• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

New to forum - want to remove factory apps

After waking up to a flashing alert stating I needed to make updates to programs I never plan on using (but can not get rid of), I stumbled upon this site during a search. I'm pretty computer savvy, but don't even know the first thing about cell phone programming, so when y'all refer to "freezing", "rooting" or anything abbreviated, my head spins. (I am thoroughly convinced some of you get off on being the geekiest too...) Why does my phone need rock band, tunewiki, let's golf or rhapsody? I want a phone that fits me and is organizable like the desktop on my pc. Are there options to create folders in my apps, at least? I could label all of the junk that came on my phone as such and stow it away. Where does an absolute beginner start? I want to stick it out with my droid, but I refuse to let samsung and verizon tell me I need their partnered programs installed on my $600 machine.

I'm using a samsung charge and it's a 2.3.6.

Any input on where to start would be great.

Hi Jules and welcome to AF!!
I think you will get more help if you share your questions to the Samsung geeks!! :)
go through this link and enter the forum of your phone.
Android Phones - Android Forums
I do agree that some apps which cannot be deleted can be quite annoying and use too much space. So the best thing is to root you phone which basically means getting Admin rights. The only catch is that it will void your warranty and plus, it is a bit risky. So please make sure you read thousands of threads and watch hundreds of youtube videos before you consider doing it :)

Upvote 0
Hello and welcome to the forums - thanks for joining!