1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Nexus 4 flattening my battery by "Searching for GPS". none stop

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mm43, Jan 12, 2013.

  1. mm43

    mm43 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    362
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    362
    5
    56
    My battery only seems to last a few hours on my nexus 4. I get an icon top left all the while saying searching for GPS, and I am at home most of the time! Also if I look at the battery usage in settings it tells me major usage is maps and I never use maps!I don't do much on the phone as use my tablet. I am just a novice here so be glad of advice please.
    Also I have a nexus 7 tablet and the battery on that with continual use lasts over a day. What's the difference?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Liamo_210

    Liamo_210 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    4,132
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011

    Apr 30, 2011
    4,132
    781
    233
    Male
    Ireland
    Turn off location services and gps.
     
  3. Harry2

    Harry2 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    5,180
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010

    Jun 3, 2010
    5,180
    1,340
    323
    Black Forest
    A GPS app might left GPS switched on, some bad programmed apps do that.

    Shut off your phone and restart it again.

    Harry
     
    mm43 likes this.
  4. andrews317

    andrews317 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    387
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011

    Apr 18, 2011
    387
    26
    43
    Male
    Engineer
    Honduras
    There must be an app open that's using GPS. For example, everytime you open Facebook, if the GPS is on, it starts using it for about a minute and constantly refreshing. Turn off GPS or reboot your phone to close all apps and check it you still have this problem.
     
    mm43 likes this.
  5. mm43

    mm43 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    362
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    362
    5
    56
    How do I do this please?

    What won't I be able to use on my phone if I do so?
     
  6. Liamo_210

    Liamo_210 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    4,132
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011

    Apr 30, 2011
    4,132
    781
    233
    Male
    Ireland
    To turn off GPS go to settings, location access turn off GPS satellites and access to my location.
    Your phone won't know we're you are by doing this.
     
    mm43 likes this.
  7. mm43

    mm43 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    362
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    362
    5
    56
    Thanks

    Will it affect a lot of apps, am I defeating the object of having a good phone by doing it?

    What are you folks doing?:thinking:
     
  8. Liamo_210

    Liamo_210 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    4,132
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011

    Apr 30, 2011
    4,132
    781
    233
    Male
    Ireland
    No it won't effect any apps except maps won't find your location.. I only turn on GPS when I need it as it uses too much battery.
     
    mm43 likes this.
  9. CodeMonkey

    CodeMonkey Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    I've seen this on rare occasions, usually caused by the Facebook app for me.
    I just close Facebook then open and close Maps - this clears it for me.
     
  10. mm43

    mm43 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    362
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    362
    5
    56
    Thanks for that
    Dont go far so already know where I am lol :)

    Tried to find the answer on google but it didnt answer that.
     
  11. SiempreTuna

    SiempreTuna Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    3,889
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013

    Jan 11, 2013
    3,889
    1,051
    423
    Drop the Power Control widget on one of your home screens - it's a standard Android control so you definitely have it.

    The things that use the most power are WiFi, Bluetooth, GPS, synch and screen brightness: the Power Control lets see at a glance what's on and switch them on and off as and when you need them.

    Pretty much the first thing I put onto one of my screens.
     
    mm43 likes this.
  12. andrews317

    andrews317 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    387
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011

    Apr 18, 2011
    387
    26
    43
    Male
    Engineer
    Honduras
    I only turn on GPS when I need to use maps for directions. Otherwise it's always off.
     
    mm43 likes this.
  13. mm43

    mm43 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    362
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    362
    5
    56
    Thanks very much Didn't know about that
    So what is the best way to set it up?
     
  14. SiempreTuna

    SiempreTuna Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    3,889
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013

    Jan 11, 2013
    3,889
    1,051
    423
    I have brightness set to Automatic and everything else switched off until I actually need to use them.

    Further, in Settings, I have the Location Access turned off.

    This works fine for me: I just need to remember to turn on WiFi when I get home, bluetooth when I get into the car and the GPS when I want to use Navigation (it actually prompts you if you've forgotten).
     
    mm43 likes this.
  15. mm43

    mm43 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    362
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    362
    5
    56
    Thats really handy to know There really should be more help out there as its never the things you need to know that is there lol
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...