1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Newby question about sending texts to a person in my contacts list...

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by wow400, May 31, 2011.

  1. wow400

    wow400 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    May 31, 2011

    May 31, 2011
    14
    0
    15
    Hi all, I've just got an S2 & wondering why, when I go to send a text & type in the persons name (Kat), it offers up a list of possibles - one of which is Kat (528) which is obviously not in my contact list!

    Anyway I can stop this so it just offers up possibilities from my contact list?


    Also, anyone know a way to organise the contacts on the phone such that all the contacts that start with a number come at the end of the list, not the start?

    Kind regards,

    wow
     

    Advertisement

  2. XplosiV

    XplosiV Master X is Watching You
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    5,423
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    5,423
    1,971
    413
    Male
    UK
    I think you'll find the 528 represents the numbers you dial to get each letter. There maybe an option, when on your contacts list, press the menu button to get any available options up, and then press settings and have a browse :) ;) hope that helps
     
  3. mrvirginia

    mrvirginia Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,493
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    1,493
    228
    143
    video editor
    Charlotte, NC
    "Kat" must be a contact somewhere on your phone, whether that be google synced or other. when you type "528" it doesn't automatically associate that with a random name...

    and as far as getting numbers to display at the end rather than the start... this is how the alphabet is set up. numbers come before letters. no way to change that without rooting the phone and possibly modifying the string that sets that up.

    when i start typing "52" the corresponding contacts "Ja"son, "Ka"ren and "Ka"t show up. then 8 which just shows Kat (i do have a Kat in my contacts :))
     
  4. wow400

    wow400 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    May 31, 2011

    May 31, 2011
    14
    0
    15
    Thanks MrV, I'm coming from an iPhone (piece of cack!) so am learning my way around the S2...

    I think the number 528 is equivalent to Kat on a numeric keyboard - if I type in 'ka', it offers me ka (52), kay, katie & at the bottom kat.

    When I type the 't', I get kat(528), katie M, katie V & my kat is right at the bottom of the list - I want to change that to stop the phone offering me kat(528)!

    having a play with chompSMS - it doesn't do this, just offers me katie M & katie V & Kat is no. 3 with the correct mobile number!

    All very confusing!

    I do hope your Kat isn't the same as my Kat ;-)

    regards,

    Nic
     
  5. mrvirginia

    mrvirginia Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,493
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    1,493
    228
    143
    video editor
    Charlotte, NC
    doubt it's the same Kat haha

    sounds like chompSMS is actually faulty for not offering Kat as an option. if you use standard SMS, it should display that as an option. so, only way to keep it from offering "Kat" as an option all around would be to remove her from your contacts. so yeah, you got lucky if chomp doesn't display it. but yes, 528 is equivalent to Kat, just like 847 would start displaying "Vir" respectively or any other name that happened to start with some letters within 847.
     
  6. wow400

    wow400 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    May 31, 2011

    May 31, 2011
    14
    0
    15
    Ok, fair enough!

    Cheers!
     
  7. croftyboy8

    croftyboy8 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    89
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009

    Oct 30, 2009
    89
    14
    18
    It appears there is a bit of confusion here.
    Coming from the GS1, I used to type in the name ( lets stay with kat) and the system would offer the contact from the list.
    It seems the GS2 is slightly more complicated. You need to press the little person symbol next to the typing field. (little head and shoulders)
    This will then let you find a name in your contact list.
    I think the typing field offers you the chance to type in a number or indeed an email address that isnt in your contact list.

    hope this helps
     
  8. mrvirginia

    mrvirginia Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,493
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    1,493
    228
    143
    video editor
    Charlotte, NC
    wut? i don't have my phone in front of me currently but i do not believe this is the case... when i was typing, i just started typing... didn't hit a head or anything. hit phone, then started typing and the letters of numbers i was hitting would correspond with a name if there was one
     
  9. croftyboy8

    croftyboy8 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    89
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009

    Oct 30, 2009
    89
    14
    18
    well try hitting the head and report back
     
  10. mrvirginia

    mrvirginia Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,493
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    1,493
    228
    143
    video editor
    Charlotte, NC
    why? what i'm saying is without hitting the head, that works...

    are you directly on the dial pad? i don't even remember seeing a head lol
    i'll def check this out when i get my hands on my phone later today. interested to see what you're referring to
     
  11. XplosiV

    XplosiV Master X is Watching You
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    5,423
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    5,423
    1,971
    413
    Male
    UK
    It makes sense, in a way, I believe if i understand right, that IF the phone when on the dialer screen does indeed start coming up with the names from your contact list, and the numbers, then I think the phone is trying to preempt whether your dialing a number OR a name, the fact that KAT starts with a 5 is beside the point, if you try dialing KAT's actual phone number, 07 ... then as you type the numbers in, it should narrow down the contacts until the one you want is displayed.

    Its like foolproof, your bound to either know the name or the number, so the phone narrows down both variable from your contacts list as you dial. Right?
     
  12. mrvirginia

    mrvirginia Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,493
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    1,493
    228
    143
    video editor
    Charlotte, NC
    okay i see the head thing that croftboy was referring to. this happens when you start typing, not before. that's where i was getting confused. also, you don't have to hit the little head symbol. you can hit the number.

    what i think is genius, though, is how you start to type the letters, and then you have multiple matching contacts... the number of matching contacts shows up on the right with a number and an arrow pointing down. tap that and it opens a scroll menu where you can pick from those matching contacts. so cool :)
     
  13. hilt_m

    hilt_m Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    May 19, 2011

    May 19, 2011
    22
    51
    33
    SWEDEN
    you know i never even noticed this until you brought it up lol
     

Share This Page

Loading...