• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help Newbie - Many questions on getting a new phone to work

mtsarpilot

Feb 4, 2011
I'm a brand newbie - just got my Samsung Galaxy S (Captivate) yesterday and spent most of the night configuring and trying to get things to work. I am a computer geek and electrical engineer, so I dig in and try to nail it myself before asking for help, but on these topics I can't find anything in the forums and can't seem to solve it. I hope folks can help me out on how to address each of these.

1) I have many issues. I hope it's OK to put them all into a single message instead of slamming the forum with loads of messages. Here's a number of issues / questions:

2) USB Connection to PC - When I connect my device and select Mass Storage Mode, my PC recognizes the device, adds the new hardware, and allocates 2 drive letters. Yet when I open the drive it tells me "Please insert disk into drive E:". I've installed the Samsung's drivers (which seem to not really even apply) and tried their Kies software (which does not see the device either). I've tried this on multiple computers. Any suggestions?

3) My e-mail and calendar are sync'd from my office's exchange server. The calendar ends up 2nd in the calendar list and all the entries have the dark purple background. Black text on dark purple is unreadable. Is there any way to change the color selections on the calendar boxes?
The calendar app defaults to "My calendar" when I add a new item. How do I change the default to one of my other calendars (my work exchange in this case)