1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support New user with some trouble

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Fairygoodmommy, Feb 25, 2011.

  1. Fairygoodmommy

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011

    Feb 25, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    Hello,

    I just purchased my 1st Android - It is the Huawei Ascent M8600 and I am having a hard time with it.
     

    Advertisement

  2. la sal

    la sal Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    108
    Posts:
    859
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011

    Feb 19, 2011
    859
    95
    108
    Male
    Waukesha, WI
    What's the problem?
     
  3. Fairygoodmommy

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011

    Feb 25, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    Hello,

    I just purchased my Ascend yesterday and I am so lost. This is my first smart phone and I have no idea what I am doing.

    #1 - I can not seem to connect with the WI-FI in my house. I have no idea what is wrong with it. I just keeps saying that it can not connect. I even tried to do it manually.

    #2 - I am having so many problems trying to set up my email. I am trying to set up my gmail account and can't seem to do it.

    #3 - I would actually like to set up my email account to my (Google Apps - Blogger) email address but I can't seem to do that either.

    HELP
     
  4. Jazziette

    Jazziette Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    2,053
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010

    Dec 30, 2010
    2,053
    790
    233
    Under the Rainbow
    Hi and welcome to the Ascend Forum. :)

    Don't get discouraged just yet. We've all been there and done that! LOL If you look at the sticky Guide at the top of the forum (actually the link is in my signature) you will see the download for the manual. First try to find the answers to your probs in there. If that doesn't help then look for an appropriate thread that might address the specific problem you are having and post your question there.

    Someone will be along to help you! This is a very helpful and friendly group and you have come to the right place!

    :)
     
  5. Fairygoodmommy

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011

    Feb 25, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    Thank you... but I didn't really see anything in the main post to help me with my exact problems.
     
  6. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,631
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,631
    70,445
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    The wifi in your house - is it password protected?

    Also - and this is true even tho it makes little sense - we often find that resetting the router suddenly causes it to recognize Android phones. I've seen this reported as a cure for more than a dozen different phone models.

    GMail - every so often, the google cloud gets busy. If possible, try to sign in to gmail via your web browser on your desk/laptop. Once that works aok (if signed in automatically - sign out and re-sign in again), then try to set up your GMail.

    Setting up other email accounts does work, but maybe best we tackle the above two problems first.
     
    Jazziette and septembersrain like this.
  7. septembersrain

    septembersrain 句_句 Smurfing Awesome
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    1,948
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    1,948
    1,394
    343
    Female
    Esurance - Insurance Agent
    San Antonio, TX
    Just from my experience, I couldn't set up the Gmail account until I had established my wifi. My LG Optimus and my friends LG Optimus both had the same problem. Had to have wifi to do the first establishment of Gmail (After first set up, I could use it with just Metro pcs 1x). Might be a metro issue. Not sure though. I also had to hard reset my router too in order to get my wifi working with the phone.
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  8. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,631
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,631
    70,445
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Many of the carriers really only connect through their own proxy servers, so it's not impossible for something like you describe with that first Gmail setup - way odd, to be sure - but certainly there's a tech reason that might happen.

    I defer to anyone with superior knowledge of Google's protocols - I could be wrong.

    Or - it might be that some processes aren't established until after that first network connection - a kinda Catch-22 in the phone's config - maybe.

    Interesting feedback!

    PS - I've had two phones where I had to hard reset the router for a week every time I came home with the wifi already on. After that - no problems. I'm guessing it's an overpriced router with cheap software.
     
    Jazziette and KOLIO like this.
  9. septembersrain

    septembersrain 句_句 Smurfing Awesome
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    1,948
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    1,948
    1,394
    343
    Female
    Esurance - Insurance Agent
    San Antonio, TX
    I am considering starting a thread asking people if they were able to set up Gmail without a wifi connection. So far, Everyone I know hasn't been able to. These are different phones too but, All of them are on Metro pcs service. Where would be the best place to post this sort of question?
     
  10. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,631
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,631
    70,445
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Android Lounge - Android Forums

    Make it a survey, if you want, add in carrier names you know, and ask how many people could set up gmail without wifi - and make it multiple choice, so they can vote yes/no and also indicate carrier.

    Just a suggestion - make it how _you_ like. ;)
     
    Jazziette and septembersrain like this.
  11. danaj

    danaj Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    723
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010

    Dec 20, 2010
    723
    245
    93
    Female
    Tucson, Az
    When I bought my Ascend the cricket rep said you had to be in a wifi area to set up your gmail.
     
  12. Gmash

    Gmash Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    613
    Posts:
    6,912
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011

    Feb 3, 2011
    6,912
    3,197
    613
    Male
    neither Here nor There
    I set mine up without wifi on cricket. Maybe the 1x isn't a fast enough data connection to set up?
     
