1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Newbie with a dream! (long post, sorry)

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by StereoInstaller1, Jun 8, 2011.

1. StereoInstaller1

None

Sep 24, 2010
    I finally joined the Android revolution. I picked up an EVO4G yesterday.

Best Buy in Portland, Oregon had it for $99, and threw in a Powermat charger.

Stock Gingerbread, the update happened while setting up the phone, in the store.

I am not interested in rooting, or any other non-stock goodies if I can help it, but I do want something kind of unusual: I want a 10" touch screen in the middle of my dashboard.

Hopefully, this one: Amazon.com: Lilliput 10.1" Fa1011-np/c/t VGA LED Touch Monitor with Hdmi&dvi Input: Electronics

Or this: Model? FA1046-NP/C/T - LILLIPUT.

As you can likely guess by my screen name, I am a car stereo installer. I have been a pro since 1980, a serious old-schooler. I can handle whatever mods the thing needs, but again, would rather not.

What I would like is to be able to plug in the HDMI and the USB, and with FullHDMI, get the picture on the screen and use the touch screen to control my phone.

I ASSUME (and we all know the power of assume, right?) I can use the USB port on my phone to run the touch screen, but does anyone know for certain?

Does anyone know where I will need to get audio output from? Seems FullHDMI routes all audio through the HDMI port, which would be fine of the monitor has an output, but I cannot find a manual. I may have to get crafty on that front.

Obviously I will need to figure out a method of charging, I (again) assume I will simply plug into a powered USB hub, unless the monitor charges the phone too. I will be making my own cradle, something all cool and such that allows a quick and easy plug in for both USB and HDMI. I am also aware that I will no longer be able to use the powermat charger, but I think the trade-off is worth it.