1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Nexus 5 tethering

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Joe33426, Feb 6, 2014.

  1. Joe33426

    Joe33426 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2014

    Hi-

    I just ordered a Nexus 5 and I'm pretty excited. I've been waiting for my contract to be up at Verizon and I'm going to switch my family plan to T-mobile.

    It's been a long time since I had an Android phone, so I'm wondering if I'm going to have to root my Nexus 5 to enable tethering on T-mobile or does this come enabled on the phone?

    Thanks for any guidance!

    Joe
     

    Advertisement

  2. ritchea

    ritchea Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    134
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010

    Nov 2, 2010
    134
    34
    43
    south central Florida
    It's enabled on stock.
     
    Joe33426 likes this.
  3. Joe33426

    Joe33426 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2014

    Thanks! That's awesome! Good to go out of the box.

    I'm new to t-mobile, so I'm wondering if anyone knows if they allow tethering or if it's against the ToS.
     
  4. OhSeven

    OhSeven Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    318
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011

    Mar 5, 2011
    318
    65
    53
    If you try using a computer on the connection, you will be redirected to the TMo website asking you to upgrade. You used to be able to use a browser extension to spoof your useragent string which would sneak past their detection, but I don't know if it still works
     
  5. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,922
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,922
    13,145
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    Depends on your plan.

    T-mobiles unlimited 4G plan includes 2.5 GB of tethering
     
  6. OhSeven

    OhSeven Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    318
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011

    Mar 5, 2011
    318
    65
    53
    Interesting, I didn't realize that! No tethering on the $30 plan at least
     
  7. akmsr

    akmsr Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    394
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012

    Sep 28, 2012
    394
    96
    53
    forest hill, fl
    100 MB allowed
     
  8. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,922
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,922
    13,145
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    You sure that's true on the prepaid plan?
     
  9. OhSeven

    OhSeven Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    318
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011

    Mar 5, 2011
    318
    65
    53
    I was just testing it out and even with a user agent switcher, I was only getting access to the T-mobile website, not even the upsell page. A quick google search led me to a reddit post linking to this fix on xda. I haven't tried it yet because it requires root

    Nexus 5 tethering block? - Page 7 - xda-developers
     
  10. akmsr

    akmsr Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    394
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2012

    Sep 28, 2012
    394
    96
    53
    forest hill, fl
    as of a month ago people of xda forums who has 30$ 5GB LTE pre paid plan said they have it. you have to download the t-mobile app (the spyware :)) and it tells you that you have 100 MB tethering left. this was activated when t-mobile allowed 2.5 GB for unlimited plans but never mentioned for 30$ plan. someone stumbled onto it and was using it. free tethering cut off after 100 MB and the user promptly applied the settings.db hack linked by ohSeven bellow to regain tethering. i have seen the screenshots.

    this fix is mainly for kitkat. google introduced the idea of tagging tethered data with a flag for the telecoms. since day one t-mobile is using it. later att and sprint started too. data gets sent through a webpage called pcweb (in t-mobiles case) and checked for the flag. if the plan allows for tether everything is ok. otherwise you get sent to a upsale page.
    the setting that gets changed is tether_dun_required = 0 (from default 1 :D). there are ways to implement the fix without rooting by adb shell command so rooting is optional. but then you have to use the user agent switcher in browser.
     
    Rxpert83 likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...