1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Newbie in trouble - Download Mode Freeze

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by baily24, Jan 1, 2013.

  1. baily24

    baily24 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013

    Jan 1, 2013
    24
    1
    16
    Male
    advertising
    Chicago
    Hey Guys,

    As I learn my way around Android the hard way :D, I ran into a little trouble and looking for some help. I rooted my LG Spectrum with no issues the other day, phone has been running fine (actually faster).

    Today downloading apps became an issue as it was saying file package not valid and then I powered down the phone. Now it only loads up until the LG logo appears.

    I have been combing the site and looking for answers and was able to hold down the Vol buttons and Power (plug in) to get to Download mode but thats where Im stuck.

    Would appreciate any help to get the phone back on
     

    Advertisement

  2. blueracer90

    blueracer90 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    249
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2012

    Sep 26, 2012
    249
    44
    43
    Student
    Florida
  3. baily24

    baily24 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013

    Jan 1, 2013
    24
    1
    16
    Male
    advertising
    Chicago
    Thanks!. How do I know if Im stuck in CWM?
     
  4. blueracer90

    blueracer90 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    249
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2012

    Sep 26, 2012
    249
    44
    43
    Student
    Florida
    Did you use the bootloader unlock tool after rooting your phone?

    Do you remember what method you used to root your phone?
     
  5. baily24

    baily24 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013

    Jan 1, 2013
    24
    1
    16
    Male
    advertising
    Chicago
    I downloaded a file called LG_Spectrum_ICS which I believe is a one click rooter, it was actually pretty simple. I dont believe I used a bootloader unlock tool after. I just downloaded the file to my pc, connected my device and hit windows run and it did its thing, rebooting the phone a few times etc.

    Thanks again for helping me out, Im completely lost
     
  6. baily24

    baily24 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013

    Jan 1, 2013
    24
    1
    16
    Male
    advertising
    Chicago
  7. blueracer90

    blueracer90 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    249
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2012

    Sep 26, 2012
    249
    44
    43
    Student
    Florida
  8. baily24

    baily24 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013

    Jan 1, 2013
    24
    1
    16
    Male
    advertising
    Chicago
    Sounds good, Im downloading all the files and will give it a shot and report back.

    Thanks
     
  9. blueracer90

    blueracer90 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    249
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2012

    Sep 26, 2012
    249
    44
    43
    Student
    Florida
    How did it work out for you?
     
  10. baily24

    baily24 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013

    Jan 1, 2013
    24
    1
    16
    Male
    advertising
    Chicago
    The .cab file took awhile to download, but I got it and went through all the steps and ran into this.

    LG Update site - "Updating is not possible any longer due to fatal error while the LG Mobile phone software update" .

    Am I officially bricked?
     
  11. blueracer90

    blueracer90 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    249
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2012

    Sep 26, 2012
    249
    44
    43
    Student
    Florida
    Did the KP500 tool download completely?
     
  12. blueracer90

    blueracer90 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    249
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2012

    Sep 26, 2012
    249
    44
    43
    Student
    Florida
    The .cab should be 570MB the kp500 tool is 1173kb. I messaged Neph who originally posted this method to inquire about the error you got.
     
    baily24 likes this.
  13. baily24

    baily24 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013

    Jan 1, 2013
    24
    1
    16
    Male
    advertising
    Chicago
    I think it did, I extracted the zip file and then selected the KP500-utils-EN which started the update and then failed, there are two EN's should I have used the other one.

    Should I redownload the KP500 (LG Tools) zip file?
     
  14. baily24

    baily24 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013

    Jan 1, 2013
    24
    1
    16
    Male
    advertising
    Chicago
    Thanks Blueracer, I really appreciate you staying with me on this.
     
  15. blueracer90

    blueracer90 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    249
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2012

    Sep 26, 2012
    249
    44
    43
    Student
    Florida
    is the phone still able to go in download mode? did you remove sd card?
     
  16. blueracer90

    blueracer90 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    249
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2012

    Sep 26, 2012
    249
    44
    43
    Student
    Florida
    The other KP 500 tool is in french so don't use that unless you know french better than english lol
     
    baily24 likes this.
  17. baily24

    baily24 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013

    Jan 1, 2013
    24
    1
    16
    Male
    advertising
    Chicago
    If download mode consists of holding down the vol buttons while plugging in the USB, I get the little window that says download I can, I have not removed the SD card
     
  18. blueracer90

    blueracer90 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    249
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2012

    Sep 26, 2012
    249
    44
    43
    Student
    Florida
    before you do anything you are supposed to remove your sd card. so turn your phone off, remove your battery pull sd put battery back in and then do the volume buttons to get download mode again

    Make sure the .cab file is in the same directory as the kp500 tool
     
  19. baily24

    baily24 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013

    Jan 1, 2013
    24
    1
    16
    Male
    advertising
    Chicago
    When I put it in the same directory you mean folder so C:\KP500 (Folder)? I will give that a go.
     
  20. Neph81

    Neph81 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,399
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012

    Mar 3, 2012
    1,399
    823
    213
    Male
    Wisconsin
    You're missing an internet connection or you're not typing the path name in correctly. You can not have a space any where in the path or file name. If you do, it will error out. If your path looks correct, then make sure your firewall is letting the LG update tool go through to the internet.
     
  21. baily24

    baily24 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013

    Jan 1, 2013
    24
    1
    16
    Male
    advertising
    Chicago
    No luck, same error came up. Below is the log as well.

    17:44:51 : [C:\LGMobileUpgrade\LGMOBILEAX\BYR_Client]
     
  22. blueracer90

    blueracer90 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    249
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2012

    Sep 26, 2012
    249
    44
    43
    Student
    Florida
  23. blueracer90

    blueracer90 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    249
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2012

    Sep 26, 2012
    249
    44
    43
    Student
    Florida
    Did you get the verizon unified drivers?
     
  24. baily24

    baily24 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2013

    Jan 1, 2013
    24
    1
    16
    Male
    advertising
    Chicago

    Thanks Neph,


    I extracted KP500 folder to my C:\ drive and then imported the .cab file (ICS) one into that folder so the path should be c:\KP500\vs920zv7_15.s7_15.p58014.r5.cab per the instructions


    I also just disabled the only firewall running which is the stock windows one and my internet connection is good.

    I will retry with the firewall shutdown.
     
  25. Neph81

    Neph81 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,399
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012

    Mar 3, 2012
    1,399
    823
    213
    Male
    Wisconsin
    That all looks correct. Coming from a linux backround, I capitalize anything that is originally capitalized in the file name, but that should not be an issue in windows.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...