1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support New user here - some questions

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Megaxyu, Feb 16, 2012.

  1. Megaxyu

    Megaxyu Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011

    Apr 27, 2011
    30
    0
    35
    Toronto
    Hi all,

    I finally got my new Samsung Galaxy SII yesterday (Bell Mobility), and as I started playing around with it, I got a few questions. This is my first Android phone btw so total noob here.

    First off, when I make a contact a favorite (star next to name) it adds the name into the favorites list. Said contact has 3 phone entries, where one is set as default. I would like to be able to go into favorites, tap on the contact and for the phone to start dialing instead of taking me to the screen where I select which specific number under the contact I would like to dial.

    Also I only started playing with this phone but noticed I cannot remove some of the bell applications (like the bell pvr). Is the only way to get rid of it is rooting? Also if there are any Bell users maybe someone could chime in and explain to me some of the apps and which ones I won’t need. I found there are like 3 different GPS apps, are they different good bad.

    Oh and finally I also would like to know how to set up my Battery indicator to show %, as right now it only has a small battery icon.

    Sorry for rambling on,

    Thanks in advance.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,541
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,541
    17,003
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    Welcome to the GS2! :)

    You can't do quite what you want because the Contacts list is used for email, SMS etc too. However if you 'long-press' on a contact, a pop-up will appear with the option to call the default number at the top.

    Correct.

    That's not available with the standard Samsung UI, I'm afraid. It can be changed but again it requires root access as the necessary graphic files are in a protected area of the filesystem.
     
    Megaxyu likes this.
  3. Megaxyu

    Megaxyu Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011

    Apr 27, 2011
    30
    0
    35
    Toronto
    So there is no quick app that would allow me to do this either? All I want is a more accurate representation of how much battery life I got left. Maybe I can do this from some other menu?
     
  4. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,541
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,541
    17,003
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    There are any number of widgets for your home screens that can do it, yes. To alter the notification icons however requires root.

    Settings/About phone/Status.... second from top. :)
     
  5. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    39,252
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    39,252
    39,995
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    As slug said, there is not a way to do this from within the contact list. You can, however create a folder on your home screen and place direct-dial shortcuts in there. So the action would be tap folder, tap shortcut. Phone dials the number. To set a direct dial shortcut, long-press an empty area on your home screen, select shortcut>direct dial, then drop it on the folder. :D

     
    Megaxyu likes this.
  6. Megaxyu

    Megaxyu Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011

    Apr 27, 2011
    30
    0
    35
    Toronto


    So does that mean I can't hide an Icon with the phone the way it is right now? I would have to go wit ha different Launcher (back to rooting).

    Also going back to the GPS apps. I am still confused. Stock with the phone without me installing anything I have the following Icons
    - GPS Navigation (icon looks like a small map with a blue pin in it)
    - Maps (top view of map with blue circle on it)
    - Navigation (Blue arrow pointing up)

    Sorry for all the silly questions and thanks for all the responses.
     
  7. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    39,252
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    39,252
    39,995
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    With TouchWiz (default samsung launcher) all you can do is rearrange the order of the icons, but you don't need to root to use an alternate launcher. The most popular are ADW, GO and Launcher Pro. They all have different features so you'd have to find one that suits your needs best, if you want to go that way.

    The first sounds like a carrier based app. Maps is Google maps and the blue arrow is Google navigator. Just so you know, to use any of them you'll need an active data connection to download the maps so it can plot the GPS coordinates.

    Without questions there would be no answers. Ask what you'd like, that's why we're here. :D
     
  8. Megaxyu

    Megaxyu Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011

    Apr 27, 2011
    30
    0
    35
    Toronto
    So how do I go about getting a different launcher? Does that work like an app or would that be more like having two OS packages on one system. As in to go from one to the other would I need to restart the phone or how does it work?
     
  9. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    39,252
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    39,252
    39,995
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    I use ADW EX ... you can find the free version here.

