1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root newly rooted TB, looking for vanilla rom?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ssddyakno, Aug 30, 2011.

  1. ssddyakno

    ssddyakno Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    101
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    101
    11
    38
    Photographer, Student
    Baton Rouge
    Hey all,

    I had the Incredible for a year and a half. Was running CM6 the majority of the time. Really just prefer a rom without sense and without all the verizon bloatware.

    I'm looking for snappier response, no sense, and better battery life. And the other must is for things to work. IE Camera GPS etc.

    Can anybody point me to the rom of my dreams, or does it not exist yet?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    You have 2 choices OMGB or TheROM

    I've had my fair share of issues with both but many people love them so I assume it is just my phone or user error;)
     
    ssddyakno likes this.
  3. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    There's also non vanilla ROMs that are AOSP and completely senseless.

    CM7
    OMFGB
    Liquid Thunderbolt
    ShiftAOSP
     
    trapperjohn and ssddyakno like this.
  4. ssddyakno

    ssddyakno Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    101
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    101
    11
    38
    Photographer, Student
    Baton Rouge
    Ah, CM7. Now we're talking! I'm assuming GPS and other important functions are all working properly? I'm not the kind of person who likes to tinker each week. Main aim is to find a setup that works and stick with it, ya know?

    OK so I downloaded Rom Manager through the market, and it alerted me that I apparently don't have root. I ran the alpharev/unrevoked program and it seemed to go through successfully. Did I possibly miss something?

    Edit:

    Looks like the reason is because I don't have the superuser app installed. In the past this was included with roms I flashed on the incredible.

    Is there a simple way to get it on there?
     
  5. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    CM7 is very stable. There is a GPS fix that you may need. It's a one time thing and it fixes it for good. We can cross that bridge if you need it

    Do you have busy box installed?
     
    ssddyakno likes this.
  6. ssddyakno

    ssddyakno Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    101
    Joined:
    May 3, 2010

    May 3, 2010
    101
    11
    38
    Photographer, Student
    Baton Rouge
    I just installed busy box through the market. Yeah same thing, saying I don't have root access.
     
  7. Yeahha

    Yeahha Usually off topic
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    813
    Posts:
    10,472
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010

    Jul 29, 2010
    10,472
    4,693
    813
    ...
    FG
    Why don't you just flash in recovery and not bother with rom manager?

    Sorry about my response earlier, I think of pure AOSP when someone is talking about vanilla :eek:
     
    trapperjohn and ssddyakno like this.
  8. WormDoes

    WormDoes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,199
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010

    Aug 8, 2010
    3,199
    1,270
    313
    Sales
    Massachusetts
    Glad you figured it out. I didn't want to kick you while you were down, but uninstall ROM Manager right now! Flash things manually and save yourself some headaches
     
    trapperjohn likes this.
  9. xeno2011

    xeno2011 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    169
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011

    Jul 12, 2011
    169
    43
    43
    Here's the link to the Superuser Zip File that you need to flash in from recovery (from the Revolutionary Q + A page)

    http://goo-inside.me/superuser/su-2.3.6.3-efgh-signed.zip
     
    ssddyakno likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...