1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General New PRL!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by timmywa, Jun 16, 2010.

  1. timmywa

    timmywa Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    136
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010

    Feb 12, 2010
    136
    13
    38
    IT Support
    Utah

    Advertisement

    jpzsports likes this.
  2. sierrarot328i

    sierrarot328i Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    25
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009

    Dec 21, 2009
    25
    0
    15
    65144 in raleigh, nc
     
  3. copestag

    copestag Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,355
    Joined:
    May 23, 2010

    May 23, 2010
    1,355
    247
    143
    just did mine......... went to 51920
     
  4. kamots

    kamots Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    152
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010

    Mar 9, 2010
    152
    3
    36
    What is this, and what does it do?
     
  5. copestag

    copestag Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,355
    Joined:
    May 23, 2010

    May 23, 2010
    1,355
    247
    143
    in short........ the PRL tells your phone in what order (towers) and what frequencies to scan for a signal........

    updated PRL typically means better coverage (typically not always)...... and also typically means your phone will spend less time searching for a signal if youre in one of those areas with low coverage..... which in turn means better battery life
     
    Jazzy79 and kamots like this.
  6. Demache

    Demache Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,011
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    Apr 18, 2010
    3,011
    341
    183
    Sioux Falls, SD
    How do you know what PRL # you have?
     
  7. copestag

    copestag Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,355
    Joined:
    May 23, 2010

    May 23, 2010
    1,355
    247
    143
    settings>about>software info


    been watching my signal since I updated a bit ago.......... normally I have 1-2 bars here inside the house and cell standby (searching for signal) accounts for about 40%-45% of my battery use

    now Im getting 4 bars constant ......... will check battery use in the morning and report
     
  8. Houstatlanavegas

    Houstatlanavegas Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    235
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010

    OK so what did you do?
     
  9. fmadrigal

    fmadrigal Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    172
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010

    Mar 19, 2010
    172
    174
    68
    Insurance Broker
    Cerritos
    How do i update my PRL? what is this thread all about??
     
  10. Demache

    Demache Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,011
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    Apr 18, 2010
    3,011
    341
    183
    Sioux Falls, SD
    That's really weird. The signal in basement for 3G has gotten immensely better as well. I use to struggle to get 1 bar, now I get two easily, and sometimes even 3. Good thing too. I can't access this website from home for whatever reason, so I'm tethering my phone to my PC.

    And my PRL is 51920 as well. Sioux Falls, SD.
     
  11. Chopstick2U

    Chopstick2U Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    315
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009

    Dec 4, 2009
    315
    14
    38
    USAF
    California
    Wouldn't I get this by doing a 228? Is that not the normal, natural way to get a new prl?
     
  12. xx_bishop_xx

    xx_bishop_xx Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,311
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009

    Dec 18, 2009
    1,311
    173
    163
    Texas
    I believe its *22899 to update your preferred roaming list (PRL).
     
  13. namu1107

    namu1107 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    153
    Joined:
    May 20, 2010

    May 20, 2010
    153
    6
    36
    Clinical Lab Scientist
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    I went to that link... can't figure out what everyone is talking about "updating"... I saw no steps to do it...:/ :/
     
  14. jayochs

    jayochs Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    672
    Joined:
    May 14, 2010

    May 14, 2010
    672
    89
    78
    Critical Infrastructure Protection Bureau, Office
    Brick, NJ
    is 51983...and im trying to *228 it and it keeps saying they can't program my phone....and when i do *22899, it just says OTA message, programming unsuccessful. sweet.
     
  15. pavirotten

    pavirotten Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    387
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009

    Nov 28, 2009
    387
    11
    68
    Male
    Document Specialist
    OH
    Actually, enter *228 then press Send. You want to select option 2 to update your PRL. It only takes a couple of minutes to do the update and the time does not count against your plan minutes.
     
  16. namu1107

    namu1107 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    153
    Joined:
    May 20, 2010

    May 20, 2010
    153
    6
    36
    Clinical Lab Scientist
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    NVM... ^^ posted before mine :)
     
  17. Demache

    Demache Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,011
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    Apr 18, 2010
    3,011
    341
    183
    Sioux Falls, SD
    That confused the F out of me at first too. Everyone kept talking about an updated PRL, but I had no idea how to even update it. lol.

    Should have figured it had something to do with *228p2.
     
  18. xx_bishop_xx

    xx_bishop_xx Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,311
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009

    Dec 18, 2009
    1,311
    173
    163
    Texas

    Yes, that works too. *22899 is how to update your PRL without getting the prompt to Press 1 or 2 after dialing *228. Just goes straight to the update.
     
  19. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,479
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    Just click "phone" as if making a call and enter *22899.

    It'll go through the update process and then reboot in about 2 minutes.

    Mine made no difference, being good signal from a close tower already. Your mileage may vary. ;)
     
  20. kamots

    kamots Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    152
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010

    Mar 9, 2010
    152
    3
    36
    alright then. I updated and my new PRL is 51920 near Atl Ga. thanks everyone, you guys rock...... ummm now to see if if makes a difference! lol:D
     
  21. willdogs

    willdogs Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    665
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009

    Dec 7, 2009
    665
    211
    113
    I went from 51776 to 51920

    I dont think it will make much of a difference but who knows.

    EDIT: Looks like we are all getting 51920? Must be the Eris' PRL?
     
  22. Eris_2.1_2010

    Eris_2.1_2010 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    186
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010

    Mar 31, 2010
    186
    5
    56
    Truck Driver
    West Plains, MO
    Just did the update brought my out of roaming back into VZW. Got prl 65144. Big Cabin OK.

    Sent from my Eris using Tapatalk
     
  23. timmywa

    timmywa Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    136
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010

    Feb 12, 2010
    136
    13
    38
    IT Support
    Utah
    Since I first started this thread, about 7 hrs ago, I've still yet to see the 50% without signal issue... Anyone else?
     
  24. gotweed

    gotweed Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    141
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010

    Apr 22, 2010
    141
    6
    56
    Barback
    NeW JeRsEY
    I love you guys...i just wanted to tell you all that lol without this forum, i would of lost hope for the eris a long time ago lol thanks

    Sent from my Eris using Puff Puff Express
     
  25. TheDanimal

    TheDanimal Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010

    Jun 2, 2010
    52
    11
    18
    Arkansas
    The PRL is a list in the phone that tells it what SIDs have priority and which SIDs to ignore. SID changes, roaming agreement changes or even new towers being built or old towers being taken down can be reason for a new PRL to come out. with all the network conversions going on the PRLs will be changing kind of frequently so a *228 every few weeks or just once a month should keep you up to date; but sometimes updating can affect you negatively and give you worse service then you had before. It all depends on where you are.
     

Share This Page

Loading...