1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Newest metropcs / tmobile 6.0 kdz firmware

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by viperdink, Aug 10, 2016.

  1. viperdink

    viperdink Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #93
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    1,087
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011

    Dec 18, 2011
    1,087
    677
    273
    Male
    Retired
    USA
    Here is the latest 6.0 Firmwares

    Metro Pcs

    *MS63120p
    => https://www.mediafire.com/?ihe4m2841vq8qj3

    Tmobile


    *H63120o
    => https://www.mediafire.com/?h921cazf0ivgbc5


    *Cricket
    => www.mylgphones.com/cricket-lg-g-stylo-h634-stock-firmware-how-to-unbrick-restore-back-to-stock.html


    Now here is;

    'How to Use The Kdz Files'
    The Flash Tool and Instructions
    for LG UP

    => http://www.mylgphones.com/how-to-ma...-on-metropcs-lg-g-stylo-ms631-with-lg-up.html

    * Rooting Help and tools are here

    http://androidforums.com/index.php?posts/7323016

    => www.mediafire.com/?7s2cpm5j53i2ksf

    Thank @bkttk2 for his help!

     

    Advertisement

    #1 viperdink, Aug 10, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2017
    bkttk2, CYCONUMNUM, ScooterPP and 5 others like this.
  2. DB225

    DB225 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    142
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2015

    Jul 3, 2015
    142
    84
    53
    Male
    thanks. I wonder if it blocks root.
     
  3. viperdink

    viperdink Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #93
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    1,087
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011

    Dec 18, 2011
    1,087
    677
    273
    Male
    Retired
    USA
    @db255
    thanks. I wonder if it blocks root.

    Its still rootable.
    I don't use king root.
    Just the" all in one tool "
    or adb method.
     
    #3 viperdink, Aug 11, 2016
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2016
  4. tube517

    tube517 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #35
    Points:
    693
    Posts:
    3,957
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    3,957
    1,979
    693
    Male
    USA
    Oh ok, so metro has the 20c update. I thought it was just T-Mobile.

    My wife's unrooted stock OG Stylo/Metro hasn't received the update yet.

    Time to do the 11 pm "trick" lol
     
  5. viperdink

    viperdink Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #93
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    1,087
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011

    Dec 18, 2011
    1,087
    677
    273
    Male
    Retired
    USA
    Just added tmobile link to o/p
    Now both 16 gb firmware versions are shared
     
    tube517 likes this.
  6. Ferb

    Ferb Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013

    Mar 23, 2013
    23
    9
    26
    So, can I directly update my phone (that still is on MS631 10J) to this -6.0 kdz firmware- to get MM and then use "all in one tool " to be in Marshmallow and rooted? or I need to get into ur last post?? My phone is rooted.
     
  7. viperdink

    viperdink Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #93
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    1,087
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011

    Dec 18, 2011
    1,087
    677
    273
    Male
    Retired
    USA
    You will have to reroot and you'll get the unlocked bootloader splash screen. Just install the twrp version you been using. I have a og version stylo so i did use flashify to load the correct recovery. I can restore all my old version nandroids i've saved.
     
  8. hubsabubs

    hubsabubs Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    268
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012

    Jan 11, 2012
    268
    61
    53
    Male
    Self Employed
    Dallas, GA
    what "all in one tool" for rooting?
     
  9. Ferb

    Ferb Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013

    Mar 23, 2013
    23
    9
    26
    Acctually I was wondering since Im on Lollipop if I should install MS63120c first and then this 6.0 kdz firmware?
     
  10. tube517

    tube517 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #35
    Points:
    693
    Posts:
    3,957
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    3,957
    1,979
    693
    Male
    USA
    Is your Stylo on Unrooted Stock Lollipop or is your Stylo rooted on Lollipop?
     
