1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root New radios - Custom rom?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ghxost, Jul 12, 2011.

  1. ghxost

    ghxost Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011

    Feb 23, 2011
    85
    7
    16
    I flashed the new OTA rooted rom shortly after it came around, along with the new radio update. I would like to now go to one of the more custom roms w/sense 3.0 since they seem to be a bit more stable now.

    My question is, how do I know if the new radios are compatible with each rom? I will downgrade them if needed, but how can I be sure? Do they just work with all roms...?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Granite1

    Granite1 Zercron Encrusted Tweezer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    833
    Posts:
    7,159
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    7,159
    7,180
    833
    Male
    Highway Construction Inspection
    Pittsburgh, PA
    I would check the op from the Rom developer. If a specific radio is needed for their Rom, it will be posted.
    I'm running MikG 2.2 and I still have the next to last radio combo. Works flawlessly. I will recommend this Rom all day long. Fast, smooth and very stable. ;)
     
  3. frenchy714

    frenchy714 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    3,154
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010

    Nov 11, 2010
    3,154
    1,958
    333
    Male
    East Tawas, MI
    +1 On checking on what the Dev recommends.
     
  4. ghxost

    ghxost Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011

    Feb 23, 2011
    85
    7
    16
    Thanks, but every rom I've been looking at doesn't specify one way or the other what is supported or recommended... I'll just guess if its based on the 'latest' official kernel it will support the recent radio update...
     
  5. frenchy714

    frenchy714 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    3,154
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010

    Nov 11, 2010
    3,154
    1,958
    333
    Male
    East Tawas, MI

    You can use any radio setup you want to unless a Dev specifies otherwise....I think that was the answer you were looking for.
     
    ghxost likes this.
  6. ghxost

    ghxost Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011

    Feb 23, 2011
    85
    7
    16
    Ok, well since it appears not to matter, is it possible for me to downgrade my radio's back to what they were prior to the last OTA? I have many nandroids with my wimax saved, but just need to know if there are any tips/tricks, and what radio version was the latest prior to the one just released (like a month ago?). I just know I had to flash that radio update like a new recovery image for some odd reason, so I dont want to mess it up by trying to downgrade without help.

    I got much better reception on the old radio in my basement...

    Please link to the right file if possible too :)
     
  7. geewhiz

    geewhiz Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    186
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010

    Dec 10, 2010
    186
    35
    43
    bayou country
    Great idea to get the radios right. Best way to brick your phone should you mess them up. Sure you know that already. :)
     
  8. frenchy714

    frenchy714 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    3,154
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010

    Nov 11, 2010
    3,154
    1,958
    333
    Male
    East Tawas, MI
    EVO Radio 2.15.00.04.08.zip


    EVO WiMAX 27925.zip


    EVO PRI 1.90 003.zip


    EVO NV 1.90 003.zip


    Just flash from recovery like you would a ROM. I flash one individually per recovery session (ie: flash radio's then reboot, flash pri then reboot, etc...)
     
    ghxost likes this.
  9. ghxost

    ghxost Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011

    Feb 23, 2011
    85
    7
    16
  10. frenchy714

    frenchy714 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    3,154
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010

    Nov 11, 2010
    3,154
    1,958
    333
    Male
    East Tawas, MI
    I fully rebooted....It's probably not necessary but that's what I did.
     
  11. mjbaker64

    mjbaker64 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011

    Feb 20, 2011
    33
    1
    16
    Akron Oh
    Im here from the evo shift, and just rooted an evo 4g i just picked up and my question is, is there a rom that has a custom kernel or do I need to flash a new (or faster) kernel? I bought the setcpu off the market and I cant run it any faster than 998. With the shift id get a cpu of 2780 but for some reason the evo seems a little different. Also what radio would you recommend? Right now Im running mikG 2.2 but I am downloading synergy RC 1 as we speak.
     
  12. frenchy714

    frenchy714 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    3,154
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010

    Nov 11, 2010
    3,154
    1,958
    333
    Male
    East Tawas, MI

    As of right now there isn't a custom kernel available for sense 2.1/3.0 ROM's, HTC hasn't released the source code as of yet. You can flash a froyo or AOSP ROM and take advantage of custom kernels......Outside of that we're stuck waiting.
     
  13. mjbaker64

    mjbaker64 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011

    Feb 20, 2011
    33
    1
    16
    Akron Oh
    Got ya. thank you much
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...