1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root New recovery surfacing

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by cammykool, Dec 21, 2011.

  1. cammykool

    cammykool Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    2,048
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011

    Jun 18, 2011
    2,048
    267
    183
    Aurora CO
    http://teamw.in/project/twrp2

    Jerry should talk to them about supporting our devices. Its a good concept
     

    Advertisement

  2. brotherswing

    brotherswing Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    3,054
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    3,054
    1,282
    323
    Male
    Full time Dad, cook
    In my living room.
    I just heard about this last night. I'm not changing mine, because it works, but I wonder how many new users are going to be confused by the additional options. Just saying...
     
  3. bigsupersquid

    bigsupersquid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    174
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011

    Feb 20, 2011
    174
    110
    68
    homemaker
    BFE MO
    looks interesting, but they say they close-source the gui.
    could patch a p500 version to work on the v with the right kernel and some changes to mount points and default.prop file.

    on a similar note, I'm about to release a port of tassadar's multirom (roms boot from card or internal flash memory) and it requires a special version of cwm (reminds me of xionia, with more features)
     
    AndyOpie150 likes this.
  4. brotherswing

    brotherswing Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    3,054
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    3,054
    1,282
    323
    Male
    Full time Dad, cook
    In my living room.
    can't wait for that. What version of cwm recovery does it need?
     
  5. bigsupersquid

    bigsupersquid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    174
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011

    Feb 20, 2011
    174
    110
    68
    homemaker
    BFE MO
    based on cwm 5.0.2.6 and tasssadar added a whole submenu for the multirom stuff.

    i don't know if I've seen anything as good as his work during all my research into multiboot.
    really nice.

    i haven't torqued the recovery too hard testing, but it does seem to wipe, backup, restore, and install zips fine on the two v's I've put it on... one old novatek screened goodness and one horrible Hitachi screen

    all the multirom functions seem to work fine too.
    as a plus, his v11 release uses the touchscreen in the boot manager. gorgeous.
     
  6. brotherswing

    brotherswing Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    3,054
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    3,054
    1,282
    323
    Male
    Full time Dad, cook
    In my living room.
    :eek: WOOT!
     
  7. cammykool

    cammykool Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    2,048
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011

    Jun 18, 2011
    2,048
    267
    183
    Aurora CO
    THAT WHAT I LIKE touchscreen in recovery please :) thats why i posted that because touch support and i thought it would be a cool alternative to cam seeing its theme able and such
     
  8. bigsupersquid

    bigsupersquid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    174
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011

    Feb 20, 2011
    174
    110
    68
    homemaker
    BFE MO
    sorry- no touchscreen in the multirom recovery. i didn't look to see if the teamwin recovery was released for the p500 or not, and that's the more popular thunder* board variant among the optimus phones, it seems. i know with the kernel changed and a few files fixed on the ramdisk, p500 software has a fair chance of running on the optimus v.
    (p500=optimus one=thunderg vm670=optimus v=thunderc ls670=optimus s=thunderc also.)
     
  9. brotherswing

    brotherswing Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    3,054
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    3,054
    1,282
    323
    Male
    Full time Dad, cook
    In my living room.
    Hey Squid, can you link to the page for the multirom recovery? I'd like to read up on it. Sounds too shiny not to have a look.
     
  10. cammykool

    cammykool Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    2,048
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011

    Jun 18, 2011
    2,048
    267
    183
    Aurora CO
    so it is possible to run the recovery i mentioned
     
  11. brotherswing

    brotherswing Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    3,054
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    3,054
    1,282
    323
    Male
    Full time Dad, cook
    In my living room.
    It would need to be ported, as Squid said. I know that's beyond my skill set, so we'll just have to wait for some one with
    a) the skill
    b) the time
    c) the inclination

    Personally, I'm way more interested in that multiboot recovery. I could probably use that to have two side by side installs of BACKside. One for my main phone, one for testing themes and scripts and such. I want to get back into it, but don't want to use my main phone for testing. Dig?
     
  12. cammykool

    cammykool Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    2,048
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011

    Jun 18, 2011
    2,048
    267
    183
    Aurora CO
    I'm kinda lost on this whole multi bolt thing. Is it like dual booting on a PC?
     
