1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General newbie question

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by NickDroid86, Apr 18, 2010.

  1. NickDroid86

    NickDroid86 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    509
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    Apr 18, 2010
    509
    21
    83
    Largo, FL
    Hello everyone, I'm new here this is my second post. Just curious how I can tell which software i have in my eris. Also what do all these terms mean, such as rooting? If I need to update how would I be able to do that ota? Thank you all.
     

    Advertisement

  2. ThorSkaagi

    ThorSkaagi Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    215
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010

    Mar 30, 2010
    215
    12
    38
    Denver, CO
    For software I assume it's Android 1.5 for you. Go under Settings < About Phone and it should be there.

    When Android 2.1 comes out, it will prompt you to update automatically.
     
  3. graphitedv

    graphitedv Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    88
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009

    Dec 5, 2009
    88
    24
    18
    Chicago
    If it is a new phone, you have 1.5. You can check by going into Settings--> About This Phone.

    Rooting gives you the ability to install ROM's that are custom made as well as remove apps. It also voids your warranty... I speak from experience on this.

    OTA is not available yet and when it comes, the phone will let you know.
     
  4. NickDroid86

    NickDroid86 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    509
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    Apr 18, 2010
    509
    21
    83
    Largo, FL
    Cool thanks do they have a drop date for the os release? I know from experience with my blackberry that Verizon likes to wait till last... BTW what's a cupcake, I assume not hostess?
     
  5. n1ghtwish

    n1ghtwish Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    113
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010

    Feb 17, 2010
    113
    4
    36
    Las Vegas, NV
    haha "cupcake" is the "code name" for Android 1.5
     
  6. OfTheDamned

    OfTheDamned The Friendly Undead
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    9,692
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009

    Oct 29, 2009
    9,692
    8,365
    813
    Right Behind You
    No solid dates on the OTA yet. Lots of speculation though.

    Cupcake is the name that Google gave the 1.5 OS. They like to use dessert names for some reason. 1.6 was donut. I guess someone was hungry.
     
  7. ThorSkaagi

    ThorSkaagi Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    215
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010

    Mar 30, 2010
    215
    12
    38
    Denver, CO

    :) I laughed so hard at that!!!
     
  8. NickDroid86

    NickDroid86 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    509
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    Apr 18, 2010
    509
    21
    83
    Largo, FL
    Lol I will never speak of its name "cupcake" I will sound like a fairy. Thanks for the input anything else I should know?
     
  9. Ty07allstar

    Ty07allstar Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    206
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010

    Feb 8, 2010
    206
    7
    36
    Can't you just unroot it before you take it back?
     
  10. smacky

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,844
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    2,844
    299
    163
    I r00fled at this. The last person I heard use this was probably me..in high school. It was such an effective word. I'm bringing it back.
     
  11. jreed2560

    jreed2560 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    3,922
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009

    Dec 31, 2009
    3,922
    439
    183
    Male
    Sales Specialist/Wireless Consultant
    Tennessee
    @NickDroid sounds to me like you have a lot of reading to do.

    for rooting info All Things Root (Eris) - Android Forums and be sure to read the first posts in all the stickies

    for info on upgrading to 2.1 leaks http://androidforums.com/htc-droid-eris/51383-upgrading-2-1-tutorial.html

    And if you want to stay on 1.5 and need someone to talk to Frisco is always here :D

    Also Caddyman and Ofthedamned are great about answering questions, but do a search before asking. Chances are someone has thought of it before. And welcome to the forum Nick
     
  12. NickDroid86

    NickDroid86 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    509
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    Apr 18, 2010
    509
    21
    83
    Largo, FL
    Thank you very much, I do have a question I did the searching yesterday before I joined, I'm trying to set up my mobile banking via web. When I get through it halfway the web page says length required and I cannot continue. Any ideas?
     
  13. AndroidFantic

    AndroidFantic Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    140
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010

    Mar 28, 2010
    140
    6
    36
    School
    Houston,Tx
    try using a wifi connection think that there is something up with using 3g to set it up or just re install the program and see if that fixes it



    Sent from my Eris using Tapatalk
     
  14. NickDroid86

    NickDroid86 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    83
    Posts:
    509
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010

    Apr 18, 2010
    509
    21
    83
    Largo, FL
    I tried WiFi with the same results but can't just redo it cuz I had it on a prior phone and have to start fresh
     

Share This Page

Loading...