1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Newest Facebook update doesn't work on CM7

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Sylon, Sep 30, 2011.

  1. Sylon

    Sylon Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    230
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011

    Aug 22, 2011
    230
    30
    63
    Male
    Ohio
    I am running CM7 RC1, just updated my Facebook app because it said there was an update available. Now the app crashes every time I start it up. I tried rebooting and clearing the cache, but my android skills are limited. Anyone here have any ideas?
     

    Advertisement

  2. koopakid08

    koopakid08 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    772
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011

    Mar 14, 2011
    772
    165
    93
    Behind you
    You need to either spoof GPS or use the old version.
     
  3. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    Do you have a backup of the old version on Titanium Backup?
     
  4. Sylon

    Sylon Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    230
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011

    Aug 22, 2011
    230
    30
    63
    Male
    Ohio
    You know what? I do actually. Thanks for mentioning that. Totally forgot about that.


    I skimmed the reviews on it in the market, and roughly 80 out of 100 just written today (30 Sept) said the app no longer works. People are saying it fails to load. So I think if I wait, FB will be forced to push another patch to fix what this recent one broke.
     
  5. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    Wow, I'm impressed. I was expecting a "Backup? What's that?"... :D

    Do you have the free version or paid version of TIBU? If you have the free version (only keeps one copy of each app) and it's scheduled to auto backup, your good version will get overwritten with the newer, bad version.....
     
  6. tube517

    tube517 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #34
    Points:
    693
    Posts:
    4,006
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    4,006
    2,037
    693
    Male
    USA
    Use Friendcaster.
     
    gsutton likes this.
  7. joehammer75

    joehammer75 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011

    Aug 25, 2011
    15
    5
    16
    I use a app from the market called fake gps it spoofs a gps location its very simple to use and once you set location the new facebook works great.
     
    tube517, Sylon and gsutton like this.
  8. Sylon

    Sylon Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    230
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011

    Aug 22, 2011
    230
    30
    63
    Male
    Ohio
    So the app keep crashing because it needs a GPS location? So phones without GPS can't use the new FB app? And here they were pissed off at Apple for tracking your location. You can't even use FB without them knowing exactly where you are. So lame.

    Thanks, I'll try the GPS trick tonight when I get home. I did notice that I can access comments on the new app from one of my glass widgets, but not the FB feed. So some parts of the app works right.
     
  9. Sylon

    Sylon Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    230
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011

    Aug 22, 2011
    230
    30
    63
    Male
    Ohio
    The fake GPS app did the trick. Sad that you have to use that for such a common app to function. I knew you masterminds would know, lol.
     
  10. chocophile

    chocophile Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    95
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010

    Nov 22, 2010
    95
    22
    38
    I propose a contest for most creative Fake GPS location. I think I will be at Facebook HQ in Palo Alto. "We've traced the call. It's coming from inside the house. "
     
  11. chocophile

    chocophile Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    95
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010

    Nov 22, 2010
    95
    22
    38
  12. Sylon

    Sylon Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    230
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011

    Aug 22, 2011
    230
    30
    63
    Male
    Ohio
    I think thats the version I have, or newer. I just updated it last night. It still requires the Fake GPS app to run it though.
     
  13. TheAmazingDave

    TheAmazingDave Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    905
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    905
    273
    123
    Male
    IT Helpdesk Technician
    The 408
    No, the application is crashing because it is calling to an aGPS subsystem (assisted GPS) which does not exist on the Nook Color since it is not an official Android device.

    As far as the Facebook app is concerned, since it was downloaded through the Google Marketplace (where all software must be certified by Google for use on a true Android), it should expect GPS data over the cellular radio. When it doesn't get that data, it crashes.

    Facebook is not tracking you, they really don't care. It's simply an issue of running Android software on a spoofed Android tablet.

    This is why Nook Color, and now the Kindle Fire, do not have access to Google Marketplace. They are not official Android devices, even though they are powered by it. They do not meet the hardware requirements to use most true Android software. As long as we keep doing what we're doing, we're going to hit these potholes every once in a while.
     
  14. Sylon

    Sylon Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    230
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011

    Aug 22, 2011
    230
    30
    63
    Male
    Ohio
    Since upgrading CM7 to RC7.2, I haven't had too many app compatibility issues. Apps that didn't appear in the market before, including Facebook, all appear now. Facebook still needs a GPS app to run though.


    I am running into issues with the Gamefly app, it always crashes when I open it now, it didn't before RC7.2. No clue what is causing it, but I gave up and deleted it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...