1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

New Swype Version Now Availalbe

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by Jayo619, Dec 7, 2010.

  1. Jayo619

    Jayo619 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    113
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010

    Just got an email about it... Ill let you guys know how it is.
    -

    This is from the swype website:

    We're happy to bring you version 2.15.56.14870 of Swype BETA for Android. We've made some pretty fantastic upgrades with this version, including adding some new requested features and addressing some reported bugs. Read on for details...

    Announcement on Swype's forums


    First and foremost - We've resolved an accuracy issue that was introduced in the last beta update. Refer to the changelog for more detail on this critical fix.

    Second - Swype BETA for Android now supports Double-Tap-to-Edit! Swype choose a wrong word? Just tap the word twice to bring up the word choice window, pick the correct word, and the cursor will return to wherever it was before. It doesn't get any simpler! See a video demonstration, and check out our other tips and tricks.

    And Third - Swype BETA for Android now includes a Voice-to-Text button (available for QWERTY layouts ONLY)! You MUST have Google Voice Search pre-integrated in your ROM for this feature to work. We wish everyone could access it, and are working to adapt our existing code to support versions of Voice Search downloaded from the market, as well as other voice search providers, in our next update.

    Users with access to the beta can begin downloading the update immediately by pointing their device's browser to http://beta.swype.com/android/get


    You can sign up for the beta if you haven't already:
    Swype | Text Input for Screens


    Some additional details...

    • You'll see much less of that pesky "Hidden Word" popup (though it will still show up once in a while)
    • Names from the address book will no longer muscle out all other words for top spot in the word-choice-window.
    • NEW SELF-UPDATING INSTALLER! This update includes a new installer with some long-needed feature updates.
      • The new installer will self-update when you launch it, if necessary, so you'll NEVER have to uninstall and re-install the installer via our website. Just keep the installer on your device, and launch it periodically - If needed you'll be given the option to update it with just a click.
      • We've converted the installation app from an "application" to a "service" so that the Android activity manager and other 3rd party task killers won't end the install process prematurely. That means no more rebooting, swap file, or voodoo witchcraft required!
      • The installer now includes a repair function. If for any reason Swype stops working, simply re-launch the installer and you'll be guided through the steps necessary to get Swype running again.
     

    Advertisement

  2. FramCire

    FramCire Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,254
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    1,254
    173
    143
    I had a problem downloading the update on Miran. Dolphin worked fine and I love this update. 2 very nice features!!!!!
     
  3. Jayo619

    Jayo619 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    113
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010

    I am very impressed with the "voice to text" function... Its very accurate so far.
     
  4. Jeffruby

    Jeffruby Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    462
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009

    Oct 30, 2009
    462
    27
    43
    December update released today for beta users. Thank goodness finally fixed the pop up hidden words message that rendered prior version unusable
     
  5. hogwildest

    hogwildest Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    7
    0
    25
    My update wouldn't work on stock browser via the link in the update email. I downloaded Dolphin and it worked fine. Hopefully the swype folks get it fixed. The extra step shouldn't be necessary.
     
  6. snuggles

    snuggles Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    580
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010

    Apr 26, 2010
    580
    57
    78
    Chicago/NW Indiana
    Beta closed for me, no luck
     
  7. Steel36

    Steel36 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    217
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010

    Mar 23, 2010
    217
    34
    43
    Male
    Northeast Georgia
    I've long been a Shapewriter user but the addition of the little mic button to Swype's keyboard may cause me to change teams.
     
  8. atlbravesfalcs7

    atlbravesfalcs7 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    93
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010

    Jul 8, 2010
    93
    3
    16
    swype continues to screw over everyone out there that wants the latest version but didnt sign up for the beta in time. cool.
     
  9. Triska

    Triska Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    112
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010

    Jun 5, 2010
    112
    6
    56
    I was able to get Swype, but didn't install it until today. However, I had signed up a few months ago, but had let the invite expire by the time I got around to installing it. Today was the first time I got a new invite. It's been closed to me for quite awhile.
     
  10. Penguissimo

    Penguissimo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    272
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010

    Feb 25, 2010
    272
    86
    53
    Just a quick tip: this isn't a function of Swype; all Swype has done is add a button that brings up Google's voice-to-text feature. You can access this feature through lots of keyboards and from the homescreen by long-pressing the search key ;)
     
  11. Triska

    Triska Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    112
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010

    Jun 5, 2010
    112
    6
    56
    I'm glad it now has voice to text! I used it quite often on the stock keyboard.
     
