1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root New power button mod?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by pkmn760, Sep 30, 2010.

  1. pkmn760

    pkmn760 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    155
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010

    Apr 22, 2010
    155
    29
    43
    Cali
    Does this mod work for us? and which version the HD version or the regular one?

    HD


    Regular
     

    Advertisement

  2. NilsE

    NilsE Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    206
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010

    Aug 7, 2010
    206
    48
    43
    IT Security
    Near Albany, NY
    Neither one of these work unless you are on a dedexed ROM which most custom ROM's are. Uncommon Sense for example has it built in. There is however a working version somewhere I am just not sure where it is.
     
  3. serpentine009

    serpentine009 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    251
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010

    Apr 9, 2010
    251
    35
    43

    So this will not work on a rooted Inc with Virtuous?
     
  4. NilsE

    NilsE Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    206
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010

    Aug 7, 2010
    206
    48
    43
    IT Security
    Near Albany, NY
    If it is dedexed it might. I am not familiar with Virtuous
     
  5. rcrott1

    rcrott1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    730
    Joined:
    May 23, 2010

    im on a rooted dinc with virtuous, and this forced me into a bootloop.
     
    serpentine009 likes this.
  6. serpentine009

    serpentine009 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    251
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010

    Apr 9, 2010
    251
    35
    43
    Ouch. Thanks for the heads up.
     
  7. rcrott1

    rcrott1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    730
    Joined:
    May 23, 2010

    yeah, i wasnt happy about it. but it is one of the splendor joys of rooted phones, haha. Trial and Error.
     
  8. pkmn760

    pkmn760 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    155
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010

    Apr 22, 2010
    155
    29
    43
    Cali
    interesting i thought virtuous was deodexed, which version did you use the HD or the regular?

    I am using fourth wave and it is deodexed but I may just hold off on using it.
     
  9. jayno20

    jayno20 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    279
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    279
    25
    38
    I really liked the idea of this addition... Someone should make it for us rooted/deodexed folk ;)
     
  10. tbeas

    tbeas Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    126
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010

    Mar 17, 2010
    126
    23
    58
    student
    Virtuous IS deodexed. But just because a ROM is deodexed does not mean this will install and function correctly. That is just one of the prerequisites.
     
  11. ACD168

    ACD168 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,885
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010

    Apr 30, 2010
    1,885
    162
    143
    I found one that worked on the deodexed stock 2.2 ROM and should work on virtuous.. lemme know if anyone need the link...
     
  12. rcrott1

    rcrott1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    730
    Joined:
    May 23, 2010

    hd or reg?

    i tried to flash it on to the phone, of course i could have just fahkered that up, but -shrug.
     
  13. pkmn760

    pkmn760 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    155
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010

    Apr 22, 2010
    155
    29
    43
    Cali

    Ya I found one somewhere that adds reboot etc, but nothing with the hot boot and the new functionality.
     
  14. ACD168

    ACD168 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,885
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010

    Apr 30, 2010
    1,885
    162
    143
    Yea IDK what the hot boot is but I'm happy I don't have it, this is exactly what I was looking for and is perfect. Give the reboot, recovery and boot loader. what else could a rooter ask for. lol
     
  15. welbinator

    welbinator Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    581
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010

    Jul 1, 2010
    581
    44
    68
    try the cyanogenmod rom. it's built in.

    I think so anyways...maybe it was the Ultimate Droid rom....hrmm.
     
  16. welbinator

    welbinator Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    581
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010

    Jul 1, 2010
    581
    44
    68
    someone should make this for non sense ROMs. It's a pretty sweet feature, I miss it.
     
  17. jiggaDROID

    jiggaDROID Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    114
    Joined:
    May 23, 2010

    May 23, 2010
    114
    11
    38
    Bethesda MD
    Obviously not as streamlined as being in the power button menu, but rmk included QuickBoot in his 3.0.1 rom which has all 3 of these features as an option. It's also available in the market I believe.

    You just click the app icon, it gives you the 3 reboot options, 1 click, and you're done.
     
  18. SynisterWolf

    SynisterWolf Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    372
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010

    Jul 14, 2010
    372
    27
    43
    Materials Specialist
    Sunny California
    Does this work on skyraider 3.2 sense?
     
  19. jayno20

    jayno20 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    279
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    279
    25
    38

    That's exactly the one I want... Post a link! :D
     
  20. jdposhkus

    jdposhkus Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010

    Apr 30, 2010
    34
    2
    16
    Yes it does. I have been using it for a while.

    Do a back up first. Just in case.
     
  21. TheCowGod

    TheCowGod Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    99
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    99
    18
    18
    Where is this link? I'm really interested in this...
     
  22. SynisterWolf

    SynisterWolf Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    372
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010

    Jul 14, 2010
    372
    27
    43
    Materials Specialist
    Sunny California
    I get a boot loop. Which one did you download?
     
  23. crazyg0od33

    crazyg0od33 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    391
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    391
    28
    43
    Link please
     
  24. ACD168

    ACD168 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,885
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010

    Apr 30, 2010
    1,885
    162
    143
    Just use the one for Virtuous, it works, I cannot find the link, ill update when I do.
     
  25. ACD168

    ACD168 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,885
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010

    Apr 30, 2010
    1,885
    162
    143

Share This Page

Loading...