1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

New to Android World

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by JaxxiM, Aug 7, 2011.

1. JaxxiM

JaxxiM Lurker
    None

Aug 7, 2011
    Thank you in advance.... :) (Samsung Epic 4G)
    I am new to the Android World and am just learning the ropes. I installed AVG Mobilation Free, as per the recommendation of a professional. I found that app seemed to drain my battery pretty quickly. I uninstalled it and have installed another anti-virus app instead to see if that will help my battery life. I periodically gets text updates from a company. AVG tagged these as "suspicious". When I contacted them to see if there was someway I could list them as a "safe" text, I was told that wasn't possible. (Another reason I wanted to remove AVG.) I uninstalled AVG, as I wrote; but, I am still getting the "suspicious" notification tag from AVGmobilation when I receive those texts from that company. Does anyone have an idea why? Is there a hidden folder or something that I have to delete/remove? I do not want any conflict of anti-virus applications going on only to have my phone meltdown later. Any and all help is greatly appreciated! :D

Advertisement

2. pablo.station

pablo.station Well-Known Member
    None

Apr 22, 2010
    Work with blind kids
    Tucson Az
    I haven't used this app and honestly didn't even know AVG had a android app. Since I dont know much about it, the only thing I can think of is something didn't uninstall.

Go to:

Settings>Applications>Manage Applications

scroll through your apps list and look for anything that says AVG. Maybe a component of the app got left behind that is still causing you to get notifications even after uninstalling it.

3. Stringyquark

Stringyquark Member
    None

Sep 28, 2010