1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Nexus 5 in boot loop

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Akshaysharma, Jan 6, 2015.

  1. Akshaysharma

    Akshaysharma Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2015

    Jan 6, 2015
    3
    0
    15
    Male
    Hello,


    My Nexus 5 has gone into a boot loop.

    Can someone please help me.


    Currently running on Android Lollipop (OTA update)

    USB debugging is disabled.


    No idea about flashing so a step by step guide will be really helpful.

    Cheers
    Akshay
     

    Advertisement

  2. Hadron

    Hadron  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,218
    Posts:
    22,863
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    22,863
    16,293
    2,218
    Spacecorp Test Pilot
    Dimension Jumping
    If we knew what had happened before the bootloop, of what the last few things you did before it were, it might be easier for us to suggest a solution. There are many things which could cause a bootloop, and the solutions would be different depending on the cause.

    If the problem is incompatible or badly corrupted user data or settings then a factory reset would fix it - just force a shutdown, boot into recovery mode (I don't know how on a Nexus 5, but it usually involves holding some key or keys down while booting, e.g. volume down key), then select the reset option from recovery. That does however erase all of your apps and data. Conversely if the problem is corrupted system software then you would need to reflash the phone to fix it. And if it's because the phone was damaged (e.g. got wet) then neither will help.
     
    argedion and Brian706 like this.
  3. Brian706

    Brian706 I like turtles!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #26
    Points:
    1,053
    Posts:
    9,345
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012

    Jul 25, 2012
    9,345
    8,589
    1,053
    Drafter
    Here are the steps for performing a factory reset on the Nexus 5:

    1. If your phone is on, turn it off.
    2. Press and hold the Volume Down and Volume Up buttons, and then press and hold the Power button at the same time until the phone turns on. You'll see the word "Start" with an arrow around it.
    3. Press the Volume Down button twice to highlight "Recovery mode."
    4. Press the Power button to start Recovery mode. You'll see an image of an Android robot with a red exclamation mark and the words "No command."
    5. While holding the Power button, tap the Volume Up button once.
    6. Use the volume buttons to scroll to "wipe data/factory reset" and press the Power button to select it.
    7. Scroll down to "Yes - erase all user data" and press the Power button to select it.
    Note: If your phone becomes unresponsive at any point during these steps, you can restart it by holding down the Power button for several seconds.


    As Hadron said, if you can give us as much information as possible, it will be a lot easier to offer some advice.
     
    Hook and argedion like this.
  4. Akshaysharma

    Akshaysharma Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2015

    Jan 6, 2015
    3
    0
    15
    Male
    @Hadron Phone was on charging and when 100% was unplugged.
    Few hours latter it had gone in a boot loop with the four colored balls going round and round.
    I do recall my facebook app crashing quite often.
    No physical damage to the fone at all.
    Recovery mode > wipe data/factory reset doesn't help either, get the following message:
    -- Wiping data..

    Formatting /data..

    E:failed to mount /cache (Invalid argument)

    Formatting / cache..

    E:failed to mount /cache (Invalid argument)

    E:Can’t mount /cache/recovery/log

    E:Can’t open /cache/recovery/log

    E:failed to mount /cache (Invalid argument)

    E:Can’t mount /cache/recovery/last_log

    E:Can’t open /cache/recovery/last_log

    E:failed to mount /cache (Invalid argument)

    E:Can’t mount /cache/recovery/last_install

    E:Can’t open /cache/recovery/last_install

    Data wipe complete.

    E:failed to mount /cache (Invalid argument)

    E:Can’t open /cache/recovery/log

    E:failed to mount /cache (Invalid argument)

    E:Can’t mount /cache/recovery/last_log

    E:Can’t open /cache/recovery/last_log

    E:failed to mount /cache (Invalid argument)

    E:Can’t mount /cache/recovery/last_install

    E:Can’t open /cache/recovery/last_install

    E:failed to mount /cache (Invalid argument)
     
  5. Akshaysharma

    Akshaysharma Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2015

    Jan 6, 2015
    3
    0
    15
    Male
    @Brian706 : performed the recovery function but doesn't help, below error:
    -- Wiping data..

    Formatting /data..

    E:failed to mount /cache (Invalid argument)

    Formatting / cache..

    E:failed to mount /cache (Invalid argument)

    E:Can’t mount /cache/recovery/log

    E:Can’t open /cache/recovery/log

    E:failed to mount /cache (Invalid argument)

    E:Can’t mount /cache/recovery/last_log

    E:Can’t open /cache/recovery/last_log

    E:failed to mount /cache (Invalid argument)

    E:Can’t mount /cache/recovery/last_install

    E:Can’t open /cache/recovery/last_install

    Data wipe complete.

    E:failed to mount /cache (Invalid argument)

    E:Can’t open /cache/recovery/log

    E:failed to mount /cache (Invalid argument)

    E:Can’t mount /cache/recovery/last_log

    E:Can’t open /cache/recovery/last_log

    E:failed to mount /cache (Invalid argument)

    E:Can’t mount /cache/recovery/last_install

    E:Can’t open /cache/recovery/last_install

    E:failed to mount /cache (Invalid argument)
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...