1. Are you ready for the Galaxy S20? Here is everything we know so far!

Newbie rootie issues - /very confused/

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by GingaEnigma, Apr 17, 2012.

1. GingaEnigma

GingaEnigma Lurker

Hello fellow Androidians,

I am a newbie and I'm stuck. I have no idea what's wrong and I am not sure how to fix it... thus, hoping someone out there who is more knowledgeable can help me please...

I have a Asus Transformer TF101, it was running stock ICS and it was rocking, I loved it (no root).

However, the need came to try and get a 3G internet stick working on it as a month long temp measure for my GF who'se (cr)laptop is broken. Thus I attempted to root, and for all attempts and purposes I got it right. I put on a build of the older 3.1 built for 3G usage using CWM straight out of the OS. However, despite all this I couldn't get 3G working. So now I am trying to root again to something else.

However, I am having issues.
    1. I cannot get any apk files to install (I get the dreaded "parsing error"). I've tried a thousand different solutions (ie, install off SD card and a host of others) as well as loads of different app installers, none of which find any apk files, and even if selecting manually give me the same error. And yes, I certainly checked the box for using unauthorised programs in settings.

2. Booting into recovery mode doesn't work (I was using CWM 1.6 something something). I get stuck on the loading screen and all it says is this:
    Android WW_epad-user bootloader < e> released by "WW_epad-8.2.3.9-20110423".
    Checking for Android OTA recovery

Booting Recovery Kernal Image

..and then moves no further

3. It now doesn't boot at all, when turning on I get the Eee Pad loading screen and nothing else. Holding power rests it but again it's down to the same thing.