  12. Old Member

    Old Member Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,586
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010

    Mar 23, 2010
    2,586
    1,905
    313
    Male
    Teacher/Church Planter/ Basketball Coach
    Cincinnati
    I am a beta tester, but every time I get swype it never works. It installs and works once or twice but after that when I try swyping it circles with the blue ring and beeps at me ala when it expires. I don't know whats wrong but I quit it a long time ago because of this. I now use Swiftkey and am fully satisfied with it.
     
  13. euph_22

    euph_22 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,634
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    2,634
    595
    213
    Grad Student (Applied/Computational Math)
    Milwaukee, WI
    I know previous releases would do that after a reboot. There's a simple work around to get it working again (for anybody who's curious, just change the input method to something other than swype then change it back again), but I can see how people would quit over it. I'm checking whether they fixed the bug this time around...


    Nope. Still broken. That's annoying...
     
  14. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    Pretty awesome that I signed up for beta back in August and never got an invite. Oh well, I already had swype anyways ;)

    Edit: I spoke too soon, just got the beta email today..(removing foot from mouth)
     
  15. superchaos

    superchaos Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    486
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009

    Dec 13, 2009
    486
    36
    43
    Mira Loma, CA
    I just rebooted mine and Swype worked. I didn't have to change the input method. Still a problem on yours?
     
  16. dragonsamus

    dragonsamus Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    317
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010

    Feb 24, 2010
    317
    21
    38
    retail... bleh
    Sacramento, CA
    Nice! I just installed it and as of right now it seems to be working well. :)
     
  17. incredibull

    incredibull Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010

    Jun 24, 2010
    17
    0
    15
    MI
    it always had v to t...it was under the menu button
     
  18. droidnick

    droidnick Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009

    Nov 25, 2009
    23
    0
    15
    I have the Droid X which came pre=installed wiyh Swype, how would I upgrade fot these features if I don't already have them in my version ?

    thanks
     
  19. cartisdm

    cartisdm Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    327
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010

    Jul 11, 2010
    327
    22
    58
    Configuration Specialist
    Charlotte, NC
    are you all talking about the latest beta release from swype? Or are you talking about a new ported version from over at xda?
     
  20. AnotherHiggins

    AnotherHiggins Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    250
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    250
    55
    73
    NC
    The new beta. See the discussion here: http://androidforums.com/htc-incredible/232796-new-swype-version-now-availalbe.html

    Not on the official release. There were apks around that had been hacked to include voice-to-text. Now it's built in to the official release.
     
  21. airjordan223

    airjordan223 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    297
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010

    Apr 30, 2010
    297
    34
    43
    i've had the mic button for a while meow
     
  22. Scottd9000

    Scottd9000 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    71
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009

    Nov 19, 2009
    71
    3
    16
    I have the red version now with the mic button - love it!
     
  23. lovelyxmalia

    lovelyxmalia Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    May 11, 2010

    May 11, 2010
    17
    1
    16
    Verizon Wireless Sales
    Massachusetts
    Swype hasn't been working for me...something about the device is associated with another account and another time saying my registration ID doesn't match. This has been since the 2.2 update on my Incredible. I submitted a ticket to reset my ESN and still nothing back...I've been at them since Sept when the update came and Swype stopped working
     
  24. DenverRalphy

    DenverRalphy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    440
    Joined:
    May 1, 2010

    May 1, 2010
    440
    85
    53
    Aurora CO
    Only in apps like Handcent that offered that feature from the menu. The Menu button is a feature of apps, and has nothing to do with the keyboards (of any brand). Most apps don't think to add that feature (at least I haven't seen any other than Handcent).

    The Mic button on the Swype keyboard became available (officially) in their October/November beta release.
     
  25. Old Member

    Old Member Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,586
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010

    Mar 23, 2010
    2,586
    1,905
    313
    Male
    Teacher/Church Planter/ Basketball Coach
    Cincinnati
    Yes it's still a problem. If I reboot, it doesn't work. I know how to work around it by changing it and then changing it back. Just a silly way to have to use a keyboard. Since all of the problems with I switched to Swiftkey and it is my primary keyboard. When I first got my Dinc, I thought Swype was the best thing since sliced bread, with all of the development problems I have moved on. I thought I'd give it another go with this release. Oh well back to Swiftkey! :rolleyes:
     

Share This Page

Loading...