1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

newbie - few questions cant find answers to

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jb1468, Mar 9, 2011.

1. jb1468

jb1468 Lurker
    None

Mar 9, 2011
    Hi folks,

I am a newbie to smartphones, and have had my HTC desire for a week now. I am more than delighted with all aspects to date, especially the battery life as I read so many horror stories about it. I get between 30-48 hours depending on use and I am more than happy with that!

I have been reading the online manual, various forums (hundreds of posts) and reviews to get to know my phone and to get the best out of it. Over 90% of my original questions have been answered as a result of this research but I have a few final questions which I hope someone can help me with.

Re Syncing

Advertisement

2. SUroot

SUroot Android Expert
    None

May 25, 2010
    UK Technical Lead; Desktop Support
    Riddlesden, West Yorkshire, UK
    only answering a couple.

1) Task killing - no need. forget about this.
    2) Cache -internal memory is limited. Some apps take up a lot of space. Clearing cache can reduce this. menu>Settings>applications>manage applications. Menu > sort by size. You can see the biggest offenders. if you need to, open the app in this menu will present you with a clear cache button.

3) WCDMA mode means "3G" only, so the draw back is, no 3G reception, no data at all. But yes, switching between 2G and 3G networks will use power.

3. Rastaman-FB

Rastaman-FB Android Expert
    None

Sep 11, 2009
    UK
    Background data is a battery drain if you don't have auto sync on then the only time you'll need it is accessing the market. Task killing is a nono and only supported by the uneducated. There are programs like juice defender that can control certain sync states but if you have root you can use Tasker.

4. jb1468

jb1468 Lurker
    None

Mar 9, 2011