1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root New to rooting, help with finding the right ROM.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by nochance, Feb 20, 2011.

1. nochance

nochance Newbie
    None

May 25, 2010
    Total noob here...

Last night I downloaded ADW Ex, and Beautiful Widgets. I set the icon dock to 5, with my app button in the middle. I also renamed a bunch of shortcuts. Wow, what a difference over Sense. It's so much cleaner!

So this lead me on a journey to clean up all the other things Sense. Then it struck me, why not root it.

I want to remove all remnants of HTC Sense and Sprint bloatware, and return to what it most likely stock 2.2 (really haven't seen a stock setup). BUT I like the options that ADW/BW give me to make tweaks here and there. Is CM 6.1 for me? I'd try CM 7, but I'm reading some people have GPS issues.

Advertisement

2. BigPapaBang

BigPapaBang Newbie
    None

Jun 11, 2010
    Anaheim, CA
    The hardest part is rooting itself. Switching roms is so easy, you can actually try them all! Different roms suit different people so flash a couple and see which one you like best. I'm currently using koni's elite series I but I'm gonna give the series II beta a whirl as soon as i get out of bed.

3. Xtremedays

Xtremedays Android Expert
    None

Apr 5, 2010
    Male
    Auto Technician(for now)
    Follow the Rooting for Dummies guide stickied at the top of the Forum and you will be rooted in no time. Read through the procedure and the steps following rooting and it will tell you how to make your nandroid backup and has a link to an XDA list of current roms. Just make sure that after you root, you make a nandroid backup. Also make one before you make any changes to your phone in case there is a problem or you don't like the change so you have a good version to go back to. you will be an addict like the rest of us in no time ;)

4. justa4door

justa4door Newbie
    None

Feb 11, 2011
    Health Insurance