1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support New to Fascinate...help please

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Greyhound101, Oct 21, 2010.

  1. Greyhound101

    Greyhound101 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010

    Oct 21, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    Hi all, I'm new to the forum and new to the Fascinate. I'm dumb when it comes to smart phones. I previously used a LG Chocolate 2. My question is can someone point me to a thread or give well explained advice on what I should do to 'improve' the device? I've read a few threads that mentioned removing bloatware and adding this or that app to improve performance and whatnot. I definitely want to use Google maps but not sure on how to go about it. The salesman in the Verizon store was no help and was more interested in showing me what games to add rather than how to use the thing. Thanks to all in advance.
     

    Advertisement

  2. nitsuj17

    nitsuj17 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    4,648
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010

    Aug 16, 2010
    4,648
    654
    213
    NJ
  3. tonyb81

    tonyb81 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    507
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    Jan 19, 2010
    507
    88
    78
    First off welcome.


    Now, please don't jump the gun on trying to "improve" your phone. Play around with it first to see if you even need to do it. A lot of things people do here on their phones is based on their own preferences. Seeing that this is your first smartphone, I would suggest holding off on rooting your phone and doing anything else that requires root, until you are extremely well versed in how it all works.

    Many people here, and on xda forums have borked their phones trying to do stuff they didn't have a clear understanding of, including myself. I think a lot of people that are new to this stuff see seasoned people talking about their phones being more efficient since they've hacked into it, then the n00bs try this stuff for themselves and fudge up.

    As far as google maps goes, just go to the market, click the magnifying glass, type in google maps, and install.


    Back to what I said before though, try the phone out for a bit how it is, don't jump the gun and do stuff you may not be really knowledgeable about. I currently have my Fascinate just how it was out of the box with no changes, and I'm perfectly satisfied with it.
     
    nitsuj17 likes this.
  4. nitsuj17

    nitsuj17 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    4,648
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010

    Aug 16, 2010
    4,648
    654
    213
    NJ
    +1

    great advice, always best to get used to your phone and android in general before doing anything. its easy to get impatient (i always do), but you may find a non-rooted sf more than enough to meet your needs
     
  5. Kabob

    Kabob Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    523
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010

    Oct 7, 2010
    523
    40
    88
    Cartographer
    Birmingham, AL
    Agreed. My wife just moved from a Chocolate 2 to a Fascinate and she's loving her phone bone stock, but then she doesn't really do alot of techy stuff with her phone. I on the other hand am thinking of rooting (eventually) but I've a little more technically minded, have delved into PC overclocking, etc (although I know they're not similar).

    As for Google Maps, you don't even have to search for it, just go to Apps/All Apps/Top Free and it should be in the top 5 on the list.
     
  6. saps

    saps Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    5,092
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010

    Sep 12, 2010
    5,092
    504
    233
    Top Secret
    WA
    Welcome indeed.
    tony gave you some great advice above.
    The best thing to do honestly is just mess around with it. Frisco's thread is a nice one stop shop. After a few hours/days/weeks you will have specific questions where we can give you specific answers and thats really a lot better than trying to pre-tell you every last thing you may or may not need at all
     
  7. Greyhound101

    Greyhound101 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010

    Oct 21, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    I'm sure you guys are right. I wasn't really wanting to root it but rather get some tips and tricks on how to use it. I'm sure for the time being I'll leave it stock.

    I did install the Google Maps app and when I go to the Navigation app, it tells me my GPS is disabled. I click on 'OK' and it takes me to the location and security menu. Is there something there I'm supposed to have turned on to get it to work? Sorry for my ignorance.
     
  8. saps

    saps Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    5,092
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010

    Sep 12, 2010
    5,092
    504
    233
    Top Secret
    WA
    Yes you need to turn on/Green Check Standalone GPS Services to turn on GPS
     
  9. Kabob

    Kabob Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    523
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010

    Oct 7, 2010
    523
    40
    88
    Cartographer
    Birmingham, AL
    Unless you want to pay $10/mo make sure you don't click the Verizon Navigation box, the other two are fine though.
     
  10. saps

    saps Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    5,092
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010

    Sep 12, 2010
    5,092
    504
    233
    Top Secret
    WA
    Or take it to the next level and remove VZNavigator completely
     
  11. Kabob

    Kabob Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    523
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010

    Oct 7, 2010
    523
    40
    88
    Cartographer
    Birmingham, AL
    If you root that is...
     
  12. saps

    saps Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    5,092
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010

    Sep 12, 2010
    5,092
    504
    233
    Top Secret
    WA
    Yes of course if you root. But thats like saying if you have dessert. No you dont have to but come on :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...