated. Good on my end - ATT claims they also don't support this on non ATT devices (despite Google's website showing that they do lol )

    3. That option isn't in my network settings, nor can I find it in developer options.
     
  4. Clementine_3

    Clementine_3 Extreme Android User
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #22
    Points:
    1,043
    Posts:
    5,933
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    You have the update that lets you scan the QR code on your laptop? I got an update but it doesn't have the new option yet. Grrr
     
    shalemail likes this.
  5. JRock1203

    JRock1203 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2018

    Jan 9, 2018
    4
    4
    16
    Male
    Not yet it would seem. Option in messages doesn't even show up yet.
     
    lunatic59 and Clementine_3 like this.
  6. Clementine_3

    Clementine_3 Extreme Android User
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #22
    Points:
    1,043
    Posts:
    5,933
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    I must have the update to allow the update then! At least you, being a "new guy", didn't get it before I did. That would've been very, very wrong :p
     
    lunatic59 likes this.
  7. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    39,223
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    39,223
    39,928
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    I don't have the option either, so they have jumped the gun of 'releasing' it.
    That wouldn't be in developer options ... it's under Network somewhere, but they do tend to hide advanced features rather deeply. I think @Hadron has a Pixel 2, maybe he would kindly look up the exact settings location for you.
     
  8. Clementine_3

    Clementine_3 Extreme Android User
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #22
    Points:
    1,043
    Posts:
    5,933
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Yeah, it appears to be a server side update that we're waiting for now...maybe. I want it now!
     
  9. Hadron

    Hadron Smoke me a kipper...
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,468
    Posts:
    24,804
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    24,804
    19,258
    2,468
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    That option was removed in 8.1. I assume that "always" is the default and only option now - certainly I've never noticed my WiFi disconnect during sleep.

    I've also not had this background data problem. Just for the record I'm posting a screenshot of my wifi-related developer options (so you can see what I do not have turned on). In my regular WiFi settings I do not have "Turn on WiFi automatically" enabled either, so I don't think it's that.

    If you click on the words "mobile data usage" in the settings can you see what app is using the data? That would give you an idea whether it's something that you can disable from using background data (I have a few apps I've done this with).
     

    Attached Files:

  10. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    39,223
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    39,223
    39,928
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Ah ... another one of those Googlisms that you're "just supposed to know". :rolleyes:
     
  11. Hadron

    Hadron Smoke me a kipper...
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,468
    Posts:
    24,804
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    24,804
    19,258
    2,468
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    I think it's another of those "simplifying the experience" things that Google do, i.e. removing options. I've read that location options are getting a similar experience in Android P...
     
  12. codesplice

    codesplice Elite Recognized Moderator
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #14
    Points:
    1,638
    Posts:
    9,109
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013

    Oct 29, 2013
    9,109
    10,763
    1,638
    Male
    SysAdmin
    Huntsville, AL
    Messages for Web was just announced, and in typical Google fashion it will be made available in a staged rollout. I think the blog post hinted that the feature would reach all users by the end of next week.

    And it's probably a server-side switch rather than an APK update. I haven't seen anyone suggesting a way to "force" the option to appear.
     
    Clementine_3 and lunatic59 like this.
  13. mjpartyboy

    mjpartyboy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #212
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    479
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    479
    55
    53
    The removal of 'Keep Wi-Fi on during sleep' options is an odd one, as it has been a setting in Android for a long time and in the past, using the 'Only when plugged in' option helped to reduce battery consumption. Perhaps Android 8.1.0 is better at managing the device when it's asleep, because the Pixel 2's 2,700 mAh battery performance has surprised me compared to my OnePlus 3T's 3,400 mAh battery.

    When I got my Pixel 2 and was setting it up, I had to search for where this option had gone. I found some posts about it being removed and you can check the status of this setting using ADB and change it using ADB. The default for mine was the value for being set to 'Always', but even after changing the value to 'Only when plugged in' the Wi-Fi behaviour I've observed doesn't match the effect of this setting on other devices with it as a UI option and it still acts like it does in the 'Always' state.

    The setting is still present on my 3T in its variant of Android 8.0.0 and I have it set to 'Only when plugged in' and when you wake the device you can initially see the Wi-Fi is off and then it connects automatically to a network. My Nexus 7 and old Nexus 5 behave the same as my 3T using the same setting, but the Pixel 2 Wi-Fi is already connected when I wake it with set the same via ADB.
     
  14. Hadron

    Hadron Smoke me a kipper...
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,468
    Posts:
    24,804
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    24,804
    19,258
    2,468
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    I think the effect on battery depends on what other assumptions you make. If mobile data is off then "only when plugged in" will save power as you'll have no data transfer when the screen is off and the phone on battery. But if data is on then "only when plugged in" will reduce your battery life, because WiFi turning off means that the more power-hungry mobile data will take over instead. And you can be sure that it hasn't crossed Google's corporate mind that people might turn data off - Google tend to view these things through their own set of blinkers (think how many years it's taken them to accept that people might actually want storage in their devices rather than streaming everything all of the time).
     
    codesplice and lunatic59 like this.
  15. mjpartyboy

    mjpartyboy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #212
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    479
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    479
    55
    53
    I never leave my mobile data on and enable it when I need it.
     
  16. Hadron

    Hadron Smoke me a kipper...
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,468
    Posts:
    24,804
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    24,804
    19,258
    2,468
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    I used to do that back in 2010, when both my tarrif and the lower battery life of my phone then meant that it made sense. These days I just leave data and wifi on all of the time(*), but have restricted background data access for a few apps which I didn't think needed it (which I identified by looking at my background data usage towards the end of a billing cycle).

    But as I say, I don't think Google will give any consideration to people turning data off - it's just not what they expect people to do. And any "simplification" (as with the removal of this option) invariably means a little less control for the user. At one level it's the drawback of aiming for the mass market: most people just accept defaults and don't understand what most options mean anyway, so it's more "friendly" to them to remove or hide options. But given that this was already hidden under "advanced", where that type of person will never look, I don't really see that there was any benefit to anyone in removing it.

    (*) Except on some train services, where the WiFi is less reliable than my data so I turn it off for the duration of the trip.
     
    #16 Hadron, Jun 20, 2018
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2018
    codesplice likes this.
  17. JRock1203

    JRock1203 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2018

    Jan 9, 2018
    4
    4
    16
    Male
    Thanks Everyone!

    @Hadron I looked at what was pulling data and it's not much as I'm on wifi nearly always. I went ahead and restricted every single app (save for system functions) to not use background data.

    I'll report back once I have more results.

    Side note on the messages for web, my wife has the option now but I've yet to receive it. Weird, thanks again!
     
    codesplice likes this.
  18. Hadron

    Hadron Smoke me a kipper...
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,468
    Posts:
    24,804
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    24,804
    19,258
    2,468
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    These things do roll out in batches. I received it the other day, though as I do most of my messaging using other apps, and don't use Messages as my default SMS app, I'm not sure I actually have a use for it (I actually had Messages disabled until I enabled it last week just to test the rollout).
     
    codesplice likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...