1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support New User need help

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by luvmykids, Jul 15, 2014.

  1. luvmykids

    luvmykids Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014

    Jul 15, 2014
    2
    0
    5
    retired
    Oregon
    I am unable to delete pics from previous owner! there are 300 pics of swimming pools. How do I get rid of these things? No trash icon.

    It is using data too fast. I NEVER get online unless I am using wi fi but in past 24 hours it has gone up 7 mb and I haven't even used it....

    I don't know how to move pics into folders to stay organized.

    Having hard time organizing downloaded videos (which I only do from home on wi fi)

    I like this phone okay but I am so frustrated with the inability or knowledge to delete unused icons/pics and managed data usage. The other things I am slowly learning.
     

    Advertisement

  2. amarie82

    amarie82 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #37
    Points:
    553
    Posts:
    1,861
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013

    Sep 16, 2013
    1,861
    2,049
    553
    Female
    tech support
    okc
    Welcome! The pics what folder are they in? Was a factory reset not done before you got the phone? If your a small data plan and want to save that you can turn your data off in settings connections more networks mobile networks n unchecked data. It won't use it unless its on WiFi or you turn it on!
     
    luvmykids likes this.
  3. luvmykids

    luvmykids Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2014

    Jul 15, 2014
    2
    0
    5
    retired
    Oregon
    RE pics: I would have assumed so that a reset would have been done. But now, I have a folder, which I think is being rec'd from the internet somewhere, that contains 300 pics of swimming pools and as I am still learning how to use the gallery, they keep coming up. I am an anal person who needs things tidy and I hate I have this person's data in my gallery!
     
  4. amarie82

    amarie82 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #37
    Points:
    553
    Posts:
    1,861
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013

    Sep 16, 2013
    1,861
    2,049
    553
    Female
    tech support
    okc
    Is there gmail still on the phone?
     
  5. heat57

    heat57 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    731
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010

    Dec 29, 2010
    731
    311
    113
    Consultant
    Birmingham, UK
    It is relatively straight forward to resolve this. First, I would suggest a factory reset as it sounds that this was not done. The reason for this is not just the previous owners data will definitely disappear, but also, it would clear out any crap left behind on the system partition he may have had installed and therefore make the phone overall feel speedier.

    If you don't want to go that route, as you would have to safe your data (either external micro SD or your PC) and then transfer it back again afterwards, at least you need to delete any Google accounts associated with the previous owner. His/your Google account will automatically sync with the server whenever a change is detected. You will find the accounts in Settings > General > Accounts > Google and there you should find either the previous owners or yours or both. If he has left his then you need to delete it.

    If you did find another account then go to the "Application manager", where you will find 4 tabs from left to right and you want to select the last on the right-hand side called "All"; here scroll down to "Gmail" and tap on it then tap "Clear cache" followed by "Clear data", this will delete anything in Gmail (accounts, settings, etc). Then go to "Google Account Manager" and do the same again, then "Google Play Services", "Google Play Store" and last "Google Services Framework"; NOW REBOOT your device. When rebooted it will ask you to sign into your Google account and it will now also sync any apps you have in your account, sing into your Gmail account and so on.

    There should be no trace of the previous owners pictures. In addition, you can choose how Google saves any data (including pictures) by selecting in the Accounts section under Google which data is synced by ticking or unticking the relevant item. You can also choose to backup your photos, which take the most data to sync with Google servers for backup, over Wifi only if you got to the "Google+" app > Settings > General Settings >Auto-Backup and there you have a slider for turning the service on or off, as well as Backup Settings where you can choose a radial button for either "Wifi or mobile network" or "Over Wifi only"; obviously the latter will ensure you don't risk any backup happening whilst on a 3G data connection.

    That's it and al said and done I'd recommend the factory reset.
     

Share This Page

Loading...