1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support New SD card - just transfer from old card?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Bearly, Jul 23, 2010.

  1. Bearly

    Bearly Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,011
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010

    Apr 12, 2010
    1,011
    78
    128
    I searched the Incredible forums and sub forums and could not find an answer to this question, though I am sure it has been asked:

    If I want to go from my stock 2 GB card to a new card, and I want to preserve data AND have all apps still be able to read whatever data they were reading off the card, do I just transfer the files from one card to the other?

    I bet the only thing I need to make sure of is that new card is formatted with the same file system as the original card, right?

    I know copying data from one card to the other will preserve data, but I want to make sure I have no problems with apps, either, after inserting the newer card.

    Thanks in advance.
     

    Advertisement

  2. sabrewings

    sabrewings Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    895
    Joined:
    May 26, 2010

    May 26, 2010
    895
    104
    93
    Avionics
    Just copy it. It'll be fine. :)
     
  3. BobRossLives

    BobRossLives Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010

    Sep 2, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    Does just copying files from one SD card to another work? are there any other steps to ensure all data and app files will work with new card? Has anyone successfully tried this? Thanks.
     
  4. emmur0

    emmur0 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010

    Apr 4, 2010
    56
    2
    16
    MA
    I have yet to try and copy the files, but i'm going from an 8gb to a 16gb card. I plan on copy and pasting later today when I get home from work. I hope it goes as planned.
     
  5. Musky

    Musky Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    1,848
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010

    Mar 13, 2010
    1,848
    376
    173
    Male
    Computer Tech
    San Diego
    I went from the stock 2GB card to a 4GB I had around and I just copied everything on the old card to the new one at one time. Everything worked fine, except my ringtones were messed up. Funny thing too, I use ringtones from "my music" and they were all just one song off after I switched cards. No biggie, but very strange, like the "address" to the songs got messed up.
     
  6. Jim Chapman

    Jim Chapman Member
    Rank:
     #1,136
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    52
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010

    Apr 27, 2010
    52
    11
    18
    Male
    Software engineer (retired)
    California, USA
    FWIW, the SD card I am using with my Dinc is one that I simply removed from my old Palm Centro. I did not change the directory structure in any way, so it may be somewhat different than what Android would have created on an empty card, but nevertheless it found all the MP3 and JPEG files without difficulty.
     
  7. Bearly

    Bearly Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    128
    Posts:
    1,011
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010

    Apr 12, 2010
    1,011
    78
    128
    Yes, copy over the folder structure EXACTLY.

    Just make sure the cards were formatted with the same file system. (not sure it matters, but I could've sworn I read that it did matter).

    I'm waiting on a 32 GB class 6 to come out under $100...like, in two years.
     
  8. freddyttt

    freddyttt Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    493
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    493
    45
    43

Share This Page

Loading...