1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Apps Newbie question - app not running in AVD?

Discussion in 'Android Development' started by horseman_uk, May 8, 2012.

1. horseman_uk

horseman_uk Newbie
    None

Apr 25, 2011
    Hi all,

Firstly, thanks for any help anyone can offer me with my foray into Android app development. I've been a Java developer for many years although I've been in management circles in recent years so a little rusty.

I've got Eclipse (Indigo) installed and I've used Eclipse extensively in the past so nothing too new to me there. I've installed the Android SDK and all the associated packages via the SDK Manager. All the icons have appeared in Eclipse and I can start an Android Project so it all looks good. I've created two AVDs - one 4.0 and another 2.1.

The trouble I'm having is getting my app (ANY app) to run in the AVD. I've followed a number of tutorials on how to do this and they are all very similar. I create a Run Configuration naming my Project and the default activity (created at the same time I created the Project) and associated it with one of the AVD (appropriate to the Project version.)

The AVD starts and eventually I get the full Android home screen, as expected, but that's it. Nothing else. I've watched a video on YouTube showing what should happen and my console output isn't the same. I don't get the bit about installing the apk.

This is the console output:
    [2012-05-08 11:05:49 - MyFirstDroid] ------------------------------
    [2012-05-08 11:05:49 - MyFirstDroid] Android Launch!
    [2012-05-08 11:05:49 - MyFirstDroid] adb is running normally.
    [2012-05-08 11:05:49 - MyFirstDroid] Performing com.burmania.MyFirstDroidActivity activity launch
    [2012-05-08 11:05:50 - MyFirstDroid] Automatic Target Mode: Preferred AVD 'API7_AVD' is not available. Launching new emulator.
    [2012-05-08 11:05:50 - MyFirstDroid] Launching a new emulator with Virtual Device 'API7_AVD'