1. Are you ready for the Galaxy S20? Here is everything we know so far!

New to Android with a few questions

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by mikeym, Aug 24, 2012.

1. mikeym

mikeym Lurker

Hi,

I'm new to Android and I've got a few questions, maybe someone could help me out. I've got a new Samsung galaxy S II.

Firstly I was wondering if anyone could help me out with a keyboard recommendation for Android 4.0.3? I'm using Swype and like the interface but the keyboard itself seems to take up loads of space and the prediction bar popup creates a flicker.

Secondly, I'm a bit concerned about the apps on the market. For example looking for a compass returned loads of apps many with high stared reviews many of which seemed to want access to the phone calling feature, GPS, internet and other features. I'm used to Linux open source repositories where apps do what they say they do, so I'm wondering whether there're any reliable ideally spy and add fee repositories? Similarly are there any open source app repositories?

Thirdly, there are a bunch of Samsung apps on my phone are any any good? I've heard there is a Samsung app for securing your phone if lost, but I can't find it, anyone know what it's called?

Fourthly, I bought my phone online and while it arrived new, and with a warranty card, the warranty was not filled in, does anyone know if the warranty is likely to be valid or not?

Finally, can anyone tell me how to find out about rooting a Samsung - if there's no warrant - there's some apps installed by default I'd like to get rid of.

Thanks for bearing with me; sorry about the barrage of questions! I hope someone here can help.

1. Download the Forums for Android™ app!

Download

2. Liamo_210

Liamo_210 Android Expert

Swiftkey is a good keyboard

3. Stuntman

Stuntman Android Expert

There is a forum for specific devices. I would suggest you also ask there as well.