1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Nexus 7 WIFI Lollipop issues?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by dequelo, Nov 20, 2014.

  1. dequelo

    dequelo Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    130
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014

    Sep 23, 2014
    130
    28
    43
    Male
    IT Support Specialist
    Georgia
    I had a weird experience last night. I was playing Dead Trigger 2, I exited the game and launched Facebook. Facebook was lagging horribly, then it crashed. The tablet was pretty warm from playing the game. Issue did not happen again after reboot.

    I don't know if this was a heat issue, or perhaps Dead Trigger 2 didn't fully close and was eating up needed resources.

    Anyone have similar experiences?
     

    Advertisement

  2. tweak4

    tweak4 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #299
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    167
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010

    Feb 5, 2010
    167
    34
    43
    Cincinnati, OH
    I haven't had any crashing, but the wifi signal on my Nexus seems kind of flaky ever since I updated. At my house, I have 3 wireless networks- a 2.4gHz, a 5gHz (both from the router), and a separate 2.4gHz that comes from a wireless extender. The extender network seems pretty solid, though slow (due to being an extended network), but whenever I'm on either of the router's networks, my Nexus will disconnect randomly, or the icon will show a connection but no data will come in- I get offline errors in the browser even though the tablet is connected. In either case, any other devices in the immediate area always hold their connections and work just fine.
     
  3. dequelo

    dequelo Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    130
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014

    Sep 23, 2014
    130
    28
    43
    Male
    IT Support Specialist
    Georgia
    Have you tried the "forget this network" option on 2 of them. Maybe you can narrow it down to a specific network that may be causing an interference. But I guess you didn't have this issue on 4.4.4?

    Did you upgrade to 5.0 OTA or flash factory image?
     
  4. tweak4

    tweak4 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #299
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    167
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010

    Feb 5, 2010
    167
    34
    43
    Cincinnati, OH
    I did not. I can't imagine that forgetting the network and then re-adding it would make a difference, but stranger things have happened, so I'll try it tonight and keep an eye on things. I didn't have this problem on 4.4.4, so the problem is most likely in the tablet, but there is a chance that it could also be that my router is getting flaky. It's a Netgear N900 (WNDR4500) that I've only been running for about a year, so it should be ok. However, my wife's phone was having some weird wifi problems the other day, so while it was probably coincidence, it is possible (though unlikely) that the router could be at fault here as well.

    On my tab, I flashed the factory image without wiping my personal data initially. That left me with the broken YouTube issue that seems to be fairly common, so after that I did a factory reset which gave me a clean 5.0 installation.
     
  5. dequelo

    dequelo Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    130
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014

    Sep 23, 2014
    130
    28
    43
    Male
    IT Support Specialist
    Georgia
    Did you find any resolution?
     
  6. tweak4

    tweak4 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #299
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    167
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010

    Feb 5, 2010
    167
    34
    43
    Cincinnati, OH
    Nope. In my observation, it doesn't seem to really drop connections too much if it remains stationary. However, if I move the tablet from one area of the house to another, where it would normally hop from the router's network to the extender's, that seems to be when I'm most likely to find the tablet disconnected. It's like it drops the connection from the network that is going out of range (even though there's still a decent signal- just not an ideal one), but then neglects to connect to a the new network until I go into wifi settings and manually force it to connect.
    On one hand, the tablet only seems to do this at the house and works fine at my office, which would imply that my home network hardware is at fault. But on the other hand, it never did this before the 5.0 upgrade, and none of our other phone or tablets (all running 4.something) have any problems, implying that the Nexus7 is at fault...
     
  7. dequelo

    dequelo Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    130
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014

    Sep 23, 2014
    130
    28
    43
    Male
    IT Support Specialist
    Georgia
    Yeah. How many sf is your home? I have one wifi N150 network that covers 2300 sf and I never have any issues with connectivity. You may want to just upgrade your wireless equipment to the AC1200 and only use one device. It will be plenty for your home network.
     
  8. amarie82

    amarie82 Android Expert
    Rank:
     #45
    Points:
    553
    Posts:
    1,834
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013

    Sep 16, 2013
    1,834
    1,857
    553
    Female
    tech support
    okc
    I have the same issue on my nexus 5! WiFi would drop connection just say saved! I had some app issues so I reset it and now my wife won't even come on! I've heard forgetting the network and reading doesn't help! Have you tried changing the channel?
     
    dequelo likes this.
  9. tweak4

    tweak4 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #299
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    167
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010

    Feb 5, 2010
    167
    34
    43
    Cincinnati, OH
    It's a 2 story, 4 bedroom house, with basement. On paper, it's about 2400 sf, but that number is a little deceptive as it does not include the basement and there are a few rooms on the first floor that are open to the second.
    The tough part is that the wireless gear is literally in one corner of the basement (where my home office is), and can't easily be moved without a lot of rewiring
    The vast majority of wireless devices in the house can connect to the basement router with no problem, but the Roku in the master bedroom- literally the farthest point in the house from the router- had trouble, which is why I added the extender.

    If I could position the router near the physical center of the house, I'm sure there'd be no coverage problems, but since it is off in a corner of the house, the range becomes an issue. I've been toying with the idea of replacing the router with one designed for longer range/larger homes, but I'm having trouble convincing myself take the risk since I didn't have any problems prior to the tablet upgrade and the tablet is the only device that is misbehaving.
     
  10. dequelo

    dequelo Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    130
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014

    Sep 23, 2014
    130
    28
    43
    Male
    IT Support Specialist
    Georgia
    amarie has a good point. Try setting the primary router to the highest channel available, then set the extender to the lowest.

    From your gateway, if it is in the basement, you can use a coupler to extend the incoming twisted pair, assuming its a DSL. You can do the same with Coax too. Spend a few bucks on some cable management material and you should be able to move the router. All of this work because of 5.0 is a pain in the arse, but it may be the only soulution for now.
     
    amarie82 likes this.
  11. winer

    winer Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2014

    Feb 15, 2014
    3
    0
    5
    Male
    retired
    Burnaby, BC, Canada
    Lollipop on my Nexus 7 is extremely erratic. It crashes frequently. Especially when using a browser, Chrome or Firefox. Black screens, long delays. In looking at other Android forums, this is typical behavior for the Nexus 7 running Lollipop. If I could go back to the previous version of Android, I would. I have not yet tried doing a factory reset but I may have to do that.
     
  12. Madbat

    Madbat Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    2,570
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012

    Feb 9, 2012
    2,570
    990
    343
    Male
    a/c and heating
    New Orleans
    Lollipop is running flawless on my nexus7 (2013). But I flashed the factory image so I got a clean install instead of an ota update.
     

Share This Page

Loading...