  11. Ferb

    Ferb Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013

    Mar 23, 2013
    23
    9
    26
    It is rooted on Lollipop
     
  12. AP2FTW

    AP2FTW Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    579
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012

    Nov 24, 2012
    579
    260
    133
    this kdz is the 20c software
     
    Ferb likes this.
  13. Ferb

    Ferb Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013

    Mar 23, 2013
    23
    9
    26
    Thanks!
     
    viperdink likes this.
  14. viperdink

    viperdink Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #93
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    1,087
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011

    Dec 18, 2011
    1,087
    677
    273
    Male
    Retired
    USA
    #14 viperdink, Aug 19, 2016
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2016
    stovo06 and Ferb like this.
  15. Izzxy

    Izzxy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    250
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014

    Dec 4, 2014
    250
    30
    43
    what is in this new updated and it's not rootable???
     
  16. bkttk2

    bkttk2 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #161
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    504
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012

    Apr 30, 2012
    504
    227
    113
    Male
    Blue Springs, MO
    Not sure on the specific security updates. It mainly updates the radio.img and a few of the stock apk files. You can root via adb and fastboot method.
     
    viperdink likes this.
  17. AP2FTW

    AP2FTW Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    579
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012

    Nov 24, 2012
    579
    260
    133
    hmm i was finally going to flash this but when i click on the kdz it doesnt download...


    edit i found another site that has it...lg-firmwares.com...but that site wants me to download their download tool in order to download the kdz...is this legit? - [MOD REDACTED]

    eh im just gonna flash the 20b kdz that i have from last time...dont really feel like downloading a download tool to download a kdz...
     
    #17 AP2FTW, Aug 24, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 25, 2016
  18. viperdink

    viperdink Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #93
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    1,087
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011

    Dec 18, 2011
    1,087
    677
    273
    Male
    Retired
    USA
    I wouldn't . it d/l s data to your device with out requesting you approval . that in its self is suspious and. Un acceptable.


    hmm i was finally going to flash this but when i click on the kdz it doesnt download...


    edit i found another site that has it...lg-firmwares.com...but that site wants me to download their download tool in order to download the kdz...is this legit? - LGFirmwaresDownloader.zip

    eh im just gonna flash the 20b kdz that i have from last time...dont really feel like downloading a download tool to download a kdz...
     
    El Presidente likes this.
  19. AP2FTW

    AP2FTW Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    579
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012

    Nov 24, 2012
    579
    260
    133
    so whats the deal with the kdz download from your original post? did it ever work or does it just not work now?
     
  20. Juncojam

    Juncojam Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014

    Aug 31, 2014
    29
    3
    26
    Male
    STL
    I'm rooted on 6.0 Marshmallow (MetroPCS phone with the T-Mobile .kdz) I got the update notification from T-Mobile about a week or two ago. Is it safe to download it from there, or should I go ahead and flash the .kdz? And my software version is H63120b
     
  21. AP2FTW

    AP2FTW Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    579
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012

    Nov 24, 2012
    579
    260
    133
    dont take the ota if your phone is rooted...you need to go back to 100% stock with no root before you take the ota
     
  22. viperdink

    viperdink Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #93
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    1,087
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011

    Dec 18, 2011
    1,087
    677
    273
    Male
    Retired
    USA
  23. AP2FTW

    AP2FTW Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    579
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012

    Nov 24, 2012
    579
    260
    133
    yeah i read your posts...after i rooted the 20c software i cannot even open the playstore...when i click on it it instantly says unfortunately playstore has stopped
     
  24. viperdink

    viperdink Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #93
    Points:
    273
    Posts:
    1,087
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011

    Dec 18, 2011
    1,087
    677
    273
    Male
    Retired
    USA
    That is why you should not use untrustworty sources for your devices fiirmware.
    If i were you i'd re install it from the site I shared . Install gogglefix app before rooting if need be. Make sure it works and settles out before modifying. Boot it few times and check out the operation a little .

    I'll be around to help if you have any questions. I've been around a little while. lol
    Good luck
     
    #24 viperdink, Aug 24, 2016
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2016
    bkttk2 likes this.
  25. AP2FTW

    AP2FTW Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    133
    Posts:
    579
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012

    Nov 24, 2012
    579
    260
    133
    i didnt use an untrustworthy source for the kdz. i used the 20b kdz that i got a while back from the same website that you posted in the op because the link to the 20c kdz that you posted above does not download (and i had no intention of downloading it from what seemed to be a sketchy site). i was able to fix the issue i was having by doing a factory reset...then i rooted again and all of a sudden playstore started working normally
     
    Ferb likes this.
  26. bkttk2

    bkttk2 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #161
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    504
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012

    Apr 30, 2012
    504
    227
    113
    Male
    Blue Springs, MO
    @CYCONUMNUM - Let's give this one more try.


