1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

New remote not working

Discussion in 'TV & Video' started by DonV, Mar 5, 2016.

  1. DonV

    DonV Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2016

    Mar 5, 2016
    4
    0
    5
    Male
    Old remote to android box mxq H.265 broke, buddy had an extra one that works with his box and still does - but does not work with my box - how to I get them to "sync"? In other words my new remote is not working with MY box.

    Or can Iget a universal remote that will work? Right now I cannot use my box at all since old remote broke.
     

    Advertisement

  2. RazzMaTazz

    RazzMaTazz Android Expert
    Rank:
     #106
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,391
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    1,391
    497
    173
    Remotes for the MXQ start at $6 on eBay or Amazon.

    If your phone has an IR transmitter (like my Samsung Galaxy S5) there seem to be Android apps that will turn your phone into an MXQ remote.

    I doubt that a typical universal remote would have the codes for an obscure box like the MXQ. Maybe. Perhaps a high-end, expensive universal remote (like a Harmony remote) would have them.

    I don't think there's any way to teach the box to speak the same language as your buddy's remote.
     
  3. DonV

    DonV Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2016

    Mar 5, 2016
    4
    0
    5
    Male
    The remotes for MXQ on ebay will not work - my friends remote is one! My friends remote is exactly like mine he has the exact same android mxq, all the same, but his remote works with his mxq box but not mine - so I think buying a new remote will not solve the problem.
     
  4. RazzMaTazz

    RazzMaTazz Android Expert
    Rank:
     #106
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,391
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    1,391
    497
    173
    How do you know that your old remote broke and it's not the box's IR remote receiving capability that broke?

    Does your old remote work on your buddy's MXQ?

    Do you have an IR transmitter on your phone?
     
  5. DonV

    DonV Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2016

    Mar 5, 2016
    4
    0
    5
    Male
    Original remote smashed by kids:) NO IR on phone.
     
  6. DonV

    DonV Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2016

    Mar 5, 2016
    4
    0
    5
    Male
  7. Simon Lam

    Simon Lam Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2016

    Feb 3, 2016
    21
    2
    16
    Male
    Sales Manager
    Hong Kong
    there are many version of mxq out there, so it is possible that a MXQ remote don't work on your. Although I believe mostof them work.

    An easy way is to get a cheap airmouse or mini keyboard.
     

Share This Page

Loading...