1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root New to this phone and htc but not new to roms and flashing.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by markzombie82, May 12, 2012.

  1. markzombie82

    markzombie82 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    350
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012

    Feb 19, 2012
    350
    28
    43
    Well i will start with my wife got one of these cause she dropped her optimus in milk:-(
    So aside of read everything and be carefull. Does any one have a favorite rom they are running? And are there any Dont Do This things i should know about?
    Also what is this marvel stuff ? if she has the wildfire s for virgin Mobile what in the marvel universe does she have?
    So let me have it all the noob questions im going to ask let me know.
    Also noticed that the root guide here in the stickies is out of date. Hers has gingerbread so what the simplest method for getting straight into a custom rom? And is this the forum where devs are posting or is there another some were else?
    Also is rom manager fully supported? Ive never had a phone that was.
    Thanks in advance.
     

    Advertisement

  2. jubair07

    jubair07 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    May 2, 2012

    May 2, 2012
    56
    17
    38
    All your answers are given here :

    http://androidforums.com/wildfire-s-all-things-root/486494-htc-wildfire-s-all-things-root-guide.html

    If you havent root it, then none.

    Marvel is the brand name for Wildfire S. Go into HBOOT to find out what sort of phone you have.

    HBOOT: Shutdown phone.Hold volume down and press power.

    Not sure what you mean by out of date.The latest Ginger Bread 2.3.5 rooting procedure is given on this board.

    http://androidforums.com/wildfire-s-all-things-root/486494-htc-wildfire-s-all-things-root-guide.html

    Devs do post here, but most posts here. http://www.xda-developers.com/
     
    markzombie82 and sisu like this.
  3. sisu

    sisu Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    154
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011

    Are you on VM USA?
    I can only tell about VM USA wildfire S, since that's what I got.
    When you chose ROM's make sure it matches your country/carrier, since the roms are not compatible between some carriers wildfire s phones.

    When I use custom roms, I have to use roms built for marvelC (not marvel), and also make sure it is CDMA (not GSM).

    I use rom manager (the most up-to-date from Google Play, without any issues. As recovery I use a modified CWM Recovery version 5.0.2.6 (5.0.2.8 doesn't work properly on my phone)
     
    markzombie82 likes this.
  4. markzombie82

    markzombie82 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    350
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012

    Feb 19, 2012
    350
    28
    43
    Thanks guys for the response i actually hit h boot on accident my wife was freaked i was like oh you found h boot cool. But ive been cheching out htcdev.com got registerd amd am now trying to download hct sync for he so i can get it done smoothly with out a hickup is the dev thing the way to do it or are they going to keep track of what person uses it an just say no to any warranties issues that might come up for any reason at all? I want to unlock it the most quiet way possible.
     
  5. jubair07

    jubair07 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    May 2, 2012

    May 2, 2012
    56
    17
    38
    If its S-ON, you have to use HTCDev.com and when you try unlocking, they will ask your phones identifier token and hence you will loose warranty.
     
    markzombie82 likes this.
  6. markzombie82

    markzombie82 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    350
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012

    Feb 19, 2012
    350
    28
    43
    What if i use revolutionary method?
     
  7. jubair07

    jubair07 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    May 2, 2012

    May 2, 2012
    56
    17
    38
    I dont know about revolutionary method, but as long as you not doing it with HTCDev.com, HTC wont know you unlocked officially.

    But it all depends on your phone. Is it GSM or CDMA (Marvel or MalvelC).

    Is it S-ON or S-OFF.

    Based on this, you will have to decide what sort of rooting procedure you should take.
     
    markzombie82 likes this.
  8. CafeKampuchia

    CafeKampuchia Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    2,543
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011

    Dec 8, 2011
    2,543
    2,787
    333
    Male
    Pursat, Cambodia
    This statement is only true for GSM. There is a software exploit for CDMA that allows S-OFF.

    markzombie82, Virgin Mobile only does CDMA so you for sure have a MarvelC (C=CDMA). Check HBOOT to confirm.

    The easiest way to root MarvelC is getting S-OFF. Unlocking the bootloader takes a lot more time. Follow this guide:
    http://androidforums.com/wildfire-s...-roms-team-marvelusc-everything-you-need.html

    The other advantage with this route is that you fill out no disclaimers waiving your warranty rights.

    Once you have S-OFF or unlocked the bootloader, it doesn't matter which rooting method you use.
     
    markzombie82 likes this.
  9. markzombie82

    markzombie82 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    350
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012

    Feb 19, 2012
    350
    28
    43
    Well i went the htcdev rout and already signed away warrenty but tried to download all that stuff and it was taking forever. So i had to cut it short for work. :-(
    Do you really need htc sync to get the job done ?(yes) for the drivers from what i can tell.

    i already had android sdk installed. Do you need the updated one i have revision 13.
    It said it would take three days to download htc sync so i need to go to my parents house and use there high speed net.
    Windows updates arggg.

    Edit: wow sd exts are so needed with this phone. Looks like im going to get some experiance in that area finally.
     
