1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Nexus 7 won't update to 4.3 :(

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Andromedoid, Jul 31, 2013.

  1. Andromedoid

    Andromedoid Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2013

    Jul 31, 2013
    31
    15
    18
    Every time I reboot the device after downloading the update, the installation stops at some time with a dead android error. I've tried installing it multiple times with the same error each time. What is going on?
     

    Advertisement

  2. mightyantskate

    mightyantskate Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    92
    Joined:
    May 19, 2011

    May 19, 2011
    92
    8
    16
    Male
    Talk N' Fix Phone Repair
    Sacramento , CA
    Do you have a custom recovery installed?
     
  3. jmar

    jmar Nexican
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    523
    Posts:
    4,851
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010

    Sep 27, 2010
    4,851
    3,131
    523
    Male
    Sales
    San Jose, CA
    If you don't have stock recovery, use this app Android Root Toolkit, to flash it easily, then try to update again. If that doesn't work then...

    OTA Verifier

    This app will tell you what went wrong. The update zip that your N7 pulled down is located in /cache/

    When you located it, long press it to choose it and run it.

    It will give you a detailed log that will be copied to the clipboard.

    Post it here so we can further assist.

    I'm subscribed to this thread so I can be of further assistance personally. If I can't help you, I'll call the big guns.

    jmar
     
    scary alien likes this.
  4. Andromedoid

    Andromedoid Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2013

    Jul 31, 2013
    31
    15
    18
    Oh, I'm terrified of flashing it if something goes wrong!
     
  5. Andromedoid

    Andromedoid Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2013

    Jul 31, 2013
    31
    15
    18
    Well I tried all the methods you recommended, and I guess due to my tablet not being rooted none of them worked:

    [​IMG]

    So at this point I don't know whether I should root the tablet or do a factory reset.
     
  6. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,922
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,922
    13,145
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    If you are rooted, simply flash the stock 4.3 rooted ROM. Its really straightforward. Just wipe cache, dalvik cache, and flash

    You don't want to take an OTA while rooted.
     
  7. Andromedoid

    Andromedoid Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2013

    Jul 31, 2013
    31
    15
    18
    Still no solution...
     
  8. Andromedoid

    Andromedoid Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2013

    Jul 31, 2013
    31
    15
    18
    I still need help. :(
     
  9. babygirlga

    babygirlga Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013

    Aug 3, 2013
    1
    0
    5
    I'm in the same boat...I have a non-rooted (aka stock) Nexus 7, WI-FI version, 16 GB...and when I try to update with the OTA 4.3 I get the dead android error message. Any assistance is appreciated.
     
  10. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    scary alien and jmar like this.
  11. basalt

    basalt Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    108
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011

    Mar 17, 2011
    108
    2
    36
    Electron microscopist
    UK
    Any way to just stop it updating? Mine's rooted and has also failed but keeps downloading the update when I least expect it. I've tried using auto run manager to stop anything with 'update' in framework services but that doesn't have any effect. The machine's running fine so I don't see any need to change it or flash the update in another way 'cos I'd have to go through the hassle of putting all my apps and data back on afterwards
     
  12. Rxpert83

    Rxpert83 Dr. Feelgood
    Rank:
     #12
    Points:
    1,953
    Posts:
    17,922
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    17,922
    13,145
    1,953
    Male
    Graduate Student
    MN
    If I were you I'd download the 4.3 stock rooted ROM and flash it from recovery. Only wipe dalvik cache and cache. None of your apps or data will be deleted.


    4.3 makes the tablet run much smoother/faster. Its a lot of under the hood improvements
     
  13. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,298
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,298
    23,695
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    Sorry I'm a little late to this thread, but you've got to navigate down to the particular OTA .zip file that's typically inside the /cache folder and long-press on that to select and analyze.

    Let me know if you guys have any questions about OTA Verifier.

    Thanks!
     