  13. brotherswing

    brotherswing Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    3,054
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    3,054
    1,282
    323
    Male
    Full time Dad, cook
    In my living room.
  14. cammykool

    cammykool Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    2,048
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011

    Jun 18, 2011
    2,048
    267
    183
    Aurora CO
    oh i would LOVE to do that... stock and BACKside... best of both worlds but I'm not smart enough to do it yet
     
  15. bigsupersquid

    bigsupersquid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    174
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011

    Feb 20, 2011
    174
    110
    68
    homemaker
    BFE MO
    AndyOpie150 and brotherswing like this.
  16. brotherswing

    brotherswing Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    3,054
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    3,054
    1,282
    323
    Male
    Full time Dad, cook
    In my living room.
    Squid, you rock!
     
  17. bigsupersquid

    bigsupersquid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    174
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011

    Feb 20, 2011
    174
    110
    68
    homemaker
    BFE MO
    you can run froyo and gingerbread together, but have to use a kernel that's made for the optimus s, zefie's xionia kernel is the only one I know of that works for both android versions.
    drewwalton upgraded and fixed it, with his xionia redux kernel, but like I said, it's for the optimus s, so there's little tweaky issues using it on the v. like your home and menu keys getting swapped.

    It's quite possible, though, and when I put up the port I'll include instructions and links for how to mix GB and Froyo, use just multiple Froyo roms, or multiple GB.

    I've seen a few requests around the forums for multiboot on the V, looked into it myself a while back ([DEV][Proof-of-Concept] Boot from SD on Optimus V - xda-developers) but it was too tweaky for the average joe to use.
    Tasssadar's thing is just too smooth, and fairly user-friendly as long as you can use recovery and follow instructions.
    When the port worked on the first try, I knew I'd have to share it for other geeky people like myself.
    Serious nerdgasm with that touchscreen boot manager. That thing could fairly easily be built up to a whole little operating system, and I suspect it'll make it quite possible to dual boot a real debian install without android running at all. Lots more work to get that puppy going, though.
     
  18. brotherswing

    brotherswing Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    3,054
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    3,054
    1,282
    323
    Male
    Full time Dad, cook
    In my living room.
    Sweet. I most certainly will be trying this out!
     
  19. AndyOpie150

    AndyOpie150 <strong> <a href="http://androidforums.com/optimus
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    5,625
    Joined:
    May 13, 2011

    May 13, 2011
    5,625
    1,532
    343
    Laborer (all the dirty nasty work nobody else want
    Florida
    brotherswing, I'm interested and looking forward to you posting your install experience and overall opinion of functionality.
     
  20. bigsupersquid

    bigsupersquid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    174
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011

    Feb 20, 2011
    174
    110
    68
    homemaker
    BFE MO
    also, make sure if you use/like it to go to the original xda thread and click <thanks> for tasssadar.
    I'll be mentioning that in the dev thread OP as well; it is, at the least, polite to add to the original dev's reputation points.
    He did all the real work, I just patched a few files to move it to the other hardware.
     
  21. brotherswing

    brotherswing Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    3,054
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    3,054
    1,282
    323
    Male
    Full time Dad, cook
    In my living room.
    Naturally. I think my account over there is still active, haven't logged in since the days of WinMo 5. If not, I'll just sign up again.
     
    bigsupersquid likes this.
  22. cammykool

    cammykool Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    2,048
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011

    Jun 18, 2011
    2,048
    267
    183
    Aurora CO
    but is this all for the novatec screen?
     
  23. bigsupersquid

    bigsupersquid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    174
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011

    Feb 20, 2011
    174
    110
    68
    homemaker
    BFE MO
    it all depends on the kernel you start with.
    multirom uses the boot.img kernel to boot from internal memory, or from a rom off the card.
    you can't use a different kernel for each rom (yet, anyway.)
    The ported recovery uses a kernel which should show up on any optimus V.
     
  24. cammykool

    cammykool Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    2,048
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011

    Jun 18, 2011
    2,048
    267
    183
    Aurora CO
    so it repaves cwm?
     
  25. bigsupersquid

    bigsupersquid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    174
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011

    Feb 20, 2011
    174
    110
    68
    homemaker
    BFE MO
    yes, it will replace your existing recovery.
    Unless, I could get really fancy and make it a fakeflash recovery...
    for that, you boot into your existing recovery, and flash the fakeflash recovery.
    It forces a reboot into the fakeflash recovery without replacing the one stored in your phone's recovery partition.
    In that case you'd have your existing recovery, and use an extra step to boot into the multirom recovery.
    Really, that would be excessive, but would avoid some paranoia about recovery flashing.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...