1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Newb question ....v.WiFi

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by RedWingsFan, Jun 29, 2010.

  1. RedWingsFan

    RedWingsFan Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    365
    Joined:
    May 10, 2010

    May 10, 2010
    365
    108
    68
    If you have WiFi enabled and also 3g, what is used for data if you have wifi access?

    I plan on turning my wifi on when I'm at home and work because I have wifi access. Does 3g have to be turned off in order for wifi to take precedence?
     

    Advertisement

  2. sag7392

    sag7392 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    195
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    195
    24
    38
    I.T. Phone Technician
    Kansas City, MO
    I use my Wifi connection at home as well and from what I understand, when you enable Wifi, your 3G connection is pushed to the background. I don't think its actually turned off, unless you manually turn it off...I could be wrong, but I'm sure someone will chime in. Also thanks to another forum member (Twosted), I was hipped to a neat little app that will switch from 3G to Wifi (once the Wifi credentials are saved by the app) and vice versa, so that you don't have to do it. It works about 95% of the time and I really like this app. The app is named Y5 and it's in the market.

    Hope this helps.
     
  3. talz13

    talz13 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010

    Mar 23, 2010
    111
    1
    36
    I think wifi will take precedence over 3g if you don't have an active connection going at the time you make the switch. I was doing a video chat on fring last night on 3g, backed out to the home screen and turned wifi on and went back to fring, but wifi didn't end up connecting until I hung up the video call.

    I use timeriffic to manage my wifi (as well as my ring/vib. modes). I have it turn off wifi throughout the day (can't get on company wifi w/ personal property), and have it turn on wifi at the time I usually get home.
     
  4. Rigmaster

    Rigmaster Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,584
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    1,584
    220
    143
    If you enable wifi, it will assume you want wifi as the preferred connection (you should configure Evo to your home wifi connection). In your home, it will recognize wifi and connect automatically. Once out of range, it will go back to 3G automatically. If you go into another open network, it will notify you but should not go into it automatically since that wifi is not configured.

    You do not need to toggle on/off wifi or 3G for this to work, but it does leave both wifi and 3G running at all times. That drains battery.

    When I'm at home and not expecting to leave, I turn off 3G so the Evo does not check for 3G signal. Even if you manually turn off 3G, when Evo does not detect wifi signal, it automatically turns 3G back on.

    Bottomline - turn off 3G or wifi when you know you won't be using them. If you're going in an out, leave both on. If you're going to be out all day, turn off wifi.:D
     
  5. sag7392

    sag7392 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    195
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    195
    24
    38
    I.T. Phone Technician
    Kansas City, MO
    @Rigmaster

    Yeah, but Y5 does that for you without having to leave Wifi on all the time. If you already have the connection remembered within that app, you don't need to leave Wifi on...it will turn it on once you are in range and when you're out of range, it will turn it off. With this app, I just leave 3G on and that's it.
     
  6. Rigmaster

    Rigmaster Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,584
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    1,584
    220
    143
    Ok. I'm reserving space for apps and items I really want/need until save-to-sd comes in Froyo. I can live with a few button pushes that don't take more than a few seconds. Time is valuable, but not that valuable unless you're that close to expiring.:D
     
  7. sag7392

    sag7392 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    195
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010

    Apr 14, 2010
    195
    24
    38
    I.T. Phone Technician
    Kansas City, MO
    @ Rigmaster

    OMG really...this device has plenty of space for apps. Not going to get into a pissing contest here...just trying to help a user out.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...