1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

New ROM of Android 2.2 (Froyo) for Liquid E

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by vovidaisu, Nov 15, 2010.

  1. nishant.chawre

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011

    Oct 19, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    can some on help me to create or extract rom from my acer liquid metal s120 in .bin format. I want to learn to create the rom extract from original firmware in the mobile or the os available for download from the official acer website. The Os available from official web site is in executable (.exe) formant for windows.
     

    Advertisement

  2. thamemdmc

    thamemdmc Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011

    Dec 6, 2011
    5
    0
    5

    i m using Acer LiquidE S100 with android 2.2 installed init Version 1.100.92.EMEA.CUS4_A21E_A. I have tried to download android 2.2 froyo from Canada Website version 4.001.17.PA.ROG_A22F_A and after starting flashing as per the instruction in the startup i m getting the error message unable to upgrade to new OS phone will start in recovery mode to upgrade new OS in 5 sec and i m getting the error msg now displays the triangle with the ! in the middle and the little android guy.i have tried to roll back and install the same old version but again i m unable to do it.
    Please help me to solve this problem. My phone is not working.
     
  3. thamemdmc

    thamemdmc Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011

    Dec 6, 2011
    5
    0
    5

    i m using Acer LiquidE S100 with android 2.2 installed init Version 1.100.92.EMEA.CUS4_A21E_A. I have tried to download android 2.2 froyo from Canada Website version 4.001.17.PA.ROG_A22F_A and after starting flashing as per the instruction in the startup i m getting the error message unable to upgrade to new OS phone will start in recovery mode to upgrade new OS in 5 sec and i m getting the error msg now displays the triangle with the ! in the middle and the little android guy.i have tried to roll back and install the same old version but again i m unable to do it.
    Please help me to solve this problem. My phone is not working.
     
  4. GIZ97

    GIZ97 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011

    Dec 13, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    I use your process, everything goes well but when my fone reboot I get a error message: Warning!! This OS cannot be upgraded on 256m Liquid. :eek:

    There are a possibilty to use my sd card as ram (Swap memory) now? If Yes how can I do that.

    In some what can I do?

    My cell: ACER liquid S100 256M.

    PS: Sorry for my Frenglish.
     
  5. thamemdmc

    thamemdmc Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011

    Dec 6, 2011
    5
    0
    5

    Do not install the Canadian version, had it worked, your phone would have been simlocked to Rogers or Fido (depending on the version you installed).

    Unfortunately, Acer did not release Froyo for EMEA_CUS4 (lazy?). Also, this is the only ROM which has native Arabic support (so if you need Arabic, you are stuck on Eclair ).

    There is a way you can update it but it does void the warranty (it does not require root nor does it root your device, it requires using the Acer Download Tool).

    Just download a .bin file from here- Acer Liquid and Liquid E ALL ROMs bin extract collection - Android @ MoDaCo (I'd reccomend 4.002.14.EMEA.GEN1 or 4.008.08.EMEA.VFIT. Note, the newer ROMs are on the bottom. If you have a 256MB RAM Liquid choose "Liquid 256MB" if you have a 512MB RAM Liquid, choose "Liquid 512MB")

    And follow these directions- [TUTORIAL] How to flash .bin files on Acer Liquid/E - Android @ MoDaCo

    And if anything goes wrong, refer to this thread- [TIP] Dont try to restart phone during flash if it looses connection, or u will have a bricked liquid! [MOD PLEASE STICKY!] - Android @ MoDaCo

    Furthermore, if you install EMEA_GEN1 (or any AAP), the OS will look VERY different. This is because Froyo for the Liquid uses Acer UI. Play around with it, see if you like it (some do, some do not). If you do not like it, go into Settings-->Development-->User Interface-->Android UI and it will boot into a vanilla Android user interface (which you are used to).

    Hope that helps. Ask if you need anything.


    Btw, the Acer Download Tool CAN be used in recovery (Android robot with !). If you need Arabic, re-install your original Eclair ROM (1.100.92.EMEA.CUS4, it is in that list of bins).
    __________________
    Black AT&T Motorola Atrix 4G
    ROM: Alien v4 by kennethpenn

    White Acer Liquid A1
    ROM: LiquidNext 1.9.2 @ 998MHz by Suxsem, ThePasto
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  6. HustlinDaily

    HustlinDaily Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,141
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010

    Apr 6, 2010
    1,141
    105
    163
    Student
    Sugar Land, TX
    Yes, it does work in recovery mode. Forgot to mention that. Thanks.
     
  7. lemony

    lemony Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012

    Feb 11, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    This failed for me... I don't know what to do, my phone loads its text messages reaally slowly and maybe it needs to be upgraded? The build is Acer_LiquidE_1.100.03_PA_ROG... please help.
     
  8. demontom

    demontom Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2012

    Jul 19, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    it dont work
     
  9. rockstead

    rockstead Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013

    Jan 8, 2013
    2
    0
    5
    Guys, I think I totally messed up my wife's phone and I'm in trouble, I really need some help here.

    I have a Acer Liquid E, it was previously on Fido and it had 2.1 on it and my friend gave it to me and it worked fine on Roger's just by placing in a Roger's Sim Card.

    I went to Acer.Ca and I followed the instructions to apply the Froyo 2.2 update, I placed the update.zip and the image folder on the root of my SD card and followed the procdedures for rebooting, but instead of putting on a Fido 2.2 version, I put on the Roger's version.

    After 40 minutes, the phone never restarted, I pushed the power button and now when it starts, it just shows some red colors and does not start.

    I even followed the procedures for a clean boot (hard reset) and it still doesn't restart without those funny colours and then nothing.

    Help please.
     

Share This Page

Loading...