  14. thecarlsoncrew

    thecarlsoncrew Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    167
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010

    Sep 29, 2010
    167
    17
    48
    I was rooted on 4.2.2, and when I saw the OTA for 4.3 was waiting I thought I'd give it a shot, fully expecting a validation error...but it installed without a problem! Unfortunately, it appears I've lost root as the result of it, and several of my root apps are now non-functional. For example, SuperSU tells me I need to re-root in order for it to start working again.

    So, will the procedure outlined at the link in Colchiro's post above (http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2376881) enable me to have a fully rooted 4.3 even if I'm not coming from 4.2.2, or will there be problems if I flash it as indicated from my current state?
     
  15. jmar

    jmar Nexican
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    523
    Posts:
    4,851
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010

    Sep 27, 2010
    4,851
    3,131
    523
    Male
    Sales
    San Jose, CA
    Just flash the newest SuperSU in recovery and you'll be good to go. :)
     
    thecarlsoncrew likes this.
  16. Andromedoid

    Andromedoid Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2013

    Jul 31, 2013
    31
    15
    18
    Problem is I can't access the /cache folder at all. Says it's secured against browsing, and that I'll have to copy it to my SD card to select it. Which is obviously impossible to do.
     
  17. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,298
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,298
    23,695
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    Are you rooted or were you rooted in the past (i.e., you've somehow lost root)?

    If the OTA is failing to install and you were rooted, then you must have installed something that changed things on the device that the OTA's updater-script is looking / checking for...

    Not being rooted would explain why you can't view the /cache folder...

    If you were not/ever rooted and the OTA is failing to install...well, that's a tough nut to crack...:thinking:

    Also, is your bootloader unlocked?
     
  18. Andromedoid

    Andromedoid Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2013

    Jul 31, 2013
    31
    15
    18
    I'm not rooted and never have been. I've never tinkered with my bootloader, either.
     
  19. thecarlsoncrew

    thecarlsoncrew Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    167
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010

    Sep 29, 2010
    167
    17
    48
    Looks like that did it. It took me a little bit to put together all the steps to re-flash SuperSU (outlined here), but all appears to be working well now. Thanks!
     
    jmar likes this.
  20. jmar

    jmar Nexican
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    523
    Posts:
    4,851
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010

    Sep 27, 2010
    4,851
    3,131
    523
    Male
    Sales
    San Jose, CA
    I am willing to bet it is the ASUS keyboard that is tripping the OTA. It seems to be frozen for some users, even if you never froze it. I will dig around and see if there is a way to unfreeze it.

    Scary, what do you think?

    jmar
     
  21. colchiro

    colchiro Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,886
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    8,886
    1,784
    323
    Male
    Web developer/IT
    TIBU can freeze/thaw apps and also change from user <--> system. Might need to buy it to do all that, but it's worth every penny IMHO.
     
  22. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,298
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,298
    23,695
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    I think we figured out that the disabled keyboard was not an issue...

    Not sure why an OTA would/could fail on a stock setup :thinking:...
     
    jmar likes this.
  23. jmar

    jmar Nexican
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    523
    Posts:
    4,851
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010

    Sep 27, 2010
    4,851
    3,131
    523
    Male
    Sales
    San Jose, CA
    Oops, derp on my part. :thinking:
     
    scary alien likes this.
  24. Andromedoid

    Andromedoid Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2013

    Jul 31, 2013
    31
    15
    18
    What's funny is that I bought it with Android 4.1 installed, and it updated to 4.2 with absolutely no issue. I've never done anything with this tablet other than perform a factory reset twice, so I don't know why it can't update to 4.3. :thinking:
     
  25. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,298
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,298
    23,695
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    Well, you could try to run my OTA Verifier app against the OTA file, but since you're not rooted, you obviously can't navigate to the /cache directory where it get's downloaded.

    I could make you a simple fake-ota.zip file that you could use to have OTA Verifier scan again to see if it will identify something that you might be able to fix (I'm not sure though, because anything that it might find will probably require root to fix--catch-22, etc.).

    Lemme know if you want me to post that .zip here--it's pretty simple to create (you're a first gen, wifi, Nexus 7, right?).

    Cheers!
     
    jmar likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...