1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root New to Droid 2

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Skidoo03, Nov 1, 2011.

  1. Skidoo03

    Skidoo03 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011

    Mar 9, 2011
    58
    0
    15
    Hey all, I've been looking around on this forum at roms for the D2 because I am looking at buying one soon for something different, I currently have a Samsung Fascinate and had a Droid Incredible before that, both rooted. What roms/kernels and combos would you all recommend and which are most stable?
    Thanks in advance.
    [​IMG]
     

    Advertisement

  2. biggiesmalls657

    biggiesmalls657 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    326
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010

    Nov 30, 2010
    326
    30
    43
    Retail Clerk
    United States
    Well the bootloaders are locked so thats a no go on custom kernels.. but we have a rom thread section in all things root. You should try them all to find yours.
     
  3. skora

    skora Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    May 27, 2011

    May 27, 2011
    27
    6
    16
    I'll be watching this with you skidoo. I'm getting a D2Global Thursday upgrading from the LG Ally. Thanks for asking such a timely question.

    And Hi all in the D2 community! :D

    EDIT:
    So no kernels means no OC'ing, correct?

    And ROMs are basically UI/pre installed app selections or do they also offer different performance efficiencies?
     
  4. Skidoo03

    Skidoo03 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011

    Mar 9, 2011
    58
    0
    15
    So are you saying that you can't overclock or undervolt at all? I swear I've seen people post either screenshots or info were they have done both or at least overclocked their Droid 2's.
     
  5. JDunc

    JDunc Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    416
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    416
    37
    43
    Image Processor
    Arkansas
    We can OC. We have a couple of OC Apps and some ROMs have the option built in. Each ROM is a little different. CM7 is the one I've been using since our upgrade to Gingerbread.
     
    Skidoo03 likes this.
  6. Skidoo03

    Skidoo03 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011

    Mar 9, 2011
    58
    0
    15
    What about undervolt? Also do you know other roms that you can overclock with? Thanks for your response. :)
     
  7. biggiesmalls657

    biggiesmalls657 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    326
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010

    Nov 30, 2010
    326
    30
    43
    Retail Clerk
    United States
    hey skora don't i know of you! the ally is still a good device!
     
  8. skora

    skora Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    May 27, 2011

    May 27, 2011
    27
    6
    16
    I don't know how well I'm known as I've only had the ally since May and I'm more of a parasite than contributor in the phone arena. I really love the Ally. But getting a factory refurb D2G for $90 is an easy call to move on. Sell my ally and accessories and the upgrade will only cost me $25 or so.

    Sorry Skidoo for any confusion I may have caused. This was the first post I saw before spending some time in the stickies and seeing there are ways to OC. My first smartphone was a palm Pixi plus and that needed the kernel to OC and not just the govnah tool.
     
  9. JDunc

    JDunc Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    416
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    416
    37
    43
    Image Processor
    Arkansas
    Yes undervolt and OC. I use SetCPU profiles to control my CPU. You can OC with any ROM if that's what your asking. When OC came out I was all about OCing to 1.2 or 1.3. You will see a difference, but to be honest I'd rather stick with our 1.0 which is already fast enough and save a little bit of battery. It's fun to play with though!
     
    Skidoo03 likes this.
  10. skora

    skora Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    May 27, 2011

    May 27, 2011
    27
    6
    16
    Okay, so now that I have the phone in hand and have been digging through thread after thread of what seems to be outdated info, I have questions (SURPRISE!)

    This D2G has 2.3.3 already. So I can use Pete's Motorola one click root from the D3 link, correct? Pete's Motorola Root Tools

    Once rooted, I'm a little lost. I see ADB, bootstrap, and rom manager thrown around. I know I want to try all 3 of the available roms out, so the sound of a manager seems like a winner to me.

    From what I gather, CM7 has a built in manager. So if I install that first, can I then download the others and try them out?

    I haven't activated the phone yet. Just did the 4 corner bypass to play a little. At what point should this be activated or can I wait until after I've settled on a ROM?
     
  11. Skidoo03

    Skidoo03 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011

    Mar 9, 2011
    58
    0
    15
    No confusion and thanks for your responses!
    I've heard about Apex and Liberty and I'm looking for battery life, I also like the blur look. What process would you recommend I use to root it and I keep reading about SBF but I'm not sure what it is really so info on that would be a big help too! Thanks in advance!

    Also I keep reading how you can use Droid X roms with D2, are there only certain ones or do they all work?
     
  12. JDunc

    JDunc Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    416
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    416
    37
    43
    Image Processor
    Arkansas
    You can dial *228 I believe and you can activate that way. You can wait until you settle on a ROM I suppose. Use Droid 2 Bootstrap to install ROMs via installing the zip.
     
  13. JDunc

    JDunc Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    416
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    416
    37
    43
    Image Processor
    Arkansas
    Root via these tools:
    http://www.psouza4.com/droid3

    SBF is bringing your phone back to complete stock. It's a fresh start like you would be just opening the box and turning the phone on. It's nice to do this and if you get a bootloop this will save you. Info on how to do this is here:
    Motorola Droid 2: Full Update Guide - CyanogenMod Wiki
     

Share This Page

Loading...