  10. CafeKampuchia

    CafeKampuchia Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    2,543
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011

    Dec 8, 2011
    2,543
    2,787
    333
    Male
    Pursat, Cambodia
    If you haven't updated the bootloader and sent htc your phones identifier token successfully then your warranty is still intact. Switch to the s-off method and finish the job. No big downloads required.


    Link2SD is the way to go. Post once you get the phone rooted and I'll point you in the right direction.
     
  11. markzombie82

    markzombie82 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    350
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012

    Feb 19, 2012
    350
    28
    43
    Thanks i will do that. I wont be able to really set down and do anything soon i work two jobs but wed night im off and Saturday so dont expect alot of progress. I will be reading on breaks and lunch to bone up before attempting.
    I have linux too if there is a linux way thats easier.
    Edit: the download links in the gold card method are messed up not all of them though but the xda thread that he linked to at the end of that thread doesnt show any down loads it just says htcdev now unlocks bootloaders :-(

    So does any one have the correct adb usb drivers they could mirror i think with those i wouldnt need the htc sync software. Please tell me if im wrong on that one.
    Edit again maybe i will use linux.
    Ill think on it
     
  12. markzombie82

    markzombie82 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    350
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012

    Feb 19, 2012
    350
    28
    43
    Well i got tobthe pint of updating my firmware got that done now im lost well i got two ir three days to research maybe i will redownload and start over i hate on screen key boards. Spelling as well as some beer i love beer. Ha
     
  13. Caro332

    Caro332 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    912
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012

    Feb 22, 2012
    912
    238
    93
    You'll have to use Windows. It doesn't work on Linux

    As for the goldcard, I can't help you. I don't have MPCS so I don't know where the links are. Try posting on the xda forum. Maybe they will reply with a different link.
     
    CafeKampuchia likes this.
  14. CafeKampuchia

    CafeKampuchia Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    2,543
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011

    Dec 8, 2011
    2,543
    2,787
    333
    Male
    Pursat, Cambodia
  15. markzombie82

    markzombie82 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    350
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012

    Feb 19, 2012
    350
    28
    43
    I have virgin moblie.
     
  16. markzombie82

    markzombie82 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    350
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012

    Feb 19, 2012
    350
    28
    43
    Yeah s off achieved now whats a good kernel for stock? I think im going stock custom kernel for a while i need to flash cwm recovery whats the latest? And alittle help with a good thread for referance as to how? Sorry for the noobnes to hboot and fast boot ive customized four phones and have never used those resources before.
    Maybe i should say how do they work can i open cmd and get to the right directory and type flash image "name" crap i dont know exactly what to type i should by now though. Well looks like its back to the books aka google.
     
  17. Caro332

    Caro332 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    912
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012

    Feb 22, 2012
    912
    238
    93
    The thing with CDMA is that there aren't that many roms out yet....I think maybe the link Cafekampuchia gave you might be giving some roms you can try....
     
    CafeKampuchia likes this.
  18. markzombie82

    markzombie82 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    350
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012

    Feb 19, 2012
    350
    28
    43
    Not really looking for links guys but thanks. (I figured it out xda) not a big fan but ok;-)
    The zergrush exploit is suposed to work right tried it but my sdk is out of date and my PATH is set to the one i already have so got to update its taking a while with my triumph tethered (i need to do the prl swap on it)
    Also tried super one click got the same error message that my sdk version was out dated. Every thing was feazing. Not cool almost thought i vegitablized it.
     
  19. markzombie82

    markzombie82 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    350
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012

    Feb 19, 2012
    350
    28
    43
    Got alittle further bu still no sucsess in rooting i updated my sdk a d still no root e even deleted the path for the old sdk even after i up dated looks like the new firmware needs dev help unless im missing something does any one have a proven method for 2.3.4 (im scracthing my head here)

    Super one click says adb server is out of date killing same with zergrush wish i knew what that ment:-(
     
  20. CafeKampuchia

    CafeKampuchia Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    2,543
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011

    Dec 8, 2011
    2,543
    2,787
    333
    Male
    Pursat, Cambodia
  21. Caro332

    Caro332 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    912
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012

    Feb 22, 2012
    912
    238
    93
    What if you update to 2.3.5 first and then try???
     
  22. markzombie82

    markzombie82 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    350
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012

    Feb 19, 2012
    350
    28
    43
    3.3.5 is what i got. I at first typed it wrong
     
  23. markzombie82

    markzombie82 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    350
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012

    Feb 19, 2012
    350
    28
    43
    i think what is going on is maybe a driver issue the hct sync drivers seem to not work htc sync cant find my phone so im sunk untile i figure out how to overide them or delete the stock ones. this is a little imbarasing. i wish there was a one step app like the intercept. :-(
     
  24. Caro332

    Caro332 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    912
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012

    Feb 22, 2012
    912
    238
    93
    Try uninstalling HTC sync any HTC driver you find on your software list. Then try installing again.
     
  25. markzombie82

    markzombie82 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    350
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012

    Feb 19, 2012
    350
    28
    43
    Ill try and it looks like htc sync has an update maybe the update will fix it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...