• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Root Newbie Questions

cjcross22

Android Enthusiast
Jan 27, 2011
So like the title says I am a newbie to the droid phones and I have a few questions I would like to ask about them.

I got my droid sometime around Christmas and love it, until I found this site and now I want to really see what its potential is.

System version: 2.3.340
Android version: 2.2.1

^not sure if that is needed but oh well...:D

Here goes...

I have read up some about rooting (and looked at this a lot http://androidforums.com/droid-x-al...d-x-root-guide-updated-3-30-pm-1-24-11-a.html) and think I want to try it, but really do not want to brick my phone heh.

1) Is it terribly hard to do, do any of the one click apps still work?
2) What are the chances of me actually bricking my phone?
3) Do I have to worry about verizon catching me "rooting" my phone?
4) Do I need to be a computer wiz to actually benefit from rooting?
5) Do the pro's outweigh the con's? (seems like it to me, especially w/ the brick fix)

Sorry for all the questions, newb status here ;), I am sure more will follow. Should I go ahead and dive into this and find out what I have been missing?

Thanks in advance for any help you guys can offer..

1) Is it terribly hard to do, do any of the one click apps still work?
2) What are the chances of me actually bricking my phone?
3) Do I have to worry about verizon catching me "rooting" my phone?
4) Do I need to be a computer wiz to actually benefit from rooting?
5) Do the pro's outweigh the con's? (seems like it to me, especially w/ the brick fix)

Answers

1. Not really =) if you use Z4Root
2. None if you follow every step and we are here to help too :D
3. Never
4. Not that I know =)
5. I love my phone more now that when I first saw DX was coming out I am not going back to original moto system.

Reactions: cjcross22
Upvote 0