1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!
  2. We apologize for the disruption in email services! They are sending out now, but there is a backlog, so it may take a little time to catch up.

New S3 Info! Also who's jumping ship?

Discussion in 'Virgin Mobile' started by BigBossman, Jun 4, 2013.

  1. notebooko

    notebooko Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    593
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012

    Apr 22, 2012
    593
    67
    78
    LG Optimus F5 on Virgin. F7 on Boost.
     

    Advertisement

  2. amk2795

    amk2795 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    190
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2011

    Nov 11, 2011
    190
    14
    58
    Female
    Cashier at Portillo's
    Where I live
    I'm jumping ship.
    PLEAAASSEEE give me a decent phone! I hate this piece of junk evo.
     
  3. koopakid08

    koopakid08 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    772
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011

    Mar 14, 2011
    772
    165
    93
    Behind you
    Lol, you must not have been around when the optimus v was the happening phone on vm...
     
  4. mysticalnyte

    mysticalnyte Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    221
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011

    Nov 23, 2011
    221
    34
    43
    Male
    Good times and good memories on the OV. Still have mine somewhere's...
     
  5. Larzuk

    Larzuk Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    102
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011

    Jul 2, 2011
    102
    14
    38
    Male
    Already Jumped! By far the best phone I've owned. Amazing phone, Absolutely amazing.
     
  6. FatalIll

    FatalIll Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    162
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012

    Jun 23, 2012
    162
    9
    36
    Male
    Excuse me? Lol.
     
  7. Darklink

    Darklink Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010

    Dec 13, 2010
    48
    2
    16
    I recently picked up my Evo V on sale for $130. Maybe in a year I can think about paying under 200 for the S3.. But I'm really aiming at the N4. or N5. (or as Larzuk would say, "I already bought the Nexus5, I love it")
     
  8. aml1025

    aml1025 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #225
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    434
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013

    Jan 31, 2013
    434
    122
    98
    Twin Cities, MN

    Some people are reporting Radio Shack has the S3 available for sale already, jumping the gun on the 6/12 release date. A few members of another forum have purchased them and posted pictures. One even had his wife drop hers already, shattering the screen :-(
     
  9. KryptoNyte

    KryptoNyte Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    383
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011

    Jun 21, 2011
    383
    39
    43
    $430 for a Virgin Mobile S3? I think I'll have to pass on this one.
     
  10. Droidula

    Droidula Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    363
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011

    Feb 22, 2011
    363
    33
    43
    Me too. Pass my Evo V to the unused drawer after I buy the S3, that is. :p
     
  11. BigBossman

    BigBossman Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    248
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012

    Jul 27, 2012
    248
    6
    36
    I'm sorry but the S3 puts the Evo V to shame by a long shot lol
     
    koopakid08 likes this.
  12. DragonSlayer95

    DragonSlayer95 Resident Air Bender
    Rank:
     #37
    Points:
    653
    Posts:
    8,766
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012

    Mar 9, 2012
    8,766
    3,731
    653
    Male
    Shreveport, Louisiana
  13. ENVi3

    ENVi3 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    281
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012

    Sep 11, 2012
    281
    49
    43
    Male
    Kansas City
  14. BigBossman

    BigBossman Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    248
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012

    Jul 27, 2012
    248
    6
    36
    This is interesting it says it runs on Wimax and LTE so it's a dual 4G chip
     

    Attached Files:

  15. OverByter

    OverByter Resident Slide Rule Guru
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    4,000
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010

    Dec 12, 2010
    4,000
    922
    213
    Male
    Disabled
    CT, USA
    Unfortunately just an advertising error, there have never been any wimax/LTE combined handsets offered by Sprint, the S3 is LTE only. :p
    OB
     
    BigBossman likes this.
  16. TDOW

    TDOW Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    226
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013

    Feb 21, 2013
    226
    11
    58
    OT to OB, Love your avvie!
     
  17. BigBossman

    BigBossman Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    248
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012

    Jul 27, 2012
    248
    6
    36
    I had a little conspiracy theory:
    Since a lot of people (including myself) are getting 4G with the S3 in places that had Wimax it's either a dual 4G chip or VM gives priority connection to S3s and the speed allows them to brand their Wimax connection as LTE. Or their rolling out LTE to places that have Wimax first and then other places.
     
  18. Darklink

    Darklink Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010

    Dec 13, 2010
    48
    2
    16
    BigBossman likes this.
  19. BigBossman

    BigBossman Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    248
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012

    Jul 27, 2012
    248
    6
    36

    LTE is measured by network speed therefore VM can pretty much market their 4G as LTE if it complies with the set speed or so I believe. As for the other one why can't a phone be Wimax and LTE with like two 4G chips?
     
  20. infotiger

    infotiger Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    May 9, 2013

    May 9, 2013
    42
    1
    16
    Spec from AMAZON:
    Android 4.1 Ice Cream Sandwich
    CDMA 3G EVDO Rev A/4G WiMAX and LTE
    WiFi/Mobile Hotspot Capability
    4.8? full touchscreen-super AMOLED plus 8MP Primary Camera and 2MP Front Facing
    1.5 GHz Dual core processor
     
  21. tcomotcom

    tcomotcom Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012

    Jul 21, 2012
    64
    20
    18
    Specs from SAMSUNG:

    LTE: Band 25 (1900MHz); CDMA 1x/EVDO Rev A, 800/850/1900MHz

    Link: Official Samsung Website - Sprint Galaxy SIII Specs

    I'll bet $1.00 that Amazon has got it wrong. Virgin Mobile USA's website also says 3G/4G LTE and makes no mention of WiMax for this device.
     
  22. tcomotcom

    tcomotcom Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012

    Jul 21, 2012
    64
    20
    18
    "4G", by itself, is a vague, undefined term and all carriers in the U.S. are claiming "4G" service based on speed, regardless of the underlying technology the carrier has deployed. Carriers can hit "4G" speeds using WiMax, HSPA or LTE, and a carrier can't market that it offers "LTE" service unless it is actually providing service via LTE equipment.

    It's technically possible. Sprint offers the Sierra Wireless 4G LTE Tri-Fi Hotspot that connects to 3G CDMA, 4G WiMax and 4G LTE, but I don't think they have any plans to offer phones with the same capabilities.
     
    BigBossman likes this.
  23. BigBossman

    BigBossman Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    248
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012

    Jul 27, 2012
    248
    6
    36
    Eh I tried but anyway it still intrigues me why Amazon posted that it's both.
     
  24. OverByter

    OverByter Resident Slide Rule Guru
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    4,000
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010

    Dec 12, 2010
    4,000
    922
    213
    Male
    Disabled
    CT, USA
    Typo? :rolleyes:
    OB
     
  25. tcomotcom

    tcomotcom Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012

    Jul 21, 2012
    64
    20
    18
    I assume whomever created the Amazon listing for the VM SIII just goofed up and/or was confused.

    The Sprint SIII page says "4G LTE" only and the Boost Mobile SIII listed on Amazon also says "4G LTE" only. The Virgin Mobile SIII listed on Amazon also says "3G/4G LTE connectivity" on the right hand side if you scroll down to the bullet list.
     

Share This Page

Loading...