1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Nexus 4 on MetroPCS

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by SquirrelNuts, Aug 8, 2013.

  1. SquirrelNuts

    SquirrelNuts Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    222
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011

    Dec 27, 2011
    222
    44
    43
    Male
    I.T.
    Florida
    Anyone thinking of jumping ship from T-Mobile to MetroPCS BYOD? Obviously, it's the same crappy coverage, but would save me $30/month for the same level plans (2 lines). I had Metro before my Nexus 4, and was actually pretty happy with them. Just got tired of the crappy phone selection.... But if you can get GSM Nexus/Whatever phone and bring it over, I'm all over it :D
     

    Advertisement

  2. Medion

    Medion Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,851
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010

    Aug 14, 2010
    1,851
    957
    233
    Male
    Auburn, WA
    Looking at their plans, I can clearly see the T-Mobile influence. They are essentially the same plans offered by T-Mobile, but $10/mo cheaper for 1- and 2-lines (3-lines and up is significantly cheaper on T-Mobile).

    Given the lack of hidden fees though, I see the $30 difference. My wife and I are on the 2-line $80 plan (which is $70 on MetroPCS). Despite our 15% corporate discount bringing it down to $68, we actually pay $87.22/mo after hidden fees. Add that $12 back in and assume no fee scaling, and it's a difference of $29.22/month for two lines.

    If there are no differences in priority and roaming, this seems like a good deal for individual and 2-line plans.
     
  3. realizm

    realizm Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    178
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011

    Nov 17, 2011
    178
    17
    38
    Nope. I'm done with the MVNO nightmare with my nexus 4.

    After being on Straight Talk(att), then Net10(T-Mo), I made the jump to att's own prepaid plans after they restructured them a little over a month ago. As for the customer service nightmare that is Straight Talk and Net10 I'm glad if I have any issues with service or anything I can just go talk to a real employee in a real store. I pay a little more but as the saying goes you do pay for what you get.
    No throttling, great speeds and a clearly defined data limit.
     
  4. Medion

    Medion Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,851
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010

    Aug 14, 2010
    1,851
    957
    233
    Male
    Auburn, WA
    MetroPCS is not an MVNO. They have their own towers and now share towers with T-Mobile. It is a completely new situation in the mobile industry and not all of the details are available yet.
     
  5. SquirrelNuts

    SquirrelNuts Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    222
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011

    Dec 27, 2011
    222
    44
    43
    Male
    I.T.
    Florida
    Yeah, all the horror stories def scared me away from ST and NET10... Metro isn't bad though. Eventually you learn most of the small store owners are idiots, and just go to Corporate. And usually the customer support barely speaks English, but they fix your issue 99% of the time. They actually have the best customer support I've encountered... Just my opinion ;)
     
  6. PlayfulGod

    PlayfulGod Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    353
    Posts:
    8,109
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011

    Jan 28, 2011
    8,109
    4,938
    353
    Male
    Web Design and Hosting/PC Repair
    NW Georgia
    Nope I'm sticking with Tmo. ;)
     
    blaze420916 likes this.
  7. john30308

    john30308 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    241
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    241
    39
    43
    Lots of ST (AT&T version) love here. No problems at all - sorry to hear of yours.
     
  8. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin'
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,333
    Posts:
    10,628
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    10,628
    7,392
    1,333
    Washington, DC
    T-Mobile 30 dollar plan for me, but my Brother had a Net10 CS nightmare. Took a week of hassle and about 6 total hours combined on the phone with them to get it worked out.
     
  9. Iddoom3

    Iddoom3 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2012

    Aug 18, 2012
    47
    12
    18
    Male
    HVAC technician
    Central Florida
    So the question I have is will the Nexus 4 work on a Metropcs plan? Will 4g work with Metro normal (I believe it will run on Tmo's network, hspa)? Will the phone function normal (MMS)? The phone does appear to be compatible with Tmos network which is important to me, reading forums on the net indicate that Metros cdma network will soon be gone? I wanna get the unlocked 16gb N4 but I hate the idea of BYOP... I did that before for a year and a half with Simple Mobile. Loved the phone but the service SUCKED! Always had issues that were never fully resolved and tech support at Simple Mobile was laughable at best... There is NO WAY on earth I'd buy a GS4 (or3)... I'm on Metro for a reason ;) :D lol
     
  10. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin'
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,333
    Posts:
    10,628
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    10,628
    7,392
    1,333
    Washington, DC
    Everything should work and if you feel like rooting and applying some mild hacks, you can even get lte.
     
    Iddoom3 likes this.
  11. Iddoom3

    Iddoom3 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2012

    Aug 18, 2012
    47
    12
    18
    Male
    HVAC technician
    Central Florida
    Thanks, I might have to catch up w you once I get it ;)
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...