• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help Newbie to apps :( help please.

bengi88

Lurker
Nov 10, 2010
Hey guys,
I apologise if theres a similar thread.
I am a complete beginner to the whole smart phone and apps things and theres a few things im a bit worried about.
Ive just bought myself a SE Xperia X10 on contract, with a 750mb internet usage monthly and im really paranoid.
I know these questions will probably seem really stupid, and quite laughable to some, but im paranoid about going over my usage allowance and so i was wondering about apps using the internet, such as facebook and how much they will clock it up, and im never sure if there still running. Its hard to put this in to words, i hope someone understands what im trying to say, cheers in advance.
Also how do you get rid of that annoying apps window on the desktop as ive decided to not use timescape.

Bengi

Hello there and welcome to the forum!

You can download an app like 3g Watchdog from the market which keeps an eye on your usage. The only thing you need to find out from your carrier is what your data refresh day is in the month as this can be different from your texts/calls refresh date. You then set the app up with the date it refreshes and it keeps an eye on your usage. Whilst on the phone to your carrier ask them how much you have used to date and you can put that in too so it keeps you accurate til it refreshes.

Anything on your homescreen that you want gone, just long press on it til it vibrates slightly then drag it to the bottom where a little dustbin will appear and 'drop' it in to the bin.

To reload any apps that you get rid of and want back you just long press on them in the app drawer and the drawer will close automatically and then you just drag it into position.

To reload a widget (like Timescape) long press on the home screen and you will get a pop up menu and widgets is one of the options.