• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

colder618

Lurker
Oct 23, 2010
Hello all! I've had the SF for a couple weeks now and love the phone. Previously had the BB storm. Been checkin out the forum here and have a few questions.
1. What is the point of rooting the phone?
a. Does it void any warranties from Samsung or Verizon?
2. How many problems have people had with rooting their phones and how serious have the problems been.
3. What is the advantage of overclocking the phone.

Again, I am new to this stuff so bear with me.

Thanks

I'm a bit of a newb myself, but I think I have a decent understanding of this stuff.

1) Rooting your phone essentially means you have access to settings that you usually don't. For example, you can remove programs Verizon loaded on the phone that you otherwise couldn't remove w/out rooting.

2) I'm sure if you damaged your phone doing this, Verizon nor Samsung would replace it for you

3) It looks like rooting this phone is rather simple and pretty difficult to mess up.

4) Overclocking = faster speeds. Less lag. You can also turn down the voltage going to the CPU and increase battery life and whatnot.

If any of that is wrong, feel free to correct me :) I won't take it personally

Upvote 0
I'm a bit of a newb myself, but I think I have a decent understanding of this stuff.

1) Rooting your phone essentially means you have access to settings that you usually don't. For example, you can remove programs Verizon loaded on the phone that you otherwise couldn't remove w/out rooting.

2) I'm sure if you damaged your phone doing this, Verizon nor Samsung would replace it for you

3) It looks like rooting this phone is rather simple and pretty difficult to mess up.

4) Overclocking = faster speeds. Less lag. You can also turn down the voltage going to the CPU and increase battery life and whatnot.

If any of that is wrong, feel free to correct me :) I won't take it personally