1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root NEW WAY TO ROOT through fastboot kinda

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by asadullah, Feb 20, 2011.

  1. asadullah

    asadullah Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    448
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010

    Aug 24, 2010
    448
    253
    88
    Ironworker
    casselberry
    So I was messing with my girls phone fixing some stuff and I told her I wanted put my rom on there blah blah blah long story... Anyways I corrupted the boot, system, and recovery image and got stuck in bootloader (thank God she was sleeping) anyways I found out that like the optimus v that the bootloader is unlocked. I went ahead and flashed the system, boot and recovery images.

    Okay so how does this relate to root and why did I put kinda in there? Simple with this method you can install a custom recovery without going through the hassle of using z4 or the new method it should work on the 2.2.1 update. It does work with the 2.2 update for sure. Now for why I put kinda. I don't know how to get into bootloader mode without corrupting the images.

    Anyways here's a zip with everything you need I'm going to keep trying to find out how you get into bootloader that way I can finalize this.
     

    Advertisement

    WiteLyte, richiedaze and rawthentic like this.
  2. richiedaze

    richiedaze Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    150
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010

    Dec 24, 2010
    150
    43
    43
    New York
    I have known for a while that the bootloader is Unlocked. I discovered this with rawthentic and andyo70 trying to flash a modified recovery images months back. I have looked everywhere for a way to use a key combination to restart the phone into the spl.:mad: The only know way to me, is the same as mentioned above. You must have a corrupted boot image or erase the image completely for the device to default into the spl mode. Most newer phones call the spl image 'SAFE MODE". I did not release this information because of the fear of you guys/gals bricking your phone. This is why I have all the images on the Lg Optimus M Development thread. Since I do not have the phone yet, I will not speak on the subject yet. NOT! :D lol

    On the Android SDK, you have certain binary's that help make the SDK and the Rom.
    The binary I wish to speak of, is the mkyaffs2. Since it is open source, many distributors edit their mkyaffs2 binary. There for you can not use a standard unyaffs binary to open the image made with the modified mkyaffs2 binary.

    If you compile the mkyaffs2.c you can take your current file system and create your own yaffs2 image. If you compile unyaffs.c then you can unyaffs your image. This is how nandroid backs up and restores your images.

    Images can be flashed from the recovery or through the bootloader. Recovery comes locked from the distributor. But the Second Partition Loader(spl) aka bootloader is unlocked from this distributor. This is how the upgrader/downgrader flashes images on this phone.

    If you guys are brave enough to venture in this route knowing the consequences please post your questions on this thread. Some of you might not know what I am saying on the paragraphs above. Which at one point in time, we were lost as well. Don't hesitate to ask questions.

    Thank you asadullah for bring this information forward to the community. You have been a great help to everybody on this section of the forums.
     
    rawthentic likes this.
  3. asadullah

    asadullah Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    448
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010

    Aug 24, 2010
    448
    253
    88
    Ironworker
    casselberry
    I don't have as much time as I used to but I'm thinking that if we corrupt the boot image it'll put you in bootloader. Flash a recovery nandroid and get the good system image. Another person corrupt the system image get into bootloader flash recovery, nandroid get the good boot image. enough for a rom and new way to root. If it came down to it.
    I'm glad they didn't pull an htc and lock the bootloader
     
  4. asadullah

    asadullah Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    448
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010

    Aug 24, 2010
    448
    253
    88
    Ironworker
    casselberry
    Almost forgot I agree about the button combination I don't think there is one to get to bootloader. We should look into enabling at least the adb command to enter bootloader. It works on the v and I'm guessing the s
     
  5. andyo70

    andyo70 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    538
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010

    Dec 2, 2010
    538
    173
    93
    Male
    Bum. LOL!
    Glassboro, NJ
    "Safe Mode" is obtainable on an Optimus M but does not result in the loading of the bootloader.

    By pressing and holding the "Menu, Vol. Down and Power" button to power on the phone and continue holding them until you feel the phone vibrate for a short period.

    It will take you to the lock screen like a normal boot but in the lower left corner of the screen will be the words "Safe Mode".

    I have no idea what changes while the phone is in this state. It doesn't seem to do anything but remove whatever widgets I had on the home screens to not load. Also appears to stop any apps that are not either Google or Metro branded to not load at startup.
     
  6. asadullah

    asadullah Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    448
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010

    Aug 24, 2010
    448
    253
    88
    Ironworker
    casselberry

    yep any apk that's not in system/app will not run or be shown. I'm thinking that's it's like when you put windows in safemode.
     
  7. jntdroid

    jntdroid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    254
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010

    Aug 18, 2010
    254
    35
    43
    CFP
    Is there anything that's flashable for the V along these lines? I'm currently stuck in custom recovery on the V, and I'm thinking the only way out is to flash something that sounds like what you're talking about for the M...
     
  8. asadullah

    asadullah Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    448
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010

    Aug 24, 2010
    448
    253
    88
    Ironworker
    casselberry

    Yes flash a custom rom any rom don't forget to wipe
     
  9. WiteLyte

    WiteLyte Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011

    Dec 6, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    wheres the link???....
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...