    ADW Launcher

    It installs like an app. The first few times you perform an action you will be asked if you want to use TouchWiz or ADW. If you check the "use by default" box it will no longer prompt you and use your choice indefinitely. If you don't check the box, it will ask you every time. If you do check the box and then decide you want to switch, go to menu>settings>applications>manage applications. Scroll to ADW Launcher (or whatever launcher you are using) and tap on it. Choose the "clear defaults" option and then you will be prompted again. Or, if you decide you don't like that launcher, simply uninstall it and it will revert to the default launcher.
     
    Megaxyu likes this.
  10. Megaxyu

    Megaxyu Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011

    Apr 27, 2011
    30
    0
    35
    Toronto
    Could you explain a bit further what a launcher is exactly and what it will affect, as I mentioned above this is my first android smart phone so I am a bit lost.

    Also another question - I see I have two ways of inputting text when I go to the Language and keyboard > Select input method. I could go with either swyp or regular keyboard. Is there a quicker method to change between the two? Ideally I would like to always use swyp in portrait and regular keyboard in landscape.

    Again I apologies for the heap of questions :eek:
     
  11. Casual Pete

    Casual Pete Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    546
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010

    Apr 27, 2010
    546
    84
    78
    England


    Long press on the text area then select input method and you will get a choice of keyboards.;)
     
  12. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    39,252
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    39,252
    39,995
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    There's far too much to go into with a custom launcher because the do so much. Watch this and it will give you an idea of the ability you have.

    ADW Launcher EX BEST ANDROID LAUNCHER ? - YouTube

    Install it and give it a try. There's no harm if you don't like it and then remove it.

    As far as the keyboard, your input method will stay the same in both portrait and landscape. I don't know of a way to switch automatically.
     
    Megaxyu likes this.
  13. ajmount88

    ajmount88 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011

    Oct 2, 2011
    78
    10
    18
    UK
    If you want to keep it looking teh same way as before, but just hide unwanted apps, you could always place them all in a folder in the applications menu. That way you just have one entry that you wont use, rather than lots.
     
  14. Russell Ng

    Russell Ng Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,384
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011

    Sep 29, 2011
    1,384
    166
    143
    Male
    Engineer
    Kuala Lumpur
    1) I use Go Launcher. Just go to market and search for it if you want. Download and install. It has lots of extra widgets that you can install as well. I also have ADW in my phone :D

    2) Like Lunatic said, you can create shortcuts to the contacts for quick dial on the home screen itself. You can also set up quick dial for selected contacts, but to use that, you still need to go to the dial pad and long press on the number.

    3) I use widgetsoid as well. You can find it in the market. I use it to set up toggles for all sort of stuff, including contacts. You have choice to set up the button to show available numbers for selection or just to call direct. It also have the battery indicator in percentage. I am sure there are other similar apps like widgetsoid.

    4) If you already set a default number in the contact, just swype to the right at the contact list. It will dial the contact using the default number straightaway. Swype the other way is sms.

    Finally, you can feel free to try the available apps, and if you don't like them, just uninstall. Welcome to the world of android.

    Cheers
     
    Megaxyu likes this.
  15. Megaxyu

    Megaxyu Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011

    Apr 27, 2011
    30
    0
    35
    Toronto
    Thank you all for the replies ... I see there is a ton of ways to do what I want in different manners.

    While playing with the phone I also ran into a couple more questions:

    If I have my screen set to Automatic Brightness it seems to want to default to a very dim screen is this normal ? It does not seem to change all that much just keeps the screen dim.

    Another question is about widgets: The phone came stock with a widget taking up half a screen with two Icons in it. What is the difference between a widget and an Icon? why would I want to use a widget ?
     
  16. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    39,252
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    39,252
    39,995
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    That's both the beauty and frustration of Android. With great power comes great responsibility. ;)

    There will always be a delay with auto-brightness, otherwise the screen would constantly be adjusting with every shadow and reflection. It would make the screen flicker, so it averages brightness over several seconds and then periodically adjusts to changing conditions. If your use is generally in similarly lit environments, you can set screen brightness manually and adjust with a widget when needed.

    A widget will give you access to live information right on your home screen. It can also directly interact with the OS to make adjustments or change settings. A shortcut is just a link to an app.
     
