• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Newbie Here... A few questions... BE EASY ON ME!

djwindsor

Lurker
May 12, 2010
Hey Folks... I was researching the new HTC EVO and I am amazed at the capabilities of this new device. I currently am using an iPhone 3G and was contemplating getting the next gen iPhone when it comes out this June (no date yet but most probably the end of June). I am very neutral with respect to allegiance to one platform or another. I do not like Windows based smart phones as their OS is not as stable as I'd prefer.

I have NO problem with Sprint as my carrier because ATT has so many issues with call dropping (happens to me ALL the time). I've used Sprint all over the US and I have no idea why people knock the carrier. I think they're fine in the major cities.

Here are my concerns which I need some help with. I love the iPod interface my iPhone has and I have NO idea what type of interface there is in these Android phones.

Questions...

Will I be able to sync with iTunes or should I just sync with whatever software that Sprint offers?

Will I be able to migrate my music over to the HTC (no DRM on any of my songs)?

Are there kits available that let you hook up your HTC phone with your car stereo to play music (like iPod integration)?

Can I tether the HTC Evo to my laptop via bluetooth or USB?

These are my main concerns, other than that, I'm definitely sold. I really like Sprint's price plans. Very simple and straightforward and much less money than ATT. I am currently paying $101 (with tax) every month and I venture to guess I'll be saving around $20 overall per month which is a decent piece of change.

Thanks in advance for your answers. I'll check back tomorrow. In the meantime, I'm have a lot to learn about this Android system!!!

1. Apple doesnt allow anyone to play with their itunes. So no syncing. but there are different methods of getting music on the phone.