1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Newly copied mp3's doesn't show up!!

Discussion in 'Music & Media' started by suloco, Nov 10, 2010.

  1. suloco

    suloco Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010

    Nov 10, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    Hi, so this is what's happening to me:

    Yesterday I tried to upload some music (mp3 format) to my HTC Legend. And none of the newly copied tracks show up on any of my media players. I can reach them in Astro and such and even play them but there is no info showing up on the media player screen.

    I tried to erase cache of the MP and the media, tried to reboot the device but nothing happened.

    Funny thing though: When I erase some of my old mp3s and then load them back up, media players show them properly.

    I really don't know what to do please somebode help. The only thing I didn't try is restoring to factory default..

    Thanx guys
     

    Advertisement

  2. sitlet

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    5,867
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010

    Apr 11, 2010
    5,867
    633
    213
    How are you transferring them? By usb? Did you put them in the Music folder? Are they DRM files?
     
  3. suloco

    suloco Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010

    Nov 10, 2010
    3
    0
    5
    Via USB, putting them in the same folder as the rest of my music that always worked.

    Tried restoring to factory defaults now and when it tries (music player) to recognise new mp3's it shows proccess.media.android terminated or sumthin like that...drives me crazy now!
     
  4. bgoody

    bgoody Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    127
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009

    Aug 18, 2009
    127
    6
    36
    There's an app for that on the market now but I forgot the name. However if you just plug your phone into usb and mount it on your computer (transfer a file if you wish) , then when you unmount it Android does a rescan.
     
  5. Harry2

    Harry2 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    5,181
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    5,181
    1,341
    323
    Black Forest
    The name of the app is SDrescan :)

    Harry
     
    ManWithCamera likes this.
  6. ManWithCamera

    ManWithCamera Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011

    Apr 5, 2011
    34
    6
    16
    Photographer
    SDrescan worked! I just don't understand why these apps don't have a way to specify the folder on your SD card where you store your MP3s. They don't provide any way for you to browse the filesystem or scan a particular directory. You just have to rely on the OS to scan the card, or else download an app that will trigger the OS's scanning mechanism? This is just bizarre to me. I'm discovering that, in order to get an Android-based phone to be useful, you need to seek out all of the missing apps that should have come with the device in the first place. Don't get me wrong. I like my Android phone. Part of the reason I have one, is to help to promote competition between the manufacturers and increase the chances that developers will port their apps to the Android platform. But, I can certainly see why people would want a phone that "just works".
     
  7. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    You could also unmount your SD and mount it again, a system reboot should have also triggered this.
     

Share This Page

Loading...