  17. Russell Ng

    Russell Ng Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,384
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011

    Sep 29, 2011
    1,384
    166
    143
    Male
    Engineer
    Kuala Lumpur
    Widgets shows more things. Example is like the weather widgets. You can set it up to show different cities and refresh at certain durations. With the weather widget in your homescreen, you then can see the ever changing weather when you look at it. Use the email widget and you will be able to read title of the email of the homescreen and you would know when you receive an email.

    Icons are just shortcuts. Its really like a PC with widgets and icons. Does different things. Also, what widget with 2 icons are you talking about?

    As for brightness.... I didn't bother with the auto brightness. Just set it to 25% which is bright enough for me normally. If you need to have it brighter like in bright sunshine, just go to the notification bar, long press on it and swype it to the right. It will brighten the screen without going to the settings. Left is dimming. Either that, set up a toggle on the homescreen.

    Cheers
     
  18. Megaxyu

    Megaxyu Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011

    Apr 27, 2011
    30
    0
    35
    Toronto
    Could you clarify this... which one is the notification bar and what do I long press on :eek:

    Also the two Iconst in the Bell widgit are an album cover for LMFAO with a button for "Sexy And I kno..." I am assuming this is to access the song and the second one is a game pad with the button "Eternal Legac... Game loft". From what I gather its an app and music store through bell, I don't see why I would want to use it, is there any harm in removing it ?
     
  19. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    39,252
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    39,252
    39,995
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    The notification bar at the top of the screen, but this only works if auto-adjust brightness is turned off.

    Removing it from your home screen does nothing to your phone. Long=press the widget and drag it to the trash can. You can always put it back later.
     
  20. naith_kk

    naith_kk Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #174
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    187
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011

    Jul 26, 2011
    187
    29
    73
    You need "Automatic Brightness" option turned off first found at:
    Settings | Display | Brightness

    Youtube video showing how it's done
     
  21. Russell Ng

    Russell Ng Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,384
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011

    Sep 29, 2011
    1,384
    166
    143
    Male
    Engineer
    Kuala Lumpur
    Forgot to mention. Widgets can be resized. Long press on the widget. Make sure your finger doesn't move. A yellow box will appear around the widget and you can resize it.
     
  22. Megaxyu

    Megaxyu Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011

    Apr 27, 2011
    30
    0
    35
    Toronto
    So just to clarify my main screen would be like a desktop on a computer with shortcuts to applications (be they icons or widgets). Any such apps or widgets are always stored elsewhere and having them on the main screen is just for ease of access?
     
  23. Russell Ng

    Russell Ng Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,384
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011

    Sep 29, 2011
    1,384
    166
    143
    Male
    Engineer
    Kuala Lumpur
    Pretty much :D

    Apps can be found in the app drawer. Press the app drawer icon on the dock to go to the add drawer. If you want short cut to any apps in the homescreen, then long press on the icon in the app drawer and you can copy the short cut to your homescreen.

    Certain stock apps like the original launcher (called TW launcher) have no icons in the app drawer. You can only find those in the settings/manage application under the all tab. You can't uninstall stock apps unless rooted.

    Cheers
     
  24. Gearu

    Gearu Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    783
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011

    Apr 13, 2011
    783
    86
    78
    Neon Clock GL is a live wallpaper that can show you how much battery % is remaining. You can disable all the other things going on to save power and basically turn it into a static wallpaper (you can set your own background too).
     
    Megaxyu likes this.
  25. Megaxyu

    Megaxyu Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    30
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011

    Apr 27, 2011
    30
    0
    35
    Toronto
    Well me embrace of android continues today :)

    I have placed all my friends in the phonebook as friends. I often have to txt all of them of plans or something and its convenient to be able to do it in one go. The problem is if I choose to txt a group and click select all It will tell me that the max amount of selected people is 10. Is there any way of getting passed that? or are my only options getting rid of some friends ? :)

    Also does anyone have any idea of the data usage per day if I keep the 3g going all the time (I have the weather widget and gmail)
     

Share This Page

Loading...