    Attention if you try this and end up with a brick or your device spontaneously combusts; it's not my fault you did this not me. Read everything completely and then reread before attempting.

    BEFORE BEGINNING BE SURE TO INSTALL THE LATEST DEVICE DRIVERS!!

    https://www.mylgphones.com/lg-android-usb-device-drivers


    1) From instruction in OP install latest KDZ (This is optional)

    2) Grab latest Superuser App -
    https://download.chainfire.eu/1021/SuperSU/SR3-SuperSU-v2.79-SR3-20170114223742.zip

    3) Grab TWRP image, The 3.02 version will work - Download Twrp 3.0.2-0 here: https://www.androidfilehost.com/?fid=529152257862690560

    NOTE - You can name img file whatever you want. I reference it as TWRP.img within this guidance. In the end just remember the name so you know what file you are working with.

    4) For Windows grab the SDK tools from this link -
    https://developer.android.com/studio/releases/platform-tools.html#download

    5) Place the SU zip file on your external SD card. Also place a copy of your TWRP image on the external SD card.

    6) Extract the Platform Tools package, to a folder you can easily find later (like “C:\Android\platform-tools”).

    7) Place TWRP image in platform-tools folder (this folder contains both adb and fastboot)

    8) On your phone go to Settings/General/About Phone/Software info and tap on the "Build number" until it says"You are now a developer". Then back out until you are in Settings/General and go to "Developer options" and turn "Enable OEM unlock" on and also turn on "USB debugging".

    9) Connect phone to PC via USB. Allow USB debugging and select box on pop-up to always accept the device (PC).

    10) Open command prompt (cmd.exe)

    11) Navigate, within command prompt to platform-tools folder (step 7 above)

    12) In command prompt type "adb devices" [without quotes] to make sure your devices is detected by adb. You may get a toast pop up on your device asking if you to "Allow usb debugging". Except this as this is the RSA key you need to allow your computer to communicate with your device via adb. You should see something like "LGH631dffacad9 device" in your terminal or command line. If you see "unauthorized" instead of "device" you have not excepted the RSA key.

    13) Still in command prompt type "adb reboot bootloader" [without quotes] . This will reboot your device to fastboot mode. Once in fastboot mode type "fastboot devices" [without quotes] to make sure your device is recognized by fastboot. You should see something like "dffacad9 fastboot".

    14) To fully unlock your bootloader you have to type "fastboot oem unlock" [without quotes] . You have to do this or this root method will not work. But be warned that if you do use this command it will factory reset your device. Plus you will get a line of text saying the bootloader is unlocked on the splash screen when you boot your device.

    15) Next type "fastboot boot twrp.img" to boot to the TWRP recovery.

    16) Once you are booted to the TWRP recovery you should first make a full backup to restore to in case things go bad. After you make a backup then select and install SuperSU from your external SD card. Once it is installed reboot your device to system. If TWRP gives you a warning about the su binaries missing and asks if you want to install the su binaries before you reboot select no or it will interfere with the rooting process of the SuperSU.zip. When your device reboots it will boot to the LG splash screen and then reboot again. First boot will take some time. Make sure you let your device reboot completely. You should be fully rooted after this.

    17) Download Flashify from the play store.

    18) Using Flashify backup your stock recovery image and then flash the TWRP image from your SD card. Do this step even if you have TWRP already installed. I have experienced full phone reset when this step is skipped.

    19) You should now be fully rooted with stock recovery.

    This information is a combination of info from multiple users.

    @viperdink
    @TMacgnolia
    @whoshotjr2006

    Please let me know if I omitted giving credit to anyone or if information or links need edited.
     
    #81 bkttk2, Feb 15, 2017
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2017
    whoshotjr2006 and CYCONUMNUM like this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...