  13. efeigenbaum

    efeigenbaum Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    297
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011

    Jan 30, 2011
    297
    45
    63
    Male
    Lincoln, NE
    Just throwing in my two cents. I'm with Cricket and I got my Ascend at the end of January and I have not had one problem with it. I was able to set up Gmail without a hitch and it has worked perfectly using 3G. Also, I haven't had a problem with wi-fi (when I've used it). Maybe I just got lucky and got a phone w/o any bugs. :)
     
  14. Tokenpoke

    Tokenpoke Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,110
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    3,110
    1,156
    313
    Male
    Arborist (tree man)
    Miami, FL

    My Gmail set up and worked fine ootb over 1x
     
    septembersrain and EarlyMon like this.
  15. SLakia

    SLakia Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011

    Feb 27, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    Omg Im also a New user of the Huawei Ascent M8600 now the problem is that at first i can send and get messages from my friends but now i can only send messages to them but for some odd reason i don't get messages back some pls help meeee!!
     
  16. septembersrain

    septembersrain 句_句 Smurfing Awesome
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    1,948
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    1,948
    1,394
    343
    Female
    Esurance - Insurance Agent
    San Antonio, TX
    Also, I've been having issues with receiving any messages myself. I have Metro Pcs. I am not the only one having this issue though. Just make sure to ask your friends if they made sure the message was sent to you. Sometimes you've got to re-send a message if it does not go through the first time. I always check all my message statuses. ^^.
     
  17. Jazziette

    Jazziette Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    2,053
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010

    Dec 30, 2010
    2,053
    790
    233
    Under the Rainbow
    Did you try this?


    1.1 How do I connect to the internet via Wi-Fi?

    Under the condition that both Wi-Fi and the wireless network can be used, you phone will use Wi-Fi to connect to the network. When a Wi-Fi connection is established, an icon will appear in the notification bar. When the Wi-Fi network cannot work properly, your phone will use the wireless network to establish a connection.
    Step 1 Touch: Settings->Wireless & networks, and then select Wi-Fi.
    Step 2 Touch: Settings->Wireless & networks > Wi-Fi settings, and then select Network notification. If there is an available Wi-Fi connection nearby, an icon will appear in the notification bar.
    Step 3 Slide down the notification bar and touch the notification, then all available WLANs will be visible.
    Step 4 Choose one of the WLANs that you would like to connect to, and then touch Connect.
    Step 5 At this time, you can use the WLANs to surf the internet.

    When using Wi-Fi, the user can set the static IP address. You can set the static IP address by doing the following: In the Wi-Fi settings interface, press the Menu button, select Advanced, and then set the IP address under IP settings.


    It's really not difficult at all. If you already have your gmail account set up with Google online then all you have to do is open up your Gmail on your phone and click on 'add new'. Then type in your gmail address and your password and using the trackball scroll down and click ok. You can add several gmail accounts and switch back and forth by clicking on 'menu' 'accounts' and then select the account you want. It will remember your passwords so you do not have to retype them each time.


    You should be able to add that email address as well as it will also be a google account. If you are talking about the url you can bookmark it instead and if you are logged in it should open right up for you.

    Sorry I couldn't offer you much help sooner and you probably already have it figured out thanks to these other great posters here. But just in case you don't...I hope this helps you!

    Cheers and welcome to the Ascend Forums!

    :)
     
  18. RJFait

    RJFait Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011

    Feb 11, 2011
    45
    18
    18
    See "Biography"
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    I was able to set up everything without using wifi. It didn't occur to me to start using the phones wifi on my home network (to avoid the 1GB cap on my "unlimited" plan (it's also much faster than 3G)) until after I'd had the phone for a week or so.

    Is a parenthetical within a parenthetical proper grammar?

    Also, Google is pretty smart. I've been using a live/hotmail account for years and have used it for signing in to YouTube and Blogger. When I was setting up the phone, I set that address for email and signed up for a new gmail account for the gmail setup in the phone. Now, I can sign into any google service with either of my email accounts on the phone or on my PC.
     
    septembersrain and Jazziette like this.
  19. septembersrain

    septembersrain 句_句 Smurfing Awesome
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    1,948
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011

    Feb 10, 2011
    1,948
    1,394
    343
    Female
    Esurance - Insurance Agent
    San Antonio, TX
    I believe you are able to get the full 3G compatibility of the service and phone. Since Metro Pcs only generally gets 1x, I believe this to be a huge issue with having enough data to complete the Gmail set up. I've had this problem with both of my Metro phones, A few of my friends phones I helped them set up, and even a Metro Representative trying to set it up for a customer. I've never really spent a lot of time thinking about it but, I'm actually being very thoughtful over this. I'm wondering if Cricket will ever come to Florida, I'd love to have it. I believe it's got the same pricing and more than a comparable service (Better actually)...

    P.S My teacher used to use parenthesis a lot. She always multi-used them as well. Don't know if it's proper or not but, It can get awful confusing. LOL
     
    RJFait likes this.
  20. RJFait

    RJFait Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    45
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011

    Feb 11, 2011
    45
    18
    18
    See "Biography"
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    With all the political b.s. going on here, I'm usually embarrassed to be from Arizona. But, at least we have Cricket 3G I guess. Woohoo.:D
     

Share This Page

Loading...