1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Tips Nexus 7 2012 to get 5.0 Lollipop

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Rxpert83, Oct 15, 2014.

  1. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #13
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,910
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,910
    13,145
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    It might be worth a factory reset. If that doesn't fix it you can always go back to 4.4.4 using the factory image
     

    Advertisement

    funkylogik likes this.
  2. Unforgiven

    Unforgiven ...eschew obfuscation...
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,488
    Posts:
    38,406
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    38,406
    47,768
    4,488
    Male
    Douglas, MA
    FWIW my son's hasn't had any problems for him. I updated after he went to bed and most apps updated overnight. He hasn't had any FC's or apps not working or any real lag.

    I haven't used it myself, but the little I've seen there are some design elements I'm not a fan of, but I'll see how I feel when my 2013 N7 gets updated.
     
    funkylogik and Rxpert83 like this.
  3. martyjward

    martyjward Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012

    Mar 23, 2012
    24
    1
    16
    Just updated mine (factory image) and it thinks it only has 6gb of memory! It's a 32gb model. Installed a few apps and that's it😢.

    [​IMG]
     
  4. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #13
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,910
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,910
    13,145
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    Do a factory reset. That can happen when doing the image flash since the same image is used for 8, 16, and 32 gb

    The factory reset fixes it
     
    funkylogik and WoohooGuy like this.
  5. martyjward

    martyjward Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012

    Mar 23, 2012
    24
    1
    16
    Thank you Rxpert83 worked. Now have all my memory back :D
     
    Rxpert83 likes this.
  6. WoohooGuy

    WoohooGuy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    118
    Posts:
    460
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011

    Dec 15, 2011
    460
    288
    118
    Male
    woodworking
    boston ma
    I have a feeling app makers are gonna catch up and tune their apps pretty quickly now that 5 is officially released for many devices. Stay on top of updates from the market.

    As suggested, backup your data and try a factory reset, it may help.

    If you want some help using NRT to go back to KitKat 4.4.4, you only have to ask.
     
    funkylogik likes this.
  7. sherlock5545

    sherlock5545 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,050
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011

    Dec 18, 2011
    1,050
    304
    163
    London, UK
    My Nexus 7 is unusable too right now. Anyone knows whether there is a custom fix? I suspect the issue might be related to nand problems this device always had. Is TRIM still present in the firmware?
     
  8. boathead

    boathead Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    355
    Joined:
    May 26, 2013

    May 26, 2013
    355
    106
    78
    mine was unusable at first. highly recommend a factory reset. it fixed me right up, and i couldn't be more pleased.

    i believe trim is present.

    and a little trick i've learned for this old girl: in developer's options, near the bottom, is a button to limit background processes. change it from standard limit to 2...or maybe 3. the n7 2012 will then have little lag. unfortunately this setting reverts to default upon reboot.
     
    Rxpert83 likes this.
  9. Boltgnut

    Boltgnut Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    18
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2012

    Oct 16, 2012
    18
    0
    35
    Retired and living the dream
    Tacoma, WA
    My 2yo stock N7 updated today slowly while charging.
    All is fine, seems snappy, and I still have over 10 gigs available.
    ��
     
  10. asr_720

    asr_720 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2014

    Nov 18, 2014
    2
    0
    5
    Just got the update yesterday and my tab is unusable with about the same amount of space available!! I am not happy!!
     
  11. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #13
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,910
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,910
    13,145
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    Do a FDR if you haven't already
     
    funkylogik likes this.
  12. asr_720

    asr_720 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2014

    Nov 18, 2014
    2
    0
    5
    Did you upgrade to Lollipop again after the reset?
     
  13. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #13
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,910
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,910
    13,145
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    The reset wipes data and cache files, it won't undo the update. It just makes it run way better
     
    funkylogik likes this.
  14. boathead

    boathead Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    355
    Joined:
    May 26, 2013

    May 26, 2013
    355
    106
    78
    yup. just do the factory reset as rxpert says.
     
  15. andre5006

    andre5006 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012

    Oct 12, 2012
    14
    1
    16
    Just got the "System Update Available"! Sweet.
     
  16. minibob

    minibob Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2014

    Nov 18, 2014
    3
    0
    5
    Male
    Columbus, OH
    Got Lollipop yesterday. "Not responding" seems to be the theme. System UI, Android process, system process, Chrome, Gmail, Twitter, etc. all day long. Even Chromecast intermittent.
    Also had to increase screen brightness, as it keeps dimming. I could go on.
    I really liked my tablet when new.
    Guess I'll do a factory reset (gulp).
    P.S. New member, first post. I just had to vent somewhere!
     
  17. Chappie

    Chappie Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #291
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    148
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    148
    11
    38
    Process Operator
    Whats the performance like on the N7?
    :thinking:
     
  18. fed123

    fed123 Newbie
    Rank:
     #307
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    41
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011

    Dec 16, 2011
    41
    10
    38
    Terrible until I did a factory reset. Now it feels like a brand new tablet.
     
    funkylogik and Rxpert83 like this.
  19. Mikestony

    Mikestony ~30% Carbon Black ±
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    4,218
    Posts:
    30,224
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    30,224
    25,470
    4,218
    Male
    Next to you
    Merged similar threads;)
     
    funkylogik and Rxpert83 like this.
  20. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #13
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,910
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,910
    13,145
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    Mine seemed to be handling it just fine as well. Old 16GB

    Charging ports on its last limb though, takes over a day to charge and can't transfer data. Not 5.0 related
     
  21. beledi

    beledi Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    124
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011

    Jan 5, 2011
    124
    11
    58
    Mine updated yesterday. Kinda' slow but no major problems. New keyboard is going to take a little getting used to.
    No "Gallery" now. All in "photos".
     
  22. andre5006

    andre5006 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012

    Oct 12, 2012
    14
    1
    16
    No detectable change in performance (16GB was on 4.4) - does take a long time to boot.

    Only problem so-far is with Bluetooth - external GPS works but does not show up as connected under settings (pairs OK). Wanted to setup smart-lock with it. Probably would need the updated hardware for that ...
     
  23. wyzird

    wyzird Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    114
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010

    Jan 21, 2010
    114
    14
    58
    Auto Repair Office Manager, Retail Shop Owner, Wed
    Ohio
    Received the OTA yesterday. Yes a factory reset makes it right. Not sure if I like it better yet, but it sure is a bit different.
     
  24. Chappie

    Chappie Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #291
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    148
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    148
    11
    38
    Process Operator
    Any of you guys in the UK updated yet ?
     
  25. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,248
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Think im just gonna wait on a good custom rom before i bother with 5.0.
    I tried a very basic alpha build on my gs3 the other day and realised theres no way i can live without the customisations of a rom and, of course, Xposed doesnt work with ART/Lollipop.....(yet?)
    Material Design is pretty nice (although ill probably end up theming it lol) and most of the new features are currently available in 4.4 custom roms so im gonna just sit it out and wait for the custom builds and kernels to drop (anyone know if francisco franco has built a 5.0 kernel for grouper yet?) :beer:
     

Share This Page

Loading...