1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root New to root..Have an issue w/ 6.0

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by suge white, Aug 31, 2010.

  1. suge white

    suge white Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010

    Jun 1, 2010
    24
    1
    36
    Sunny/rainy south Fla
    I am new to the root scene. I followed How to Root the HTC EVO 4G with Froyo 2.2 [Video Walkthrough] | The Droid Demos to root. I can get 2.2 on but I cant get Cyanogen 6.0 on the phone. :mad: I gave up late last pm.

    I also noticed that when I go into the end process of video Part two I cant get the step after it scans for them pmcimg file/update and then hit no it should take me to bootloader but instead goes right to

    FASTBOOT
    RECOVERY
    CLEAR STORAGE

    Any ideas

    Thx
     

    Advertisement

  2. tsipa

    tsipa Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    636
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    636
    111
    93
    NYC
    Try this, it might help.

    Link: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=752832
     
  3. djR3Z

    djR3Z Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    8
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010

    Jun 27, 2010
    7
    15
    8
    Just select RECOVERY from that menu and you'll be able to flash CM6 :)
     
  4. suge white

    suge white Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010

    Jun 1, 2010
    24
    1
    36
    Sunny/rainy south Fla
    I tried that. It looks like its going to load but ivget an error message. I the message it says something about bootloader.........

    Is hboot bootloader?
     
  5. suge white

    suge white Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010

    Jun 1, 2010
    24
    1
    36
    Sunny/rainy south Fla
  6. tsipa

    tsipa Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    636
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    636
    111
    93
    NYC
    Yep, just put the new PC36IMG file on the root of your SD card and delete the old file. After the update, you should be able to flash CM6.
     
    suge white likes this.
  7. suge white

    suge white Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010

    Jun 1, 2010
    24
    1
    36
    Sunny/rainy south Fla
    I got it! Thank you.... How do I get the Google apps on now? All of my contacts are there. Also I don't see the market...Yes I am a noob...
     
  8. exBBuser

    exBBuser Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    921
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010

    Jun 6, 2010
    921
    123
    93
    Miami,FL
  9. KewlKat007

    KewlKat007 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    19
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010

    Jul 4, 2010
    19
    0
    15
    IT
    Boston, MA
    Ok seems like your all set.

     
  10. tsipa

    tsipa Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    636
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    636
    111
    93
    NYC
    There is a seperate Google Add-on file that you need to flash along with CM6 if you want Google apps.

    Link: http://mirror.kanged.net/gapps/gapps-hdpi-20100817-signed.zip
     
  11. suge white

    suge white Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010

    Jun 1, 2010
    24
    1
    36
    Sunny/rainy south Fla
    That will give me the market and Google stuff?
     
  12. tsipa

    tsipa Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    636
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    636
    111
    93
    NYC
    Yep... I just took the download link from the CM6 thread over at XDA that was quoted earlier.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...