• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

New to Evo, few questions

ir0ns1n

Oct 30, 2010
Arizona
Hello, I just purchased a Evo and have had it for a few days. Being I came from the crap fest that the Samsung Instict S30 was and I'm new to HTC/Android. So I'll get right to my questions:

1) Wifi; I know what it means and all but what does it actually do on the phone? I watched a youtube video that seemed to load much faster with wifi enabled (and connected to my wireless internet) but it could just be my imagination.

2) Battery; After a full day I tend to get close to killing a battery but still haven't yet. However I notice alot of people upgrading to Seidio Innocell 1750, 2200, 3500. I'm just trying to gauge what a good middle of the road size is. I would like to beable to use my phone and not have it go dead on me at night if I'm out and about (and some days I am usage heavy and most others I'm not). However I dunno how much of an improvement any of these are over the standard battery. Plus I've never had a phone that could actually do anything so I'm on my phone more now then ever. Also with the new batterys comes the larger back plate so is just better to go all out and get a 3500 battery and call it good? With a battery do I need a new charger set up as Ive heard the stock charger sucks...?

3) Also I guess a general question is I've hit the app store and messed with the phone for a while. But what else should I do? Just lookn for any cool ideas or apps you guys really like!

Thanks!
- Thomas

WiFi basically connects to the router inside a house, cafe, book store, etc and allows for faster downloads than 3G will give you. It is however, more strenuous on the battery than 3/4G is.