1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root New? START HERE BEFORE ASKING!!!! (The mostly noob proof guide....) UPDATED

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by nomorefear, Feb 14, 2011.

  1. Darnell0216

    Darnell0216 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    825
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011

    - "Root Folder" simply means not in a subfolder. It should be in F:\flash_image and not F:\Folder\flash_image

    - Custom Recovery: Did you remember to extract the files from the link to 'Custom Recovery for 2.2.1 stock phones by joneidy.zip' provided by Joneidy? The two files on your SD Card should be 'flash_image' (no extension) and 'recovery-2.2.1-joneidy.img'. If you didn't extract them, that's why you can't find them ;).

    - The "Must Be On Device" note is really relative to people who've rooted and are using 3rd party apps to force things to install on the SD card. If you're not using one, you have nothing to worry about. Although there is a "Move to SD Card" option in 2.2.x, it's usually not enabled or done by default with rooting apps.

    - You won't really be moving things to the phone often in terms of rooting. Their .apk files can be run from the SD card if it's something you must install.
     

    Advertisement

    sandpipershore likes this.
  2. lyubimov

    lyubimov Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    May 29, 2011

    May 29, 2011
    29
    2
    16
    Fort Lauderdale, FL
    OK everybody else seems to know that, but that's my first android device which I have for only couple of weeks, so... how do you guys do print screen? Is there any special app or function?
    Thank you!
     
  3. Darnell0216

    Darnell0216 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    825
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011

    There are several popular screen capture apps and all of them require a rooted phone. I use drocap2. There is also a way to do it via PC, but I don't know how that process works.
     
    lyubimov likes this.
  4. nomorefear

    nomorefear Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    86
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011

    Jan 6, 2011
    86
    45
    23
    Californication
    did i not explain what root folder means properly?
     
  5. kaws1

    kaws1 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011

    Jun 5, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    how can I go about removing SUPERUSER.apk from my optimus that I used GINGERBREAK on?? any help would be appreciated!
     
  6. jabbawest

    jabbawest Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    400
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011

    Mar 8, 2011
    400
    101
    68
    Male
    Level III Support Dallas County
    Fountain of Lamneth
    If it's on your sdcard, you can remove that.
    If you're referring to the instance that is located in system/apps
    you should not remove that.
    It's there to warn you about applications that want root access, now that the phone is rooted, you need that protection.
     
  7. kaws1

    kaws1 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011

    Jun 5, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    THANKS Jabba!
     
  8. det1726

    det1726 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    320
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011

    Apr 9, 2011
    320
    36
    53
    Male
    Self employed
    Michigan
    Okay, so I have had my Optimus m 2.2.1 long enough and now that the price has come down for it I want to root it, my question is this... is it possible to "brick" the phone so bad that there is absolutely no fix to bring it back while attempting to root?
     
  9. Darnell0216

    Darnell0216 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    825
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011

    Not anymore. Rooting 2.2.1 is 1-click now with Gingerbreak. It's just like z4root for 2.2, except you have to install SuperUser on your own from the Market.
     
  10. det1726

    det1726 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    320
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011

    Apr 9, 2011
    320
    36
    53
    Male
    Self employed
    Michigan

    I cant believe how simple the rooting process was and i was able to follow the tutorial so far without a hitch, im now at the custom rom part and totally have no idea what to put on my 2.2.1 rooted optimus m
     
  11. jabbawest

    jabbawest Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    400
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011

    Mar 8, 2011
    400
    101
    68
    Male
    Level III Support Dallas County
    Fountain of Lamneth
    If you want stability, a good looking interface, along with a few bells and whistles, then by all means, this is your ROM.
    http://androidforums.com/optimus-m-all-things-root/323247-rom-theme-sense-rom-optimus-m.html
    It NOW comes with an overclocked kernel so you won't have to install that separately.
    But you might want to read this thread to get up to speed on the kernel and it's capabilities.
    http://androidforums.com/optimus-m-all-things-root/347684-kernel-optimusm-oc-stock-2-2-1-a.html
    Just read the entire history of the ROM and the kernel before diving in.

    If you choose to go with Sense ROM, it'll be painless, as long as you've educated yourself. ;)
     
    det1726 likes this.
  12. viper33802

    viper33802 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011

    Jul 20, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    OMG, this guide is the greatest! I am new to the forums and wanted to flash my Optimus M to Gingerbread. Low and behold I find myself here with everything VERY clearly spelled out. THANKS YOU GUYS! I folloed the instructions and my phone is flashed to the CM7 rom and everything is working great.

    One thing I did want to mention is that a friend of mine wanted me to do the same to his rooted 2.2.1 Optimus M. Well, things did not go as smoothly as on my phone. I used ADB shell to flash the recovery to his phone and when booted up the screen stayed black. It did appear that his phone was booted into recovery as pushing menu rebooted the phone and pressing Vol- eight times then menu powered his phone off, But no video on the screen. I tried re-flashing the recovery multiple times with the same results. I was starting to wonder what was going wrong. Then I came across another custom recovey here:

    http://androidforums.com/optimus-m-...nally-custom-recovery-2-2-1-stock-phones.html

    It worked perfect. I dont know why the recovery posted in this thread would not work on his phone but the one in the link I provided did the trick. I hope this helps someone.

    Thanks again guys!!
     
  13. MindlessZombie

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    35
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011

    Jul 27, 2011
    35
    2
    36
    cleburne tx
    How the hell do I acess the cmd???
     
  14. joneidy

    joneidy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    307
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011

    Jan 15, 2011
    307
    376
    88
    Computer Technician; Currently Developing for Andr
    Methuen, MA

    Just type it on windows search and it will come up. Lol
     
  15. tovida

    tovida Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011

    Sep 16, 2011
    21
    4
    16
    I wish I've read that a weak ago. Would make my life much easier.
     
  16. PlayfulGod

    PlayfulGod Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    8,103
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    8,103
    4,933
    353
    Male
    Web Design and Hosting/PC Repair
    NW Georgia
    well some of it isnt quite true any more ;)

    ROM Manager and CWM both can be used on this phone. Installation of CWM is a lil tricky still atm, but can be done and works great. koush (clockworkmod) will soon be adding the official CWM recovery to RM and then installation will be a breeze.
     
  17. Homebound

    Homebound Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2011

    Sep 19, 2011
    15
    1
    36
  18. PlayfulGod

    PlayfulGod Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    8,103
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    8,103
    4,933
    353
    Male
    Web Design and Hosting/PC Repair
    NW Georgia
    wont need adb to install the ROM, it can be done with the recovery. A easy way to install CWM, and I would guess it would work with GNM, is Flash Image GUI from the market.

    But to answer your question ADB comes with android-tools which you install with the java sdk and jdk. You could grab it from a fastboot install method for recovery zip. Far as setting it up, thats mainly having the drivers for your phone installed correctly on your computer.
     
  19. youngnex

    youngnex Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    141
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011

    Sep 13, 2011
    141
    51
    53
    Florida
    @Homebound, just follow that tut.... then go to PG's thread and flash his rom. All is very well detailed. Read the posts (yea take a few minutes) and you'll get it.
     
  20. EdAndInn

    EdAndInn Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    189
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011

    Jan 12, 2011
    189
    45
    43
    ImpatientWreck and jpr8 like this.
  21. ImpatientWreck

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011

    Sep 6, 2011
    5
    1
    6
    South Jersey
    Great and simple guide to follow. I did everything easy and swiftly. Much appreciated!
     
  22. ImpatientWreck

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011

    Sep 6, 2011
    5
    1
    6
    South Jersey
    And sorry for re-newing a 2yr old post.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...